Parc Life EC

eclairily

This is artist impression of Canberra park
UPrDo3Xl.jpg

This is the actual park after 2m upgrade.
NPjFa8Tl.jpg

The park looks Lao kok kok.

Sent from Samsung SM-G925I using GAGT

Omggggomgggomggomgggooosshhhh.
The park so cui can.
Mai liao. Lip qu wandervale sua.

eclairily

From your choices, I can deduce that your preference is in the North area. There are some developments to look forward to apart from the Canberra MRT and sports hub. Accessibility will be much improved as well.

Personally, PL and V are on par with each other. For convenience, I will leave out Brownstone as many good units have been snapped up. Obviously, each EC developer needs to differentiate their product from the rest. So let's look at the highlights:

Visionaire - Samsung Smart Home, near future sports hub
ParcLife - next to Canberra park, 8 spas

Between developers, FCL gives a better sense of security compared to QJ due to the latter's poor publicity in previously projects. But all developments will have some defects.

Location can be argued both ways. Both are walkable to their respective MRT stations and their attached shopping centres. But let's look at other facts of location within 500m radius:

PL - next to park, near commercial buildings, chinese temple site earmarked nearby, community club, secondary school

V - opp sports hub, in the centre of 3 shopping centres (SSC, Sun Plaza, Canberra plaza), in a new neighbourhood (Canberra) within a private home cluster

It is difficult to predict how much the properties can rise in value, but generally ECs are for residential stay and long-term investment, usually a no-lose situation. With the number of condo units in the area, rental income may be a problem, but selling for a profit should be less of an issue.

There are so many potential issues that can make or break your choice, so look at your priorities. Sometimes, it can simply be down to feeling - e.g. I prefer the bathrooms of V over PL, but the general finishing quality as seen from the showflat is less stellar.

Gather lots of information and do your research if you can wait. If you can't wait so long, look at all the showflats on the same day and get a good feel, then research on the aspects that are important to you.

Good luck!

Thanks! V comprehensive indeed. Anything in wandervale?

Alabone

Thanks! V comprehensive indeed. Anything in wandervale?

Wandervale pros:
1) Cheap
2) Practical layout
3) Reliable developer

Cons:
1) 4 bedroom sold out (but you're not looking at that right?)
2) Not that near mrt
3) It's CCK...

grix17

Some stacks are opposite an army camp or next to a mosque. So if you want to avoid those stacks, I'm not sure how many are left.

Wandervale pros:
1) Cheap
2) Practical layout
3) Reliable developer

Cons:
2) Not that near mrt
3) It's CCK...

zaviour

Wandervale pros:
1) Cheap
2) Practical layout
3) Reliable developer

Cons:
2) Not that near mrt
3) It's CCK...

The yard not really practical leh.. too big for my liking.. and some more only half height wall so most likely will wet if raining so end up need to come out with additional cost and permit to build window or something to block it..

The wardrobe is good for MB - quite big hahaha.. finishing wise I guess brownstone still the best then maybe parclife.. wandervale so so only..

zaviour

Btw.. why CCK is a bad thing? comparing to sembawang both also ulu leh hahaha...

one thing good also from wandervale = southview pri within 1KM..

Alabone

Btw.. why CCK is a bad thing? comparing to sembawang both also ulu leh hahaha...

That's purely because I take train to work and everywhere else. Taking the NS line, sembawang still near than cck mah.

grix17

South View Pri is a good reason, which is likely to be one of the main draws. That may also help future sales.

All ECs are in the outer city fringes. Only the new unlaunched one next to Regentville and near to Rosyth School is considered to be in a good district. That's going to be a hit.

Alabone

South View Pri is a good reason, which is likely to be one of the main draws. That may also help future sales.

All ECs are in the outer city fringes. Only the new unlaunched one next to Regentville and near to Rosyth School is considered to be in a good district. That's going to be a hit.

All schools are good schools. Anyone also can. 😁

Genesisz

It is already very noisy now. It is worse during the weekends. The park is packed with people.

How I know? I am staying opposite in one of the HDB blocks.

The park looks Lao kok kok.

The park is really nothing spectacular. It does house the most number of swings though. But once the residents from the ECs and HDB move in, one can only imagine how crowded or noisy it can get.

grix17

I regularly run past that park as well. I was also standing at the place where the temple may be built - it's not too near to PL and won't be an eyesore. But as of now, there is nothing special about the park that gets so much acclaim from the PL adverts.

