Please keep up the moderation!

ethan89

Dear all

It seems that we have not been following SPH's terms and conditions for many years. The administrators and moderators can only do so much. We need to do our best to keep up moderation efforts by reporting any threads and posts that violates the following as quoted by Dragon, especially those lewd pictures, defamatory posts, and most importantly, any content that infringes on intellectual property rights of a third party.

Please do your best to keep this forum safe and clean for everyone!

Death4ngel
I'm more concerned with cyberbullying and racism remarks than the posting of lewd pictures and the addition of "new" debatable-derogatory terms actually.

On the topic of racism, I'm quite annoyed when ppl seem to enjoy using terms like "P&H", "***", "mud", etc to describe (or probably with the intent to insult) Malays and Islam as well.

I understand ppl are unhappy with the ongoing terrorism activities (and some other social issues), but that doesn't give us the right to call em names and such.

We are civilised gentlemen (and ladies) so we should behave as such.

Sent from "It is only through labor and painful effort, by grim energy and resolute courage, that we move on to better things."
- Theodore Roosevelt using GAGT

LaughingKor

I'm more concerned with racism cyberbullying than lewd pictures actually.

On the topic of racism, I'm quite annoyed when ppl seem to enjoy using terms like "P&H", "***", "mud", etc to describe (or probably with the intent to insult) Malays and Islam as well.

I understand ppl are unhappy with the ongoing terrorism activities (and some other social issues), but that doesn't give us the right to call em names and such.

Sent from "It is only through labor and painful effort, by grim energy and resolute courage, that we move on to better things."

exactaly. 3 points isn't enough to deter these people from posting again.

runforyourlife

What would you suggest? Taking out the infraction system and straight to a T-ban?

Users can always bring up their ideas for the forum, its meant for you guys anyway.

Death4ngel

How is this considered a feedback? I'm just asking other forumers to do their part.

This thread is directed at other forumers and not a feedback.

EDIT:
If the moderators would like a feedback thread, I'm more than happy to create one as well.

ethan89

Hmmm actually I dun refer to all types of issues must enforce strict moderation. Just specifically on racism and cyberbullying is good enough.

Like the recent moderation by introducing new debatable-derogatory terms - To me that was way too harsh and uncalled for.

midnightpapa

runforyourlife

Perhaps there's a need for a clearer definition of "derogatory terms", is that what you guys are suggesting?

One Month Notice

Perhaps there's a need for a clearer definition of "derogatory terms", is that what you guys are suggesting?

just clear up what is deem offensive.

offensive to 1 person might not be to another.

i agree that topics related to race, religion, nationalistic issue should be tread lightly. but come on, edmw is where ppl come to see kym thread etc with their unique lingo. start encoaching on that, might as well go motherhood forum.

for the admin and mods reading.. seriously wakeup lah.

if i find sagu offensive for talking in 3rd person can u ban him?

runforyourlife

just clear up what is deem offensive.

offensive to 1 person might not be to another.

i agree that topics related to race, religion, nationalistic issue should be tread lightly. but come on, edmw is where ppl come to see kym thread etc with their unique lingo. start encoaching on that, might as well go motherhood forum.

for the admin and mods reading.. seriously wakeup lah.

if i find sagu offensive for talking in 3rd person can u ban him?

I understand where you are getting at.

Apart from race/religion/nationalistic issues, I agree there should be some sort of clarification on 'derogatory terms'.

The easiest and most classic example, "ASGM", is a famous EDMW term, and only in EDMW would you know what it meant. Is that derogatory? If you go by definition, yes it is. Surely it is derogatory.

But should that be deemed by the book as derogatory in the forum context, especially so, in EDMW context, and thus issue a warning/infraction to whomever types that out? That is subjective, both to the user and to any jmod/mod/smod that chance onto that reported post and action on it.

DrRobo

One Month Notice

Apart from race/religion/nationalistic issues, I agree there should be some sort of clarification on 'derogatory terms'.

The easiest and most classic example, "ASGM", is a famous EDMW term, and only in EDMW would you know what it meant. Is that derogatory? If you go by definition, yes it is. Surely it is derogatory.

But should that be deemed by the book as derogatory in the forum context, especially so, in EDMW context, and thus issue a warning/infraction to whomever types that out? That is subjective, both to the user and to any jmod/mod/smod that chance onto that reported post and action on it.

yup. asgm could be offensive to a conservative virgin generic race girl but to my fling, she loves it when i say ASGM.

so how? even in forum context, if someone find it offensive the mod should really excerise judgement.

if not please ban sagu. i find ppl talking in 3rd person extememly offensive. lets be consistent.

ethan89

IMHO if a mod wanna take a high moral stance on this, every crude word can be taken as derogatory u know. In this case, terms that objectify men like "KKJ", "**", etc should also be added into the list of prohibited words isn't it? Glad u agree that such issues are subjective. I feel it can be debated whether someone's reply is considered offensive/sexist.

But let's not deviate to other issues but focus on the recent "culling operation" one of the mods/admins had made:

1) This particular mod/admin had find it amusing/entertaining (adding of remarks to ridicule others) when carrying out "punishments" to users whom he/she had deemed to have broken the forum rules. I see mods/admins are given positions where they are on a high moral ground to enforce disciplinary actions so I find such behaviour to be unbecoming of mods/admins.

2) I understand the general rule here is not to use derogatory terms that may offend/insult others. But if mods/admins decide to add on "new" terms (like cheesepie- acronyms) to HWZ/EDMW's dictionary of banned words, I believe the appropriate thing to do is to perhaps create a PSA thread, issue friendly advisories that these "new" terms will be taken as derogatory with immediate effect.

Just my humble 2 cents worth :o

Death4ngel

IMHO if a mod wanna take a high moral stance on this, every crude word can be taken as derogatory u know.

Please, you could even make my nick derogatory if enough people does it. For example, "Eh, why you so Death4ngel.", "You damn Death4ngel leh."

:s13::s22:

ZedMaster

I'm more concerned with racism cyberbullying than posting of lewd pictures and the addition of "new" debatable-derogatory terms actually.

An example would be:

ethan89

Please, you could even make my nick derogatory if enough people does it. For example, "Eh, why you so Death4ngel.", "You damn Death4ngel leh."

:s13::s22:

Yep and that's the point I want to bring about in my post. Conservative individuals can probably say your nickname is a blasphemy to Christianity/Catholic beliefs and say u should be banned for calling yourself an angel (or something else) :s13:

I do agree forumers should report on offensive posts but we (and mods alike) need to exercise careful judgement and not abuse our power just because its distasteful to some whom might be more conservative than the majority.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.