pc casing top fans

rrr2015

so far i have fans for front x2 inflow, rear x1 outflow. was considering if good to add fans x2 on top too

how effective are top fans in cooling?
and how should they be installed? both outflows x2 or 1 inflow 1 outflow?

ItsmeagainhK

so far i have fans for front x2 inflow, rear x1 outflow. was considering if good to add fans x2 on top too

Negligible difference. I would stick to 140mm x 2 for front intake and 120mm x 1 for back exhaust.

Beefsteak

May I know what is your cpu cooler setup? Is it a tower air cooler type or?

Jurchen King

stock ryzen fan

My best advice is to ditch the stock Ryzen cooler and get a tower sink cooler. Even the cheapest one will reduce your CPU temps by at least 10 degrees.

The problem with delaying to replace the stock Ryzen cooler is that the high CPU temps will cause the CPU and cooler to stick very hard like glue after some time. It will be tough to detach the cooler from the CPU.

I used to get up to 93 degrees with the stock Ryzen cooler. After replacing it with a $30 Gamaxx 400, now it goes no more than 70 degrees at maximum under load. I didn't even have to undervolt my CPU. I can feel the difference when I touch the top of my ventilated case after switching off the PC.

Any Ryzen users should use a 3rd party air cooler or AIO. Ryzen CPUs run hot!!! Not helped by SG's high ambient temps too.

To get back to the main thread, I don't find top casing fans useful. Hot air by itself will automatically rise to the top. I'd rather invest in a 3 frontal fan set up and get a case with wide airflow openings on top.

koicafex

Hot air rises doesn’t mean it rise fast enough
U want fans to pull it out too
Else the hot air will circulate

KleoZy

Is not say useless or useful, if you know the space of your case plus calculating the correct amount of air in and out (using SpeedFan app).
It will help..

Getting 3rd party liquid AIO or air cooler will be good for your CPU.
It will be happier :)

As for top mount, in most cases when I aid my friends on their case,
For Air Cooler, if your HSF does absorb heat fast, I would say place top 2 x fans as intakes rather than out take. Have your 1 x rear fan run on full rpm as exhaust and as usual front 2 or 3 intake.

The method is this.. your CPU heat sink is already absorbing heat it needs cool air, so placing intake fans from the top, it will directly blow cool air to the heatsink, your Heatsink fans will not be so stress if they are on PWM.
As for the other top fan which is near the rams. it will take care of blowing cool air on the rams itself. your 3rd party CPU fans plus the rear fan will take care of the warm air out to the rear.

If you have a beefy GPU, and it's not of a reference card, it will dissipate heat inside the case. so in general, there will be arguments to have top fans as exhaust, but exhausting hot air out.. where does the cool air comes from? only from the front? by the time the cool air travels from the front to the top, it's already mixed up with the warm air generated by your GPU.

Just my opinion. as I have tested in most case scenario except for ITX cases.

This is just one of the example of having to calculate the case airflow and heat generating within a case and the results is very significant. do note this vid is based on AIO and GPU mod. I've used SpeedFan app to controll the amount of air in and out of the case. So you might want to play around with your fan positioning yourself.

Just one of my example. Please note as I've mentioned. calculations done based on having time to fiddle with, plus the mod is done on the GPU. A Hybrid Liquid AIO with they style based on reference GPU.

rrr2015

thanks guys for your input!

https://youtu.be/8OmkmluAYAQ
found above video about different fans setup. and it sure looks like top fans improvement were marginal.

not modder nor keen in tinkering with h/w.

I use open air casing and use
Leaf Blower to clean quarterly.
:s12:

rrr2015

kenna before in power outlet. every time i switch on that outlet, it will trip the ELCB lolz

thanks! leaf blower looks like good idea, though will get a portable one for PC case cleaning.
More than 1 decade liao.
So far never tio any insect, lizard, cockroach

cleaning less than 5 mins with leaf blower.

Lil_d3viLz

More than 1 decade liao.
So far never tio any insect, lizard, cockroach

cleaning less than 5 mins with leaf blower.

How often do you clean your PC? (And have you ever used a leaf blower to do it?)
https://www.pcgamer.com/how-often-d...nd-have-you-ever-used-a-leaf-blower-to-do-it/

Siao bo. Imagine every PC user having leaf blower. I guess it's wise to buy 1 then share it with many others. Not really useful.
-Expensive
-Not easy to start your engine
-Waste storage space
-Might be too strong, any warranty on pc parts suffering from such damage

Siao bo. Imagine every PC user having leaf blower. I guess it's wise to buy 1 then share it with many others. Not really useful.
-Expensive
-Waste storage space

My Bose around $100 only.

My old woman scold me siao, buy leaf blower to clean PC only.
Other people also buy $1000 GPU what.

Never tio any damage over my years of usage.

rrr2015

no need to follow YouTuber,they often dramatized for entertainment. you can get those smaller portable electrical blower for PC case / motherboard / cards etc
-Expensive
-Waste storage space

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.