...Over 300 healthcare workers in Singapore are urging the government to ban the unsafe transport of migrant workers in lorries...

V-FORTY

these lorries drivers damn shag one,
one sme one lorry one driver
need to ferry to and fro multiple dorm locations
shag already lose focus kena accident is not uncommon

elimmel

Those fw if get into accidents will lose their license n wp n gets deported is it?

I've ever seen 1 fw driving a 10 wheeler on d phone while driving.
even so, if company can just get another one in, they won't ever be bothered. either huge fine, reduce fw permits or both...

Medicated Oil

Tis is very true also. Hence it lies in d driver. Plus how d company ensures they adhere to safe driving practices.
You recognized the pattern.
- Business owners dun want to address their shortcoming.
- Admin dun want to impose policies to punish them.
- End up the residents have to sponsor the business owners to do their work.

It is same for hawker center cleaning companies, KPT owners and construction companies.
Is there some fishy business involved ?
WHY IS THE RESIDENTS FOOTING THE BILLS ????

dambio

It is same for hawker center cleaning companies, KPT owners and construction companies.
Cannot say too much or quote examples. Wait get pofma.

Just know tat it's all our fault, we need to hv shared responsibility n do things ourselves while they collect money n stay landed la😂

daveteo88

Then who shd foot?

Philipkee

Costs aside, the other issue will also be the number of vehicles allowed on the roads in Singapore aka COE

If one company has one lorry, it’s not so easy to get another one like a mini bus to ferry workers cos one extra vehicle for this company means one less vehicle for the other company.

Share private buses? Who has priority if there are two companies booking the same bus? Then aren’t the buses also fetching children to school? Should the children wake up earlier and go to school much earlier so that the buses will be freed to fetch workers at 0700? Or it’s kind of expected that the FW should be the ones who wake up much earlier to take the bus? Start later? Either project end later (one kpkb) or they end later which means working more in the dark which has another set of issues like safety?

I think banning is not the way unless COE for mini buses go or seatbelts are mandatory and of cos the licences of the drivers are more heavily scrutinised. And maybe ensure that all these lorries have speed limiters meaning they cannot go beyond 50km/hr

mgx-alander

just bring back the non air con buses in the 90s for them can liao

rEe_TaN

No, i don't support this. They came to work in Singapore then they have to accept whatever the conditions here.

Im not going to waste tax payers monies or worst we need to pay for their bus fares with potential increase in fares.

They can choose not come sg to work if they think here not safe.

Medicated Oil

No, i don't support this. They came to work in Singapore then they have to accept whatever the conditions here.

Im not going to waste tax payers monies or worst we need to pay for their bus fares with potential increase in fares.

They can choose not come sg to work if they think here not safe.
Whether you like it or not, I can see that the direction will be shifted towards US saving the "small" business owners again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.