P1 Registration Query

Eviltrap

Back in late April, I had received an email from MOE asking me whether I want to apply my youngest to the same school as my eldest. So i did it right away.

Now that P1 registration has started, do I still need to apply again? I did receive an email confirming my application was submitted. But I am now worried if I don't submit this round, she will miss her Phase 1 registration.

Anyone with such experiences can advice?

Thanks in advance!

䏣炆玧示老太

Back in late April, I had received an email from MOE asking me whether I want to apply my youngest to the same school as my eldest. So i did it right away.

Now that P1 registration has started, do I still need to apply again? I did receive an email confirming my application was submitted. But I am now worried if I don't submit this round, she will miss her Phase 1 registration.

Anyone with such experiences can advice?

Thanks in advance!
usually is elder siblings submit the phase1 form back to school for younger sibling. is it your 2nd youngest already graduated from that primary school?

Eviltrap

usually is elder siblings submit the phase1 form back to school for younger sibling. is it your 2nd youngest already graduated from that primary school?
My eldest is currently in P1 of the school. And April I got the email from MOE whether want to apply for my youngest whom is in K2 this year.

A bit confused now. :ROFLMAO:

䏣炆玧示老太

My eldest is currently in P1 of the school. And April I got the email from MOE whether want to apply for my youngest whom is in K2 this year.

A bit confused now. :ROFLMAO:
Usually is school Teachers ask each class students then give them the paper form to fill in for phase1. Maybe nowadays new rule is MOE direct email you lor. So just fill in. If you worry just email MOE to confirm again

mickey88

Crap!!!my phase 2c is not successful. wat d use if i live just opposite the school and cun even get a place..still kpkb about not enough kids..knn..go nearby school oso over-sub.

sigeena

What is the percentage oversubscribed? If its that consistently popular, you should already have a backup plan.

epigram

Nope lor..just a neighhood primary school..Jurong west primary

based on Straits Times (using past 14 years data), there was high chance it would go into balloting and it would be oversubscribed by 1.6 times. my guess is that it in a high density residential area with a lot of young families vying for the place. hope you will be successful in 2c supplementary

RyanJ

Crap!!!my phase 2c is not successful. wat d use if i live just opposite the school and cun even get a place..still kpkb about not enough kids..knn..go nearby school oso over-sub.

All the best for ur 2c(s)

Write email to that school that u cannot get in and appeal for a place still. Sometimes got cancellations.

mickey88

All the best for ur 2c(s)

Write email to that school that u cannot get in and appeal for a place still. Sometimes got cancellations.
Thank..Yep. have express interest in the event some parents give up which is slim chance. Anyway my kid have allocated a place in Phase 2c supplementary which is a 15 min walk but located in awkward place for public transport so high chance carter school bus.

matey1982

Thank..Yep. have express interest in the event some parents give up which is slim chance. Anyway my kid have allocated a place in Phase 2c supplementary which is a 15 min walk but located in awkward place for public transport so high chance carter school bus.

actually there's the website tt show the past enrolment rate of the school across a number of years for example.

so it would give the potential parents some sense on whether want to do the so-called "put all eggs into 1 basket" for example.

2 years ago when it was my elder one's turn to enrol P1,
use the website look-see the past few year's enrolment trend of the potential school..
the one tt has being over-subscribed for the past 5 years...straightaway strike off the bucket list cos the ballot stress just too much

--> when they still do the enrolment exercise under old policy.

fortunately get her the other school whh is 10 minutes walk away from home as well
and hope she can do alright when gg to p3 next year.

Globe

So if i stay within 2km of a primary school with no other affiliations, my earliest balloting phase is in 2C ? Can't tell from the MOE website.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/primary/p1-registration/registration-phases-key-dates?pt=2B
I stay in normal neigbhbourhood only but my child is due next yr for registration. i quite heng cause got like 3 primary schools in close proximity to my house.

Suppose a parent is an alumni but 2A is over subscribe, does it goes into ballot or does factors like distance kicks in to decide who fills up 2A first . Anyone have experience ?

What happens after i don't get in via any of the phase ? it automatically put me to 2C(supplementary) or i quickly register under 2C to other Pri schools.

Thanks

samwize

So if i stay within 2km of a primary school with no other affiliations, my earliest balloting phase is in 2C ? Can't tell from the MOE website.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/primary/p1-registration/registration-phases-key-dates?pt=2B
I stay in normal neigbhbourhood only but my child is due next yr for registration. i quite heng cause got like 3 primary schools in close proximity to my house.

Suppose a parent is an alumni but 2A is over subscribe, does it goes into ballot or does factors like distance kicks in to decide who fills up 2A first . Anyone have experience ?

What happens after i don't get in via any of the phase ? it automatically put me to 2C(supplementary) or i quickly register under 2C to other Pri schools.

Thanks

If you have no affiliation, then like most people will start from 2C. You can read about the phases (hopefully clearer) from https://sgschooling.com/phases

As for balloting, it depends on 1. Citizenship/PR and 2. Home distance. Basically there are 6 groups.

If you failed in 2C, then can try in 2C(S), thereafter MOE will assign to nearest school that still has vacancy.

Amy Gan

hi parents,
while reading this article on primary school registration on home-school distance: Our Complete Guide To The New Changes In Primary 1 Registration

for the new changes in Primary 1 Registration, any idea if there's a time period that the child must be staying in an address before we can use the address for application, or does this not matter? :)

also, for Singaporean Citizens - does living within 2km of the school have priority or only 1km? how will the distance be calculated? is it by linear distance or measured by the walking/public transport/driving distance

wongkc

hi parents,
while reading this article on primary school registration on home-school distance: Our Complete Guide To The New Changes In Primary 1 Registration

for the new changes in Primary 1 Registration, any idea if there's a time period that the child must be staying in an address before we can use the address for application, or does this not matter? :)

also, for Singaporean Citizens - does living within 2km of the school have priority or only 1km? how will the distance be calculated? is it by linear distance or measured by the walking/public transport/driving distance

U need to stay in the address for at least 30months

There are admission priority… check MOE website…

Priority admission is given in this order:
1. Singapore Citizens (SC) living within 1km of the school.
2. SCs living between 1km and 2km of the school.
3. SCs living outside 2km of the school.
4. Permanent Residents (PR) living within 1km of the school.
5. PRs living between 1km and 2km of the school.
6. PRs living outside 2km of the school.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/primary/p1-registration/distance

But based on past experience… usually within 1KM already need to ballot liao… chances for within 2KM is quite low for those good schools…

Use OneMap.gov.sg to calculate distance

samwize

hi parents,

There is no requirement BEFORE you can use the address for application. But once you use the address, you must stay 30 months from the start of the P1 registration exercise eg. starting from Jul 2024 for upcoming exercise.

You can refer to this on the home-school distance priority https://sgschooling.com/balloting

The distance is around the boundary of the school. You have to use OneMap school query to know exactly a building is in or out of the 1/2km.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.