Permanent Resident Application

Vethe1708

Hi all

I am Indonesian-chinese, currently working at Singapore under S-Pass for 1.5 year. I am a degree holder. My mom is also a Singapore PR, and my step dad is a Singaporean.

Not sure anyone have the approval story that can share?

Thanks

Papermate

Hi all

I am Indonesian-chinese, currently working at Singapore under S-Pass for 1.5 year. I am a degree holder. My mom is also a Singapore PR, and my step dad is a Singaporean.

Thanks
Are you an Indonesia national? Or a PRC (China) national?

If it is the former, I would normally write Chinese Indonesian, and not Indonesian Chinese.

Indonesian Chinese would refer to PRC nationals who came from Indonesia...similar to Korean Chinese or Japanese Chinese whose origins are Korea or Japan.

I would call myself a Chinese Singaporean, meaning that I am a Singaporean, and my ancestors came from China. I don't say I am a Singaporean Chinese...although I'd noticed that a lot of people speak/write that way.

I ask you this because I think there could be different weights placed on applicants based on their country of origin.

Vethe1708

If it is the former, I would normally write Chinese Indonesian, and not Indonesian Chinese.

Indonesian Chinese would refer to PRC nationals who came from Indonesia...similar to Korean Chinese or Japanese Chinese whose origins are Korea or Japan.

I would call myself a Chinese Singaporean, meaning that I am a Singaporean, and my ancestors came from China. I don't say I am a Singaporean Chinese...although I'd noticed that a lot of people speak/write that way.

I ask you this because I think there could be different weights placed on applicants based on their country of origin.

Hi sorry im Chinese Indonesian. Sorry for the confusion.

coloumbiaGames

I applied and waited for close to a year before approval.

S pass, Chinese.

btw. if you put Chinese as a race. ICA will definitely ask for documentary proof to proof your race.

Izumi8

This is your own interpretation only. For the majority, Singaporean Chinese has nothing to do with PRC. Same goes for Indonesian Chinese.

msaz

PR so easy to get like toilet paper, if indian with fake degree and rape mentality culture can get pr , don't see why you cannot get

stiffs

I'm 4th generation Singaporean, I meant my grandfather was born here. Despite certain bad press on PRC, my great-grandfather was from China and i'm most fluent in my Hokkien and I certainly look similar to the people from that region. After having worked in Taiwan, HK, PRC, I concluded all Chinese's traits are the same regardless of Countries. Your environment make or break you. We are what we are mainly due to our inherent comfortable lifestyle. Most Taiwanese, China and HK live to migrate due to political reasons resulting their forced innovat and invent culture. SG only have OSIM and Creative, they have Giant bicycle, WeChat, Alibaba, HTC, Asus, etc.

I do however, differentiate myself from the Northern China. I prefer my darken skin tone but like their fairer skin madame.

stiffs

Don't hurry your PR application. Work for 3 years and pay your income tax duly. Welcome to Singapore, I use to worked in Indonesia too. I also like Indonesian Chinese.

Vethe1708

Don't hurry your PR application. Work for 3 years and pay your income tax duly. Welcome to Singapore, I use to worked in Indonesia too. I also like Indonesian Chinese.

Thankyou .
Actually i planned to get a bto before married.
But my pr eventually got rejected.

I will try again in a few year to get PR

Thanks!

Vethe1708

I applied and waited for close to a year before approval.

S pass, Chinese.

btw. if you put Chinese as a race. ICA will definitely ask for documentary proof to proof your race.

Mind to share whar is document proof to proof my race?

Thanks

PR so easy to get like toilet paper, if indian with fake degree and rape mentality culture can get pr , don't see why you cannot get
Get liao leech until retirement age n go back homeland with cpf :(

Sent from Sony Z4 using GAGT

viruskbs

really meh

Code:

I am not sure where you are getting your information from.

It was easy to get PR in the pre 2011 era of singapore but at the present time if your CV does not say Malaysian Chinese, sorry lah.

I have a friend working in Singapore for > 10 years, married, did MBA from SMU, presently in a senior post in big GLC company ( SGX listed)... married recently has been rejected for PR 3 time. Only reason i can figure out why his PR not approved is his race - Indian.

another friend of mine- Pinoy, professionally qualified, married with 2 kids. also working for 10 years in Sg, PR rejected 3rd time. Her Kids studying in local school.

However a few other colleagues, also professionally qualified, hardly in Singapore for 2-3 years, got PR approved on first attempt. Only reason I can think is that they were all holding Malaysian passports & race was chinese.

It seems our government is working overtime to maintain ethnic ratio.
However a person who is working in Singapore for 10 years with his family & kids living here has shown enough commitment to be considered worthy of PR.
For those who have got there PR application approved, congrats & welcome to Singapore. Hope you make Singapore as your permanent home.

viruskbs

i would disagree with the above statement as it does not hold true for everybody.
I came from India 10 years back, presently i hold red passport, Just got it last year.
my wife and daughter came with me when I migrated. I do have some friends and families back in india.
However, now I feel more comfortable in Singapore, i consider it my home. its another 25 years for retirement & by then I would have lost touch with the ground in India. yes i will have some friends & relatives there but they will be just acquaintances. it is difficult to pick up threads you have dropped for 30 years.

Yes the option is there but not many would do that.
It is very difficult to get used to different way of living if you have remained overseas for many years.

I have a few friends who have been telling me, another 1-2 years i will be going back. its been 6 years since he came. Now he still maintains the statement , but not very sure.
So I am not sure how many of those who are gonna retire back in the country of there birth will actually end up doing so

Papermate

This is your own interpretation only. For the majority, Singaporean Chinese has nothing to do with PRC. Same goes for Indonesian Chinese.

Lol!

For the majority?

Kindly show your survey results.

If you don't have any, stop foisting your own assumptions as representing the views of the *majority*. Lol!

It's really very simple English that it should be Chinese Singaporean, and if you insist on being right, you have a problem. I don't right. :s22:

Papermate

Hi sorry im Chinese Indonesian. Sorry for the confusion.
I cannot speak for ICA, and also, they would not tell why, if they reject an application.

Many Chinese Singaporeans who married ethnic Chinese from Malaysia and Indonesia, and even Chinese (that's PRC nationals and only they can call themselves "Chinese" when filling in the official documents), applied for PR for their wives.

Many were rejected, and they went to see their MP, but still, the applications were rejected.

ICA would not tell why.

But I believe the priority is in this order, for the following nationalities:

(1) Chinese Malaysians
(2) Chinese Indonesians
(3) Chinese.

So you know where your chances stand, but there are of course other considerations, like what your highest education is, your occupation, how long you have been working in Singapore, etc.

Anyway, no point in thinking so much about something you cannot control. Just submit your application, and hope for the best.

freewilly5000

Recently met with a rep from a company who provide assistance on PR application. She quoted me 5k - is that normal?

delceer

I thought Indonesian Chinese very rich one. Still need to work and hold S pass?
By the way, S pass salary minimum is how much?

Hi all

Thanks

skinnyminnie

Please evaluate my chance of successful PR

I've been living in Singapore since 2008, did my O levels and A levels here on scholarship. I did fairly well in school receiving mostly As and some Bs. I also graduated from NUS with a bachelor's and a master's degree in architecture. I'm working for a local architecture firm on Employment pass for more than a year now. My basic monthly salary is $3700. Also I'm a Vietnamese of Chinese race. Recently my Singaporean boyfriend proposed to me and I said yes (yay), so I've decided to stay and build a family here. Please help evaluate my chance. Thanks in advance!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.