PC wont boot

jtjt00

That is what i want to do but the salesmen at SLS are claiming that "HDB has not enough power to boot my pc" and that my PSU is okay so they cant do ****

Fuwell service goes south with staff making this type of comment :s22::s22::s22:

freakkler

Fuwell service goes south with staff making this type of comment :s22::s22::s22:

Agree. Irresponsible, dishonest business conducted.

Yesterday, UNresoloved PC was collected back from SLS Cybermind, and recurrence of power loss during booting up/shutdown random is now 100%
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/h...e-6446192.html

After consulting other technicians', they mentioned 2 possibilities of root causes:
1. Residential vs. Commercia/Industrial electric power supply to entire building differs. Single-phase vs. Three-phase, the latter being more stable.
I have googled, but came to no official confirmation of relevance to SG/HDB/SP yet .. which brings to point 2.
2. Nevertheless, from these SLS tech's wealth of experience, certain PSUs (brands, models) are less reliable, they fail when used in conjunction with Single-phase power.

Take-home message for consumer/buyer is: the product should work as intended (warranty), and not be sold in unsuitable conditions, falseor hidden marketing (makers, retailers bad faith) etc.
Solution would be to visit your local distributor and get a replacement.

Bitter pill, but (i'm unsure either) problem may still persist if:
Exact product is provided. Something to be aware.

----------------------
Helllooo, What will folks here do if 2nd-PSU (idential model brand) still gives issue? New / warranty how / top-up / claims / Other methods ...

freakkler

Fuwell. Right now, my pc is with them for check again. The salesman specifically told me that if the PSU is okay, they cant do anything and its my HDB flat problem.

Did you resolve, diagnosed correctly the problem part(s) afflicting custom DIY PC?

Your PC assembled by Fuwell, mine's with Cybermind.
Appears that retailers' sales tactics at point of sale is load of nonsense, "assurance of parts compatibility", "will rectify, exchange replace if things go sour" etc etc.

Dishonest claims surface when you visit them for aftersales service. A lot of misleading claims, dishonest lies about miscommunication, lack of communication between technician and sales. Which is exactly what I encountered at Cybermind past week and more.

Retailer/distro specifically, has to ensure their products can work as intended in normal situation -- our residential homes with nationalised-standardised stable power supply. It's cost-cutting excuses to lay blame on buyers' residences. More and more SLS retailer/repair stores are already aware of customers' feedback on custom PC boot-power on-off woes after so many years.

zleipnir

Wah... simi nonsense?? Ask people change house bcos of PC issit? First time hear that, SLS downgraded IT knowledge so much liao ah? :s13::s22::s22:

That is what i want to do but the salesmen at SLS are claiming that "HDB has not enough power to boot my pc" and that my PSU is okay so they cant do ****

Koenig168

After consulting other technicians', they mentioned 2 possibilities of root causes:
1. Residential vs. Commercia/Industrial electric power supply to entire building differs. Single-phase vs. Three-phase, the latter being more stable.
I have googled, but came to no official confirmation of relevance to SG/HDB/SP yet .. which brings to point 2.
2. Nevertheless, from these SLS tech's wealth of experience, certain PSUs (brands, models) are less reliable, they fail when used in conjunction with Single-phase power.

Sounds like a load of hogwash. PSUs are designed to be able to work in a residential environment and Singapore's power supply is a lot more stable than a lot of other countries.

Hailgod

Sounds like a load of hogwash. PSUs are designed to be able to work in a residential environment and Singapore's power supply is a lot more stable than a lot of other countries.

could have problems if theres too many things plugged into multiplug. direct to wall should not have a issue though.

klap_hanz

Beg, steal or borrow a working PSU to test first lah...If PSU is working fine but problem still persist , I am guessing might be mobo faulty

First time hearing ppl say HDB power is the problem

cscs3

Beg, steal or borrow a working PSU to test first lah...If PSU is working fine but problem still persist , I am guessing might be mobo faulty

First time hearing ppl say HDB power is the problem

Yes, the service person or sales person need to get fired from the job. Otherwise banned this shop.
How could a PC use more power then a cooker, iron etc.

Richliao

You bump up 6 year old thread? Smlj

Lol, not the first old thread he dug la...only way to stop him is must call cybermind to give him full refund. Maybe he should also voice his grievances to mothership lol

freakkler

Yes, the service person or sales person need to get fired from the job. Otherwise banned this shop.
How could a PC use more power then a cooker, iron etc.
Wah... simi nonsense?? Ask people change house bcos of PC issit? First time hear that, SLS downgraded IT knowledge so much liao ah? :s13::s22::s22:

To all positive sincere contributors to topic, #powerSupply
here's my follow-up contribution from SP's reply:
"HDB units are equipped with single phase electricity supply. A single phase supply can support a lower range of electricity load from 7kVA to 23kVA whereas a three phase supply can support a higher range of load from 21kVA and above. "

However, a PC setup/system is sufficient, just like Aircon, heavy wattage appliances. Hence, my personal take follows aplenty like most readers here -- electrical supply differences between residential vs. industrial/commercial is a very bad excuse by PC-parts retailers/service centers, SLS and distributors alike.

To the trolls & haters, thread may be old but lessons/answers can always be re-learnt. Let's use the HWZ forum respectfully.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.