Overclocking temperatures?

towerkek

Hey, so I just built a new pc and now I'm looking to overclock. Can't seem to even get my r5 1600 to 3.5 ghz with 1.2 - 1.3 v without going to 78-80 degrees under load. Out of curiosity, what are your temperatures for overclocking? Seriously considering sending this thing back for a replacement lol

blurfish29

Reapply thermal paste? I'm running 3.725Ghz at 1.248v, stressed test doesn't exceed 61deg on intelburntest or realbench

towerkek

Reapply thermal paste? I'm running 3.725Ghz at 1.248v, stressed test doesn't exceed 61deg on intelburntest or realbench

I did that as well too -_-. Used thermal grizzly hydronaut. Tbh when I first reeived my ryzen 5 I saw that the lid had some light stains(?) on it. First time building so didn't think it'd be that important.

Oh, and also I'm using prime95 for stress test.

blurfish29

I'm using cryorig R1 universal, but I still don't think the thermals should be that high even for a stock cooler. The thermals all the same for all the monitoring softwares? Aida64extreme, ryzen master, hwmonitor... if yes then you might want to bring your cpu set to your retailer for a check/exchange

Stock cooler. Would upgrading cooler help much?

towerkek

I'm using cryorig R1 universal, but I still don't think the thermals should be that high even for a stock cooler. The thermals all the same for all the monitoring softwares? Aida64extreme, ryzen master, hwmonitor... if yes then you might want to bring your cpu set to your retailer for a check/exchange

Yeah I used Hwinfo and ryzen master to measure my temperatures and they were pretty much the same. Might have to exchange it then, although kinda hard since I ordered it from Lazada. Hope this is covered under warranty.

blurfish29

AMD cpu has international warranty. You might want to check the local distributor. I googled and this was what I got from the AMD website. Edit: I think convergent is also the local distributor, try contacting them.
e24SCO8.jpg

Yeah I used Hwinfo and ryzen master to measure my temperatures and they were pretty much the same. Might have to exchange it then, although kinda hard since I ordered it from Lazada. Hope this is covered under warranty.

poooooo

Stock cooler. Would upgrading cooler help much?

if your chip or mobo is not faulty and giving u wrong readings or something,
it does helps. try remounting and put just a rice grain of thermal paste on it.

but the main problem for ryzen is not temprature tbh, it just cant clock high.
I've tried testing at 1.5v with adequate cooling, for funsie,
the temp is still manageable but just can't get it over 4.2 :vijayadmin:

mastersyong

Make sure all thermal paste is cleaned off cpu and heatsink properly(using isopropyl alcohol).

Then try reseat CPU cooler and make sure there is contact with CPU and fan able to ramp up in speed.

Also, can return if the cpu doesn't overclock well?

lifeishard

Anything wrong meh? Singupingu's 3.775ghz got 85 degrees while your 3.5ghz got 80degrees seems reasonable?

But blurfish has good temps, 3.725ghz without exceeding 61degrees but then again he not using stock cooler and testing using intelburn test/realbench.
I suggest TS to also try intelburntest/real bench and also commercial cooler. I would think a commercial cooler usually drops temps by min 10 degrees compared to stock cooler.

blurfish29

Note that TS said "can't even get 3.5Ghz at 1.2v to 1.3v". 80sC seem kinda too high for that kind of clocking. I'm still fine tuning my clock. Just passed 3.75Ghz at 1.248v on IBT. Need to stress test further.

Anything wrong meh? Singupingu's 3.775ghz got 85 degrees while your 3.5ghz got 80degrees seems reasonable?

But blurfish has good temps, 3.725ghz without exceeding 61degrees but then again he not using stock cooler and testing using intelburn test/realbench.
I suggest TS to also try intelburntest/real bench and also commercial cooler. I would think a commercial cooler usually drops temps by min 10 degrees compared to stock cooler.

towerkek

Just returned home, remounted cooler and reapplied thermal paste again. Tested for 20 min at default settings and peaked at ~68 degrees with prime95 and ryzen master. Decided to try my luck with 3.6 ghz @ 1.25V. Its been 20 min and Im peaking at 79.75 degrees. Sent an email to Lazada, apparently they'll still do a return even though its been more than 14 days so thats cool. Still not sure if I should send it back or not.

blurfish29

3.6 at 1.25v peaking at about 80deg🤔 try playing a few games and see what the temps are?

BTW, are you in an aircon room or just using the fan? I'm in a non-AC room and I believe singupingu also using his rig in non-AC room

Just returned home, remounted cooler and reapplied thermal paste again. Tested for 20 min at default settings and peaked at ~68 degrees with prime95 and ryzen master. Decided to try my luck with 3.6 ghz @ 1.25V. Its been 20 min and Im peaking at 79.75 degrees. Sent an email to Lazada, apparently they'll still do a return even though its been more than 14 days so thats cool. Still not sure if I should send it back or not.

lifeishard

I thought there's many ryzen owners now in hwz but why so little advice? I do not think TS's chip is defective, would like to hear others' opinions.

poooooo

I thought there's many ryzen owners now in hwz but why so little advice? I do not think TS's chip is defective, would like to hear others' opinions.

never use stock cooler since day one leh so im not really sure about stock cooler temp in sg. :s13:
but this is with cryorig h5 normal sinkie ambient.
but i think TS with those voltage and temps should be about right.
lKXechH.png

blurfish29

This is 3.8Ghz, 1.248v at max 62deg under load using cryorig h5 at singapore ambient temp.

Mine 3.725Ghz, 1.248v at max 61deg under load, cryorig R1 uni, singapore ambient temp.

Singu 3.775Ghz, 1.275v, max 85 deg under load, stock cooler, singapore ambient temp.

TS is 3.6Ghz, 1.25v at max 80deg under load.

I don't know man.... I'm no expert....does it look like he lost the silicon lottery? :s11:

never use stock cooler since day one leh so im not really sure about stock cooler temp in sg. :s13:
but this is with cryorig h5 normal sinkie ambient.
but i think TS with those voltage and temps should be about right.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.