Penang or Malacca

tractor13

Hi Guys, thinking of a short trip after this Covid! Which one will yall recommend and why?

sunsetbay

i feel penang has more local characteristic~ there are more places to visit as well~ go malacca only if you intend to drive since its not very far~ :s22:

Andrew833

Hi Guys, thinking of a short trip after this Covid! Which one will yall recommend and why?

Depend on what you like?
Melaka is a historic place, so main attractions are those historical building.
Penang has more attractions like theme park, farm, temple, penang hill etc..

Habrosus

How many days is your 'short trip' and what are your intentions?

Habrosus

maybe 5?
just sightseeing

Then I'd choose Penang, more sights to visit and more food to eat. :)

Unless you're like me, who can spend a whole week in Melaka not exactly doing what tourists normally do, but just relac-relac walk along the streets, explore here and there, walk the malls and shop whatever I see, eat along the way. Buy things don't need to worry luggage overweight...

People find Melaka boring after 3 days, but I love Melaka whenever I visit on working/schooling days. :D

beanstalk6

Both are equally interesting, for sightseeing and the food, though Penang will be better for those who don't appreciate spending time at historical sights.

Andrew833

I plan Melaka 3days, 4th day go KL.
Day 3 already very boring.

Penang a lot better but I went 2nd time without much planning, get boring and don't know where to go. :s13:

sunsetbay

maybe 5?
just sightseeing

5 days jitao penang liao~ many 3D, upside dwn etc museum, penang hill, street murals for photo taking~ malacca 3D2N over weekend enough liao~ :s22:

the main prob now is when msia & sg goin to relax the travel restriction w/o the need to serve quarantine~ :(

tractor13

5 days jitao penang liao~ many 3D, upside dwn etc museum, penang hill, street murals for photo taking~ malacca 3D2N over weekend enough liao~ :s22:

the main prob now is when msia & sg goin to relax the travel restriction w/o the need to serve quarantine~ :(
ya man tbh it feel like ** is extended

Habrosus

ya man tbh it feel like ** is extended
I personally view it as ** being eased, rather than lifted...

hahah actually good idea too to do KL and Malacca tgt
Yes, if you've not been to Melaka, can consider this as well.

I plan Melaka 3days, 4th day go KL.
Day 3 already very boring.

Penang a lot better but I went 2nd time without much planning, get boring and don't know where to go. :s13:
Ah, come to think of it, my Melaka trips also include visiting people that we've met on our previous trips there, visiting their shop or makan places, sit down chit-chat.

Ya, Melaka to me is like balik kampung, and I've targeted a November trip, depending on the situation by then. :D

Andrew833

hahah actually good idea too to do KL and Malacca tgt

I went Melaka, KL (sky mirror), Ipoh and Penang. All by coach or trains, very convenient.
But if 5 days 2 places, you will waste 3 x 1/2 day in transportation. Therefore, only 3.5 days to enjoy.

tengkufriz

Book the hotel first ah...get the free cancellation type of deal. If anything happens by then, no need to worry about recovering costs 😁

passingbye

hahaa legit ah ? what food is good ah?

That time stayed at Sunway hotel. Just downstairs there are those pushcarts stalls that operate in the evening.

A few places that I went to eat were:

- Tsunami seafood
- Siam Road Char Kuey tiao
- Penang Road famous chendol
- Chinahouse

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.