You are right! :) Shld go down look see look see.

eclairily

I regularly run past that park as well. I was also standing at the place where the temple may be built - it's not too near to PL and won't be an eyesore. But as of now, there is nothing special about the park that gets so much acclaim from the PL adverts.
Are there good cycling paths w many cyclists? I spot sembawang cycling path on the map.

Actually I am quite surprised at the lack of trees and grass. My hse also neighborhood park but definitely a lot more trees. Especially along jogging paths.

grix17

Are there good cycling paths w many cyclists? I spot sembawang cycling path on the map.

Actually I am quite surprised at the lack of trees and grass. My hse also neighborhood park but definitely a lot more trees. Especially along jogging paths.

There's a wide park connector path next to it which is connected to parks like Admiralty, Sembawang and Waterfront. But it may be partly sacrificed to enable the widening of the road.

minoyo

Considering PL as my first choice.. I'm looking at 3 BdRM.
Anyone getting 3 bedrm? Have any recommend of unit to choose ?

grix17

From Business times via another forum:

FCL launches new executive condo in Sembawang

By Grace So

graceso@sph.com.sg

Apr 14, 2016

DESPITE upcoming supply, Frasers Centrepoint Limited (FCL) is not concerned about the executive condominium (EC) market, proceeding with the launch of its latest project, Parc Life, at an average price of S$770 to S$800 per square foot (psf).

"We believe there is healthy demand from HDB homeowners who have achieved the minimum occupation period (MOP) and are looking to re-invest or upgrade," said Cheang Kok Kheong, chief executive officer of development and property at FCL.

Mr Cheang added ECs are also appealing to the first-time buyers, especially young couples who are setting up their first home, because of their potential for capital appreciation after the five-year MOP.

Parc Life comes with a full suite of facilities usually available at private condominiums, including a 50-metre-long infinity pool overlooking Canberra Park, eight spa areas, gymnasium, foot reflexology corner, tennis court and even a pet pavilion for residents to groom their pets.

The EC is next to the newly revamped Canberra Park, and a mere five-minute walk to the Sembawang Integrated Hub which comprises Sembawang MRT Station, Sembawang bus interchange and the Sun Plaza mall.

The project consists of 11, 15 and 16-storey blocks, and a total of 628 units, with the same number of parking lots and an additional five handicap lots.

Units at Parc Life feature FCL's signature Verandah, Vista and Viva layouts.

Verandah units have an alfresco layout that features a seamless transition between the living room and kitchen. The Verandah layout comes in three-bedroom units, which range in size from 980 to 1,055 sq ft, and four-bedroom units, which are 1,281 sq ft.....

grix17

(Continued)

Vista units feature an extended living and dining area with a wide balcony. This layout is offered in three-bedroom units, which are 1,066 sq ft, four-bedroom units, which are 1,270 sq ft, and five-bedroom units, which are 1,550 sq ft.

The three-bedroom apartments make up the majority of Parc Life's units, and the project offers only 16 five-bedroom units.

Viva units are meant to cater to the younger and smaller families, and therefore come in smaller sizes. The two-bedroom Viva units range in size from 753 to 764 sq ft, while the three-bedroom units range in size from 926 to 1,001 sq ft.

Parc Life also offers slightly bigger three-bedroom Verandah and Vista units that come with a universal room. Buyers can choose from three different layout options for their universal room, depending on their lifestyle needs.

FCL's Chinese competitor Qingjian Realty also recently launched its EC, The Visionaire, in the Sembawang area. It received an enthusiastic response on the first weekend e-applications opened, with more than 400 applications being made for the 632-unit project.

The Visionaire's selling point is that its units feature smart devices that residents can remotely access via a mobile app.

However, Mr Cheang explained that the current hard-wired smart home systems do not provide flexibility and that the wireless alternative is still in a developing stage. "In a survey we conducted, we do not see a significant demand for smart homes. Therefore, we are focusing on providing homeowners with quality finishes and unique unit layouts while leaving them the flexibility to customise and install their own smart home system to match their lifestyles," said Mr Cheang. E-applications for Parc Life will start on April 16 and end on April 24. Bookings will take place on April 30. The project's expected date of Temporary Occupation Permit is in the first quarter of 2018.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.