Pivot to India?

TiedInsurer

Serious post here. No **** or foreigner bashing please, do that somewhere else.

Anyway, back to topic. I've noticed that recently, it looks like PAP is pivoting to India and focusing less on China? During LKY's era, China was identified as a country with high potential, and we took steps to ensure good relations and close cooperation so we are well positioned to benefit from China's rise. Nowadays, we are doing more and more deals with India instead. Our forward looking leaders have identified India as the rising star of the next few decades and making preparations? Or am i just reading too much into things?

nachtsid.er

u always focus on the countries with large populations.
Its a numbers game

Yuba84

A lot of crap about automation and ai. In the end it’s an ancient tradition, who have more hands and labour wins. How many places have the know how, expertise to fully automate? Machine also need labour to operate and maintain. Myth. Menial labor ftw

TiedInsurer

you come out of which time machine?
No time machine la. Just feels that recently, have a very significant uptick of deals with India, and not much going on with China anymore. Wondering if this is a shift in strategy as a whole.

wickedpuppy

No time machine la. Just feels that recently, have a very significant uptick of deals with India, and not much going on with China anymore. Wondering if this is a shift in strategy as a whole.
Isn't it obvious for ... more than 10 years ?

TiedInsurer

Isn't it obvious for ... more than 10 years ?
Haha i'm just very slow i guess. Didn't notice until just now, when reading the news about integrating India's Unified Payments Interface with our Paynow. We never integrate Alipay or wechatpay, but we integrate UPI. That came as a surprise.

haiyata

u always focus on the countries with large populations.
Its a numbers game

IMHO, I don't think solely the case. Indo also have large population and very close to us but I didn't read alot in our MIW policies to reaching out to cooperate with them.

TS, to be honest, I think India is more in the news in a good way for economical opportunities recently.

Also this is helped by China f**king themselves up with their political policies. (think HK)
Moreover, China has the impending property crisis. We don't know how this will spiral into.

So many things play a part

nachtsid.er

:o IMHO, I don't think solely the case. Indo also have large population and very close to us but I didn't read alot in our MIW policies to reaching out to cooperate with them.

TS, to be honest, I think India is more in the news in a good way for economical opportunities recently.

Also this is helped by China f**king themselves up with their political policies. (think HK)
Moreover, China has the impending property crisis. We don't know how this will spiral into.

So many things play a part
There are policies to focus on developing countries with large populations with potential (India , China)
Immediate neighbours with larger population (indon)
In addition to developed countries , the usual USA ,Europe and Japan .
We never put all our eggs in one basket

haiyata

There are policies to focus on developing countries with large populations with potential (India , China)
Immediate neighbours with larger population (indon)
In addition to developed countries , the usual USA ,Europe and Japan .
We never put all our eggs in one basket

yes. agree with we never put our eggs in one basket.

I also read that we even have some collaboration with Brazil.

TiedInsurer

bro, ur post maciam trolling ur own thread?
What. I'm being completely serious. Not saying everyone should. Most people probably wouldn't want or need to, but it's always useful to know the languages of the world's economic powerhouses, especially if your company has a lot of clients doing business with them.

There are a lot of Ang Moh learning Chinese for this reason. It's very lucrative to teach Chinese in Ang Moh countries.

haiyata

What. I'm being completely serious. Not saying everyone should. Most people probably wouldn't want or need to, but it's always useful to know the languages of the world's economic powerhouses, especially if your company has a lot of clients doing business with them.

ok. if not trolling, then I dun think u need learn Hindi.

I work with S.Asia countries and their English are as good as urs and mine or even better.

TiedInsurer

ok. if not trolling, then I dun think u need learn Hindi.

I work with S.Asia countries and their English are as good as urs and mine or even better.
Is it? My company only deals with one Indian company... their English all CMI. Struggle to understand them. I always thought they are like the Mainland Chinese... the ones that come out have good English, but if you go to them, most of them only know their own language and can't speak English.

tExtra

Pre-Covid 19 already liddat liao mah. It became more distinct after tao eh told 一尊, “我们要走自己的路”.

Shortly after Terrex tio kantong. Then Unker Sam escalated the geopolitical tension with ban hammer. Then came Covid 19 - it delayed the shift but didn’t change the decision to “pivot”.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.