Police investigating deepfake nude photos of Singapore Sports School students

testart

not sure if u are married personnel with kid, but if a parent got issues checking and knowing what content the kid is surfing online on their PCs and Handphones, I think the parent need to check their own parenting methods liao.

clearly somewhere down the line, communication breakdown with kid liao if kid doesn't allow open access on their stuff with parents.

and no, no such law forbidding parents to look at kids mobile phones. maybe there might be such woke laws in some states in USA, but last I know, those laws are specific to USA jurisdiction. jurisdiction doesn't cross soverign nations.
I'm single with no kids.
Yes. The key is communication.

Nowadays kids maybe influence by youtube video. They like to say what privacy law lah, human rights lah. etc...so in the heat of argurment the kid may mention these woke theory from USA. Parents who did not attend formal education may think the kid is correct. LOL.

peterpater

If SSS expel the boys, the boys go other secondary school right?

If they go other secondary school and they dun learn the lesson and they continue DF images of underage girls classmates and female teachers, is like throwing the problem to other secondary school....

Quite problem right
I don’t want to make this a xenophobia issue, but it is accurate that there are foreign students in sports school? If yes, maybe we can expel and terminate their contract. For locals, we have to rehabilitate the students, no choice

testart

I don’t want to make this a xenophobia issue, but it is accurate that there are foreign students in sports school? If yes, maybe we can expel and terminate their contract. For locals, we have to rehabilitate the students, no choice
SSS got foreign students? First time hear this.

These students already kena so many Acts (See below)

So have to see whether the judge allow Rehabilitation

Section 377BH of the Penal Code - Victims under 16 yo

Section 377BE of the Penal Code - Victims above 16 yo

Singapore's Films Act - Possession or creation of an obscene deepfake video

Protection from Harassment Act (POHA) - Intentionally cause harassment, alarm or distress could be charged as well

Online Safety Act - Requires social media sites to block access to harmful content.

Online Criminal Harms Act (OCHA) - Enables the authorities to issue directions to online service providers and such if there's a suspicion that an online activity furthers the commission of an offence, such as the distribution of intimate images.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...tims-of-deepfake-porn.7081253/#post-154429086

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
I was wondering the same thing. Apparently, the perpetrators are students of the school itself. I doubt the public cares at all. Apart from posting this, I know I don’t.
teenagers being .. teenagers?
* shrugs *

in schs, boys will have that crushes on someone else & to them it's "better/safer" to do DF on them than commit sex-related crimes like molesting?

not knowing of the consequences or the thinking that they won't get caught :s22:

Rock Hardy

teenagers being .. teenagers?
* shrugs *

in schs, boys will have that crushes on someone else & to them it's "better/safer" to do DF on them than commit sex-related crimes like molesting?

not knowing of the consequences or the thinking that they won't get caught :s22:
🤷🏻‍♂️This is the level of Singapore media.

Emperor_Hippo

I'm single with no kids.
Yes. The key is communication.

Nowadays kids maybe influence by youtube video. They like to say what privacy law lah, human rights lah. etc...so in the heat of argurment the kid may mention these woke theory from USA. Parents who did not attend formal education may think the kid is correct. LOL.
Then parents to blame liao.

but seriously, those born in 70s cannot use "i never study" as an excuse, cos as far as I know, every single 1970s kid around me had a minimum of 8 to 10yrs of education. so "lack of education" or "no education" is not an excuse anymore.

dun say "dunno", dunno can ownself go check. how old already still dunno how to self service, need people to spoonfeed? 40++ yr old at the minimum liao, not 4yrs old. please.

testart

Then parents to blame liao.

but seriously, those born in 70s cannot use "i never study" as an excuse, cos as far as I know, every single 1970s kid around me had a minimum of 8 to 10yrs of education. so "lack of education" or "no education" is not an excuse anymore.

dun say "dunno", dunno can ownself go check. how old already still dunno how to self service, need people to spoonfeed? 40++ yr old at the minimum liao, not 4yrs old. please.
At that age, I think the parents no longer want to update themselves anymore.

that what I think

seem like some parents 被孩子牵着鼻子走

Emperor_Hippo

At that age, I think the parents no longer want to update themselves anymore.

that what I think

seem like some parents 被孩子牵着鼻子走
Then this one no need to blame friends, blame technology liao.

have only themselves to blame.

Nickypigu

‘The girls will not feel safe’: Parents of S’pore Sports School students in deepfake nude photo scandal demand harsher punishment​

Sports school punish deepfake

The school has lodged a police report and police investigations are ongoing.

Singapore Sports School students punished for deepfake nude photos of classmates, parents call for expulsion

Several male students from Singapore Sports School have faced disciplinary action for generating and circulating deepfake nude images of their female classmates.

The disciplinary actions meted out included caning, suspension from school, training and boarding, and barring them from sports trips.

According to Singapore Sports School’s principal, Ong Kim Soon, the school is aware of the incident and has launched an investigation, as well as lodged a police report.

“The school does not condone such harmful behaviour,” he added.

Singapore Sports School

Source: Wikidata

Started creating deepfake nude images in June

According to Channel News Asia (CNA), a group of male students from Singapore Sports School started generating and circulating deepfake nude images of their female schoolmates back in June 2024.

The process involved two WhatsApp groups: one for generating the images and another for circulating them.

Deepfake technology, a form of artificial intelligence (AI), was reportedly used to digitally alter and combine images of their female schoolmates with fabricated bodies, resulting in realistic-looking nude photos.

65c35d0339ba3a003c420ba7_65c0cd8e2749451c82ad15c8_Blog-Post-What-is-Deepfake-1024x683.jpeg

Source: AllSafeIT

Parents call for harsher punishments​

The school is currently working with the police to address the matter and will reportedly inform parents of any significant developments moving forward.

The police are also assisting in requesting the removal of all related images from the websites involved.

The police are interviewing the Singapore Sports School students involved in the creation and distribution of the deepfake nude images and the students’ mobile devices have also been temporarily confiscated for forensic examination.

These devices will be returned to them once they have been cleared of the offensive images.

However, while disciplinary actions have started, some parents of the victims are unsatisfied with the punishment being meted out to the perpetrators of the incident.

One parent told CNA that the punishment was “not enough” and he had asked the school to look into harsher punishments including expulsion from the school.

He added that the girls victimised by the incident would not feel safe with the perpetrators “lurking in school”.

Affected parents have also lodged police reports, reports CNA.

Featured image adapted from Singapore Sports School

Really very aware. Girls would not fee safe with the perpetrators lurking in school. How about the bully cases? Boys will feel safe with bully lurking in school?

Emperor_Hippo

Really very aware. Girls would not fee safe with the perpetrators lurking in school. How about the bully cases? Boys will feel safe with bully lurking in school?
all the guniangs that strawberry parents are raising these days.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.