PC won't turn on

i1magic

Purpose of paperclip test on PSU is only to check if PSU is able to power on. The PSU fan will spin and nothing else. ALso, plz dun touch the paperclip when turned on as you will get shocked. Use pliers or gloves to remove AFTER turning off the PSU. You should also disconnect all PSU cables to mobo, gpu, ssd, hdd, ood and only use the 24 pin cables.

If this works but your system is not working as intended, you can consider changing the PSU cables to eliminate any possibilities.

Should use a wire, safer.

marc2002

It could be a static issue that PC wont power up. My PC wont power up if i shut down. I need to shut off the mains and press n hold the power up button (ya weird rite - found on net). After a while, turn the mains on, then press and hold power up button. Try it 1 or 2 times and it will power on.

* thats why my pc on 24/7.....

i1magic

It could be a static issue that PC wont power up. My PC wont power up if i shut down. I need to shut off the mains and press n hold the power up button (ya weird rite - found on net). After a while, turn the mains on, then press and hold power up button. Try it 1 or 2 times and it will power on.

Wah, I cannot tahan this. I will probably change the PSU liao. When did you start having this issue? After the warranty expires on the PSU right?

How about putting your PC to "Sleep", can you PC "wakes up"?

marc2002

I dont think its that much of a PSU issue. My psu working ok (24/7 for months no issue) still got abt 5yrs or so left (10yrs warranty).

Or like static due to connections or something bah. my hand touch the metal parts of my keyboard also can feel the static. prob not due to psu i think....

Northernray

Purpose of paperclip test on PSU is only to check if PSU is able to power on. The PSU fan will spin and nothing else. ALso, plz dun touch the paperclip when turned on as you will get shocked. Use pliers or gloves to remove AFTER turning off the PSU. You should also disconnect all PSU cables to mobo, gpu, ssd, hdd, ood and only use the 24 pin cables.

If this works but your system is not working as intended, you can consider changing the PSU cables to eliminate any possibilities.

The PS-ON pin is a TTL signal sensing pin, it shouldn't be carrying high current to cause an electrical shock. As usual, signal pin should never carry high current, it that happened, something serious wrong with the design and implementation of signal sensing pin.

I use bare wire to test PSUs if I can't find my DIY switch or already in use.

TeethOfMidas

Yeah I disconnected everything except the 24-pin cable. Also tried using another PSU cable too but same issue.

TeethOfMidas

Woah, that's.. worrying, no?

TeethOfMidas

not so after i found the troublesome "remedy". Maybe thats what happened to my 4660 intel ITX setup but didnt know it can be remedied.... then i throw everything away -_-.
Man, for me "on" should just be push a button and that's it. A simple task becoming troublesome would set me off haha.

Anyway, expensive lesson..

TeethOfMidas

No what I mean is disconnect all peripherals such as hard drives, CDROM (if you have one) etc. The goal here is just for the motherboard to POST (Power On Self Test). Since your hard disk(s) should be disconnected the PC wont boot but that is ok to start troubleshooting.

Also IF you do happen to have a spare PSU then as already suggested that would be worth a try as the PSU is usually the first thing to go!

Let us know how you get on or if you have any further questions.

I've just tried. Only the motherboard is connected, powered up pressed ON and same thing nothing happens. No fan no lights no sound of anything running. Can I assume if POST did run, there would be something audible (since there's no monitor connected, I can't determine on-screen)?

namex123

I've just tried. Only the motherboard is connected, powered up pressed ON and same thing nothing happens. No fan no lights no sound of anything running. Can I assume if POST did run, there would be something audible (since there's no monitor connected, I can't determine on-screen)?

did you try in motherboard the CLR_CMOS maybe bios bug!
cgPTK33.jpg

1.main power switch on
2.find something tool to touch 2 pin wait 4 to 5 second see the cpu fan will spin a not.

TeethOfMidas

did you try in motherboard the CLR_CMOS maybe bios bug!
cgPTK33.jpg

1.main power switch on
2.find something tool to touch 2 pin wait 4 to 5 second see the cpu fan will spin a not.

