老鸟们 please give chiur expert career advice.

Lchlch

Yesterday catch up with a group of friends. And 1 of the friend share his work story. I feel quite unfair so experts here please share your opinion.

He been working in the company for 5 years and performance has always been relatively good like B. In fact good enough that by 3rd year mark got 3 department all needed hire people, so the bosses of those 3 department actually ask him if he wanna join and gave him choose who he wanna go.

End up he went to a department that interest him the most. Basically need to draft and review contracts. Quite an important function.

And it has been all smooth and his previous boss gave him good appraisals yearly and even help fight maximum possible increments. But that boss decided to leave and venture into own business.

The new boss from SAF background came in within 6 months offended a lot people. And now making this friend life difficult and even wanna find excuses say due to his poor performance forcefully wanna put him into PIP and say within 6 months still don't meet her mark, will tio pok.

Means what? I've been hearing a lot similar stories and even my personal job loss also due to something similar being unfairly dismissed and graded but I'm too tired to fight.

Why has work becoming so difficult these days?

This shd be labeled as Work Place Bully?
To force someone leave the coy.
Can report this to HR?

Lchlch

Hmm my friend would probably take umbrage with what you just said :s13: :s13: :s13:

But when he share I do feel damn wtf. A paper general that parachute into a private sector as a manager that come in less than 6 months already jjww. Even offend other managers too.
Those Paper Generals always thought they are the best choice n whatever he said or implement, cannot say no.
They those pg, shd go back to their arm life n dnt drsrupt the society.

Shion

Senior Mentor
might as well find job quit
or quit first then find job
no wonder working under lousy bosses

Ethan_

Hmm my friend would probably take umbrage with what you just said :s13: :s13: :s13:

But when he share I do feel damn wtf. A paper general that parachute into a private sector as a manager that come in less than 6 months already jjww. Even offend other managers too.
Really paper general or pun intended? Cause impression paper general seems like a rare asset local tend like to park in those related companies to sort of keep a check on things. So, called easy 2nd career. Should be much higher post bah.

Acetone

If tio PIP, can start finding job liao… basically it’s just a formal way of asking you to leave

IAmChiobu12M

Really paper general or pun intended? Cause impression paper general seems like a rare asset local tend like to park in those related companies to sort of keep a check on things. So, called easy 2nd career. Should be much higher post bah.
Shld be real pg ba. Caz quit saf come private. If so good can continue stay wah so stable.

vangug

new boss come in chut pattern just means this new boss wants to bring their own people in... cos its easier to chase others out and bring in their own loyal people than to win over strangers and convert them into loyal pawns in the company....

Knightoftheblackrose

This is very common in all workplaces.

When a new boss comes in, they will get rid of old staff they did not hire.
Usually they have some cronies or personal good friends that they want to bring into their team.

Obviously the PIP is BS, but it is part of the whole corporate “game”. TS friend cannot win. Just accept this as a fact of life , like gravity , and move on.

Vinda99

Wise man once told me

It's all about the Game

and how you play it

triple-h-entrance.gif

😢

krusader1

Yesterday catch up with a group of friends. And 1 of the friend share his work story. I feel quite unfair so experts here please share your opinion.

He been working in the company for 5 years and performance has always been relatively good like B. In fact good enough that by 3rd year mark got 3 department all needed hire people, so the bosses of those 3 department actually ask him if he wanna join and gave him choose who he wanna go.

End up he went to a department that interest him the most. Basically need to draft and review contracts. Quite an important function.

And it has been all smooth and his previous boss gave him good appraisals yearly and even help fight maximum possible increments. But that boss decided to leave and venture into own business.

The new boss from SAF background came in within 6 months offended a lot people. And now making this friend life difficult and even wanna find excuses say due to his poor performance forcefully wanna put him into PIP and say within 6 months still don't meet her mark, will tio pok.

Means what? I've been hearing a lot similar stories and even my personal job loss also due to something similar being unfairly dismissed and graded but I'm too tired to fight.

Have a sit-down with the new boss and understand what does she expect from your friend. Document and share everything with her so that there is no misunderstanding (especially when push comes to shove and HR is involved). Meantime, either find a new job outside or seek an internal transfer. Good luck!

titusilvering

New management new way of work. If can't fit in then resign

ramlee

When he serves you the PIP, he has to do it in the presence of HR and a PIP development plan ready for you to sign :(

During this meeting, clarify what are the gaps that lead to this PIP, how does the development plan closes this gap and the milestones of this plan. Clarify or challenge him in the presence of HR if you find any of these unreasonable or unrealistic to obtain. He has to provide the support for you to pass the PIP :(

If he can't give a response that you are satisfied with him, voice it out in front of HR. Do not sign on the PIP document :(

PapaWith3Kids

Everybody can do the job. It depends if the boss like you or not. Ask your friend to move if his boss don’t like him.

ramlee

Those Paper Generals always thought they are the best choice n whatever he said or implement, cannot say no.
They those pg, shd go back to their arm life n dnt drsrupt the society.
Our resident Human Resources and Workplace Relations consultant in the house :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.