PC refresh build advice

SyncGuy

Ok, Bros out there!

Good morning to all and wishing to seek advice on my next rig.

A bit more "complicated", for me at least, because of Ryzen.

I'm planning to build an ITX gaming HTPC but I'm also taking this opportunity to see if it's possible to also improve my main desktop, which has different usage (setup as per sig.).

I'm thinking if any of you Bros here would be able to advise if there's a need to swap around the hardware between the 2 rigs according to usage.
e.g.
- i5-6600k from desktop put into HTPC and replace with Ryzen/i7-7700k instead due to multiple core use.
- Or simply convert my desktop to HTPC use with 1080Ti upgrade, and then set up a new desktop with focus on image/video editing usage.

To make things slightly easier for those who might be on Hwz mobile, here are my current and intended rigs:

DESKTOP:
Processor: i5-6600k
Motherboard: AsRock Z170m-ITX/AC
RAM: Vengeance LPX 2400mhz 4gb (x2)
Storage: Samsung 850 EVO SSD
GPU: MSI GTX550Ti (ignore this as I got it for free and therefore just plug it in)

Usage- Photoshop, LR, Premiere Pro, General use, hence the lack of importance in GPU.

Now,
intended gaming HTPC on my 4K 65" TV:
Processor: ??
Motherboard: ITX
RAM: ??
Storage: Single SSD only
GPU: 1080Ti

Usage- HTPC (Kodi, Plex), 4K gaming

Oh ya, budget: $3000

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Convert your desktop to HTPC since it is already on ITX.

SyncGuy

Convert your desktop to HTPC since it is already on ITX.

Roger! Then just need to swap out the GPU to a 1080Ti, right?

Any advise then what would be the best ITX build for my new desktop with the stated multi-core use; LR/PS/Premiere Pro?

poooooo

Roger! Then just need to swap out the GPU to a 1080Ti, right?

Any advise then what would be the best ITX build for my new desktop with the stated multi-core use; LR/PS/Premiere Pro?

LR/PS/Premiere Pro usage its a bit of mix bag, personally i would go for 7700k for those at this point simply just because kaby lake are more stable atm.

You can read the this, ryzen vs 7700k it has comparison for lightroom, ps and premiere pro. tl dr, when handling task 7700k was much faster, but during export ryzen much faster. lol

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/a...15-8-AMD-Ryzen-7-1700X-1800X-Performance-910/

SyncGuy

What casing is your desktop using? Currently sg not yet have itx for amd Ryzen.

Sent from Overpowered Phone Mark III using GAGT

Current desktop ish Thermaltake Core V1.
And in store room ish CM Elite 110 (I think this one, since without GPU or maybe only Mini 1060, can be use for my desktop).

LR/PS/Premiere Pro usage its a bit of mix bag, personally i would go for 7700k for those at this point simply just because kaby lake are more stable atm.

You can read the this, ryzen vs 7700k it has comparison for lightroom, ps and premiere pro. tl dr, when handling task 7700k was much faster, but during export ryzen much faster. lol

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/a...15-8-AMD-Ryzen-7-1700X-1800X-Performance-910/

Wah... Jialat... Hmmm.... Then I guess go with 7700k more stable la hor? :D

So, all in all, I just need to swap my current desktop to HTPC usage, with a 1080Ti upgrade (and some.. :p), and build a new desktop.

Which then I will end up with:

DESKTOP(New):

Processor: i7-7700k
Motherboard: AsRock FataL1ty Z270 ITX/AC
RAM: Vengeance LPX 3400mhz 16gb (x2)
GPU: MSI GTX550Ti *
PSU: Corsair 450W SFX
SSD: Samsung 850 EVO *

4K Gaming HTPC:

Processor: i5-6600k*
Motherboard: AsRock FataL1ty Z170 ITX/AC
RAM: Vengeance LPX 2400mhz 4gb (x2) *
GPU: GTX 1080Ti
PSU: ??
SSD: Samsung 850 EVO

* reuse from current rig, macam Lego like that.. Haha!

Can work?

shadey

Wah... Jialat... Hmmm.... Then I guess go with 7700k more stable la hor? :D

I would not believe people that anyhow say Kaby Lake is more stable when there is no proof of instability on other platforms.

People just anyhow like to say Intel is more stable when it was Intel that could not even calculate floating point correctly.

SyncGuy

Yes can work. But the psu I suggest you get both Corsair SF 600. Both chip is unlocked, HTPC use a very high end gpu, desktop need to have some headroom for better gpu in near future.

Remember to buy cpu cooler hahaha.

Ok! Advice will be considered! Thanks man!

Regarding cooler, stressing on that part.. Coz I'm also building with consideration of down-sizing to the smallest of smallest ITX casing available, taking into consideration of squeezing as much juice as possible out of the CPU within one of them tiny beauties over at SFF.. :p

I would not believe people that anyhow say Kaby Lake is more stable when there is no proof of instability on other platforms.

People just anyhow like to say Intel is more stable when it was Intel that could not even calculate floating point correctly.

Oh ya... Sorry ah.. For a lack of better word, I used the word "stable". But I know where you're coming from. I believed I meant more compatible or tuned for current softwares, as of now. Maybe might change in the future. :D

hawthorne

Ok! Advice will be considered! Thanks man!

Regarding cooler, stressing on that part.. Coz I'm also building with consideration of down-sizing to the smallest of smallest ITX casing available, taking into consideration of squeezing as much juice as possible out of the CPU within one of them tiny beauties over at SFF.. :p

For ur Gaming ITX build, how small u want it to go? There are casing that can only take short gfx cards. For these, u can really go small, but cons is that it might be quite tough to find a short 1080Ti card. (still possible with a 1070 though)

For ur Desktop, good to see that ur MSI GTX550Ti is already a short gfx card, u can really go small if u want.

I'm using a CM elite 110A. These casing are really small. Cable management is almost non-existent and gpu gets quite hot (probably becos its on a single fan), but u need to take some, give some :D

singupingu

I'd suggest you use the tt core V1 for your gaming build as it can fit the gtx 1080 ti founder card just nice. Then cooler maybe get a cryorig M9i or any 120/140mm liquid aio with a good static pressure fan.

For the desktop, you can reuse the cm 110 with perhaps a Xigmatek Scylla 120 or other 120mm liquid aio. Get good static pressure fans for the radiator for both system for better cooling of the radiator to squeeze as much oc as possible. It's pretty squeezy already.

Or consider Silverstone Raven RVZ01 or RVZ02 as a new chassis. Those can support liquid cooling too with some planning. Make reference from builds posted on pcpartpicker.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.