PC keep restarting...

ventin

Hi PC pros,
I on my PC of 5 years and it keeps restarting after running like 30 secs. Later I discovered that the CPU heatsink fan is not running so I replaced it. It works like before so I go and take a nap. After my nap, the same problem resurfaced. I have tried to reseat the ram, GPU, battery without any success.

What else could be wrong? Thanks for any tips in advance.

Sent from HTC U11 using GAGT

SkyShroud

wash ur entire com
yes, u can wash it, at the risk of corrosion, gotta dry it properly
or clean it with iso alcohol
check temp

4eva_mark

Hi PC pros,
I on my PC of 5 years and it keeps restarting after running like 30 secs. Later I discovered that the CPU heatsink fan is not running so I replaced it. It works like before so I go and take a nap. After my nap, the same problem resurfaced. I have tried to reseat the ram, GPU, battery without any success.

What else could be wrong? Thanks for any tips in advance.

Your power supply could have malfunctioned. Do you remember spilling any water or beverage near the back of your desktop? Perhaps try to borrow a power supply from a friend to sub out your current one and see if it helps.

ventin

Hi guys, my pc managed to boot up again without any problems. I downloaded core temp to check the temp. So far, it has been below 60 celsius. Anything i can do before it goes bonkers again.

ventin

should it fail again, I am seriously considering getting a new rig. What is good now?

My main usage is for youtube, programming, MS office work and watching live stream.

shadow84

Did u connect cpu cooler fan to the cpu_fan header on ur mobo? Some mobo have this protection whereby if there is nth connected to it, it will take it as ur cpu is not cooled. Its above ur cpu nia.

ventin

Did u connect cpu cooler fan to the cpu_fan header on ur mobo? Some mobo have this protection whereby if there is nth connected to it, it will take it as ur cpu is not cooled. Its above ur cpu nia.
Apparently the CPU fan header is faulty, so I connect it using a system fan one.

Swiftbladez

Hi guys, my pc managed to boot up again without any problems. I downloaded core temp to check the temp. So far, it has been below 60 celsius. Anything i can do before it goes bonkers again.

below 60 while idle? When you say below 60 is how much when idle. That's quite high if it's high 50s when idle. Might be a case of auto shutting down due to high temps when the CPU is under load.

and for those say 5 years need change new PC. Don't like that leh, my PC also close to 5 years liao. Still working perfectly fine. That said hands itchy liao need ot upgrade hahahaha.

charliebrown

i just build my new rig yest from scratch.
my old PC of 7 years.... alto still workin, keep giving me little problems.
can fix lah... but every time got problem need to spend time ts damm annoying...

no choice make e jump and abandon it... :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.