Woah, that's totally unfamiliar to me. I did a quick search and it seems that this will reset my BIOS? What are the odds of it being the BIOS bug? Cos I.. wouldn't know how to re-configure this BIOS thingy, so trying this might be too much for me to handle.

Rarekid

Following this thread closely as having an exact same problem as you. Cant boot, mobo looks normal. Did 'paper clip' test and psu fan running. :o

xhlee87

First disconnect everything except power to motherboard. Take out all rams and graphic card.
Power on using screwdriver method instead of using casing button to eliminate power button spoilt.

Situation 1
Power on to see if the CPU fan spin. If it did not spin, reset Bios (either using the pin method or taking out the battery for 5 mins & all power supply to MB).

After resetting Bios, try booting again. If it did not spin. 50% is MB and 50% is PSU.
After that test the PSU by using the paperclip method to see if the fan spin. If the fan spin, it means the PSU likely is working and 80% your MB spoilt.
Even if the PSU spins, it does not mean it is working 100%. There are chances it is faulty and unable to provide the required amp to its rails.

Situation 2
If the CPU fan spin, it means MB and PSU is working. Shut down and add 1 ram only and test again. If adding ram cause no post, it should be ram spoilt. If you have more than 1 ram, slowly test each individual ram to see which one is spoilt.

TeethOfMidas

First disconnect everything except power to motherboard. Take out all rams and graphic card.
Power on using screwdriver method instead of using casing button to eliminate power button spoilt.

Situation 1
Power on to see if the CPU fan spin. If it did not spin, reset Bios (either using the pin method or taking out the battery for 5 mins & all power supply to MB).

After resetting Bios, try booting again. If it did not spin. 50% is MB and 50% is PSU.
After that test the PSU by using the paperclip method to see if the fan spin. If the fan spin, it means the PSU likely is working and 80% your MB spoilt.
Even if the PSU spins, it does not mean it is working 100%. There are chances it is faulty and unable to provide the required amp to its rails.

Situation 2
If the CPU fan spin, it means MB and PSU is working. Shut down and add 1 ram only and test again. If adding ram cause no post, it should be ram spoilt. If you have more than 1 ram, slowly test each individual ram to see which one is spoilt.

If I'm hesitant on resetting the BIOS at this point of time, could I try out Situation 2's suggestion? As of the last test I did, none of the fans moved. But that was with the PSU connected to MoBo, and MoBo had both RAMs onboard.

Btw I think the Power button should be okay, because when I press ON the BT adaptor light comes on. It's the only indicator that reacts everytime I press the power.

Sai Jai Lalit

resetting bios is low risk (unless it has been flashed to support newer CPU), it just go back to factory default
I am having the same problem with a 9 month old Gigabyte B450M Aorus M. Tried 3 PSU , each time after new PSU it will work for a few days/weeks before refusing to boot again.

I gave up and just ordered a new mobo online, now awaiting delivery

hafiz116

resetting bios is low risk (unless it has been flashed to support newer CPU), it just go back to factory default
I am having the same problem with a 9 month old Gigabyte B450M Aorus M. Tried 3 PSU , each time after new PSU it will work for a few days/weeks before refusing to boot again.

What motherboard did you order this time?

xhlee87

If I'm hesitant on resetting the BIOS at this point of time, could I try out Situation 2's suggestion? As of the last test I did, none of the fans moved. But that was with the PSU connected to MoBo, and MoBo had both RAMs onboard.

Btw I think the Power button should be okay, because when I press ON the BT adaptor light comes on. It's the only indicator that reacts everytime I press the power.

Then go pay $50 to $100 and ask ppl to troubleshoot. 3 pages of thread and you still dont know what is wrong with your computer, dont waste time here and everyone’s time.
These are the most basic steps to troubleshoot and you dont dare to do. How are u going to find out what is wrong and why bother to ask us.
How can resetting a bios is worse than non boot, you sound like a woman to me.
All Motherboard come with default bio setting and they boot so resetting the bios do more good than harm.
What is the use of putting ram on the motherboard and tell me you cant boot. So u expect me to know ram or mb is spoilt which how am I suppose to know.

Northernray

Resetting the CMOS is not re-write the CMOS. What's the logic of resetting the CMOS will lost the support of newer processor?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.