Painting Sealant

Hi All,

May I know do you apply sealant before painting your walls? And is it necessary for new flat?

Was quoted $200 to apply sealant as base coat before painting(2 coats).

Thanks

Apparatus

Re

Hi All,

May I know do you apply sealant before painting your walls? And is it necessary for new flat?

Was quoted $200 to apply sealant as base coat before painting(2 coats).

Thanks

It's usual for new house since the walls have not been painted. You also apply when you repair your toilet ceiling if leakage occurs.

Other than that if the wall/ceiling is painted no sealant is required. Just paint over will do.

kyteo79

It's usual for new house since the walls have not been painted. You also apply when you repair your toilet ceiling if leakage occurs.

Other than that if the wall/ceiling is painted no sealant is required. Just paint over will do.

I differs ...

Ceiling sealant is a must ...

I prefer sealant on walls as well because it helps you for your next paintjob ...
Why some walls the paint cant "stick" because no sealant applied. Moulds or moist could also be seen with areas without sealant as well..

I have a habit of painting my old house 1st job sealant with paint.. 3 years later - paint job ... which is the 2nd job.

3rd job maybe 5th year sealant again

Sealant have oil base and non oil base types ...

Do have a chat with Nippon or your paint shops. they can recommend you . Avoid saving on paint jobs as it can make a big difference. sealants are not expensive anyway ...

-Mr.J-

I just repaint my bedroom with PuHua paint due to moisture which attracts insects like booklice. Didn’t know has sealant which is useful for moist control. Hope the puhua paint can last, the person told me mold won’t grow back -.-

kyteo79

I just repaint my bedroom with PuHua paint due to moisture which attracts insects like booklice. Didn’t know has sealant which is useful for moist control. Hope the puhua paint can last, the person told me mold won’t grow back -.-

How many years you reckon you need to paint again ?

-Mr.J-

How many years you reckon you need to paint again ?

The painter said usually repaint every 2-3 years. The previous paint was done about 3 years ago, then the insects came all over my ceiling and walls then it triggers me to repaint.

I’ll see how long this puhua paint can last

-Mr.J-

Just to update again. I saw really tiny insect crawling on my wall again. The quantity is 0.5% now compared to the last full blown incident. Suspect is booklice again. Saw many tiny holes on the ceiling. Not sure what are they. It wasn’t many holes back end

-Mr.J-

The room humidify level is about 80%. Should I just buy a dehumidifier for the room to prevent mold and moisture from growing? Read that these insects are attracted to mold and moisture.

kyteo79

The room humidify level is about 80%. Should I just buy a dehumidifier for the room to prevent mold and moisture from growing? Read that these insects are attracted to mold and moisture.

2 months and got holes and insects ? and mould ?

wow ..

Puhua good ?

-Mr.J-

2 months and got holes and insects ? and mould ?

wow ..

Puhua good ?

Original got some holes alr. Now seems like more holes. Yup small insect coming back again, but the volume is Low now. Believe will grow more if action not take. Wondering what should I do now.

Pu Hua told me applied their paint liao mold won’t come back. But now I got insect again..

sheinked

Original got some holes alr. Now seems like more holes. Yup small insect coming back again, but the volume is Low now. Believe will grow more if action not take. Wondering what should I do now.

Pu Hua told me applied their paint liao mold won’t come back. But now I got insect again..

You need to call pestbuster for them to do misting to kill all existing book lice. Book live reproduce very fast. Did for my entire resale unit cos it was mouldy and had book lice in unit. Misting in all toilets bedrooms living room kitchen.

After misting, we did another site
Inspection 2 weeks later and it was all clear. We then painted our house with sealant, anti fungus and anti mould paint.

Probably the book lice are located in other parts of your house and cos your room is more humid it may gravitate towards your room?

kyteo79

Why not seal the hole /cracks by putty and then sealant ?

why save peanuts and get problems ... ?

-Mr.J-

You need to call pestbuster for them to do misting to kill all existing book lice. Book live reproduce very fast. Did for my entire resale unit cos it was mouldy and had book lice in unit. Misting in all toilets bedrooms living room kitchen.

After misting, we did another site
Inspection 2 weeks later and it was all clear. We then painted our house with sealant, anti fungus and anti mould paint.

Probably the book lice are located in other parts of your house and cos your room is more humid it may gravitate towards your room?

I have done misting before painting months ago... didn’t know about sealant beforehand so didn’t put it earlier on. When booklice comes, it’s definetly got mold or maybe only moisture? I’m thinking to use Clorox mold remover to wipe the ceiling and wall now.

sheinked

I have done misting before painting months ago... didn’t know about sealant beforehand so didn’t put it earlier on. When booklice comes, it’s definetly got mold or maybe only moisture? I’m thinking to use Clorox mold remover to wipe the ceiling and wall now.

Oh forgot to mention we also engage professionals to clean up all existing mould in the unit. Before using pestbuster paint as advised by painters

According to them, book lice feeds on mould so they will continue to replicate very fast. Maybe your case bro need to do a thorough check

-Mr.J-

I just wipe my room ceiling and wall with Clorox, no booklice for two days. But came back on third days again although volumne is lesser than before. Could they be coming from the holes in my ceiling? There are many holes in my ceiling, some small size some slightly bigger.

kyteo79

I just wipe my room ceiling and wall with Clorox, no booklice for two days. But came back on third days again although volumne is lesser than before. Could they be coming from the holes in my ceiling? There are many holes in my ceiling, some small size some slightly bigger.

just dun waste effort.

get Nipon paint guys in to settle

matcha18

any credible good painting contractors to recommend pl? Was quoted $1.9k by my reno contractor for my 121sqm unit.

super365

I hdb flat want to paint 1 common bedroom (not master) walls and ceiling.

5L paint can paint 1 coat or 2 coat?

Is there difference of painting 1 coat or 2 coat?

Is it a must to paint 2 coat paint as mention in guides?

I intend to paint 1 coat 5101 Odorless Sealer then paint 1 coat Nippon paint Odorless All In 1.

Vinilex is lousy should avoid?

super365

Oh forgot to mention we also engage professionals to clean up all existing mould in the unit. Before using pestbuster paint as advised by painters

According to them, book lice feeds on mould so they will continue to replicate very fast. Maybe your case bro need to do a thorough check

Not sure what I have, anyone knows what is this insect
t0NF6Bw.png

997ZRzE.png

I email nippon and they never tell me what is that photo and say if got mold/mites, say use this
https://www.nipponpaint.com.sg/trade/products/product-listings/anti-fungus-solution/
Dulux say maybe booklice

Are these mold? > Photos of wall and ceiling https://imgur.com/a/BriiHmu

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.