PC for husband

Dayspring

Any recommendations on desktop? Looking to get 1 for my husband. Not sure what specs he needs, he plays starcraft and dota2 in the past. Not sure of what games he is currently playing at the moment.

shadey

Any recommendations on desktop? Looking to get 1 for my husband. Not sure what specs he needs, he plays starcraft and dota2 in the past. Not sure of what games he is currently playing at the moment.

Just get him an Aftershock PC that meets your budget.

Dayspring

Thanks for the recommendation. Any monitor and mouse / keyboard recommended? Not intending to get prism monitor as I don't have good experience with prism TV

Just get him an Aftershock PC that meets your budget.

shadey

Thanks for the recommendation. Any monitor and mouse / keyboard recommended? Not intending to get prism monitor as I don't have good experience with prism TV

Depends on size and budget. I would NOT go for 4k, just the 1080p or 1440p (depending on how low or high end the computer you buy is) with a 144 or 240hz refresh rate. Acer, Asus are common brands.

Godeau

No point buying something that doesn't meet his games specs; best to indirectly inquire what games he is playing(if you are planning to buy it as a surprise), and then see what options you have based on the specs that his games require.

Lil_d3viLz

Hi, what is your budget? Does your husband fix his own PC, like replace parts himself? Do you know his current desktop specs?
Yea, Prism Monitor has really bad reviews.

Dayspring

He does not fix his own PC and does not know how to replace parts himself. He normally send his laptop for repairs at the service centers.

Previously he was using an Aftershock laptop. Unfortunately it broke down about 3 months ago, thus he has not been playing any pc games since then.

I think budget will be 2k all in, but may vary depending on recommendations.

Hi, what is your budget? Does your husband fix his own PC, like replace parts himself? Do you know his current desktop specs?
Yea, Prism Monitor has really bad reviews.

Kegler

I guess your husband is even lazy to get it fix....Get an aftershock laptop with onsite warranty.... so the guys could pick and send it for repair

hao_jun

It's best if you can double check if your husband has already been looking ard for the pc already.

Sharing my experience when my wife (then girlfriend) try to surprise me by buying logitech pc controller and razer ornata keyboard for my birthday.

Little did she know I already ordered xbox one controller and I am eyeing another keyboard le.

So I think it's best not to dive in to areas that you are not sure on. I dun dare to buy shoes or clothes for my wife and just pay for her when we go shopping. Cos i rather buy what she wants then what she needs and dun use it. Haha

Suggest you to let him choose himself and choose something else.
Or ask him what he wants.

i1magic

Wah! You are so sweet lor.

If plus wear sexy lingerie while giving him the new PC will be super tok gong liao. LOL!

Just get a PC with Ryzen 5 3600 + Zotac RTX 2070 + 16GB ram as a guide can liao.

i1magic

With the product or the after sales service?

i1magic

Will be good if can take a picture of his current PC then can argah better from there.

i1magic

No point buying something that doesn't meet his games specs; best to indirectly inquire what games he is playing(if you are planning to buy it as a surprise), and then see what options you have based on the specs that his games require.

Can just wait till he is playing game, then act act and walk over to ask : What game is this ah? Then what other games you playing now? My colleagues they are playing games also.

Then say : Wah, the graphic very nice hor, this is what resolution ah? Then to have such nice graphics, must be very hardware demanding right? Then see what he tells you. Record down everything.

i1magic

He does not fix his own PC and does not know how to replace parts himself. He normally send his laptop for repairs at the service centers.

Previously he was using an Aftershock laptop. Unfortunately it broke down about 3 months ago, thus he has not been playing any pc games since then.

If he is playing games on notebook, think a $2K budget is very good for a gaming PC already.

Shutterbox

Sis
If ur hubby can live 3 months without games, then let it be la.
Save the money.

ItsmeagainhK

Buy him a 2080super (approx 1.2k can get I think) and cpu (800 for cpu and mobo) see what you can get) ask him get the rest of the pc himself. Think he will be more than happy.

Lil_d3viLz

I would suggest to get DIY PC, just carry it home, set it up. Power it on in a dark room, leave it there to surprise him. I think a 2060 or 2070 will do. I am gaming 1440p on a 970. Need to know about of his preference like i1magic suggested. Does he likes bling bling rgb keyboard/mouse?

You can buy it all at TradePac. Since full system, can even go for a bargain.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.