[POLL]Can you survive on $1,300 per month ?

Can you survive on $1.3k?

• Yes

Votes: 80 53.0%
  • No

Votes: 71 47.0%

• Total voters

Pearce

I just calculated. 1.3k after CPF is 1.04k. If I'm all alone, based on my work location (Ubi), I found a few rental properties nearby for $500-600/mth, with that my accommodation is settled and I don't need to worry about transport since I can walk to work.

Rental: 500
Food: 300
HP bill: 30

I still got roughly 200 to spare or save up.

So yeah, 1.3k to survive is definitely doable. BUT surviving is diff from living and I wouldn't wanna live like that my whole life.

No need insurance? No need give parent money?

BlurKillerEX

No need insurance? No need give parent money?

Can you read? I wrote that IF I'M ALL ALONE in that scenario.:s22:

anyway my insurance now, about 20 a month (life insurance and critical illness). Normal sickness company got cover.

a 5 pac instant noodle cost < $2. can have 1 pac for breakfast, 2 pac for lunch and 2 pac for dinner. Once in a while can still add one egg.

total spent < $100 on food per mth.

Laofuzi67

Sure can survive lah. But no $ to start a family.

Remember: If y'all can survive with mediocre NS allowances, you can definitely survive at least w $1.3k of salary.

Yes survive sure can
Free food Everyday 3 Meals at temple
Ownself cook rice with soy sauce, instant noodles
Rent bed space to stay if want save Rental can even tough it out outdoors
Invest in a bicycle for transport
Shower in public Toilets
I dare say can even subsist on quarter of that in expensive singapore is possible

Maybe this can be the theme for next reality game show

Laofuzi67

a 5 pac instant noodle cost < $2. can have 1 pac for breakfast, 2 pac for lunch and 2 pac for dinner. Once in a while can still add one egg.

Many places like Buddhist lodge and Sikh Temples got free meals Everyday.
Maybe now covid temp suspend

SecretAgent

One person single can... But got family and dependents... How? For every additional headcount, you got to half that amount, it will only be pushing the amount for per person down.

m1kid85

Ya later in the future probably will ganna diabetics and kidney problems.

Then Got chance go tv show ask the Audience to donate money for the foundation

BlurKillerEX

U so ke lian...

Tbh I chose to cook my own lunch because it's healthier that way, this way I can control my nutrition intake. Of course like I said there are also perks to eating lunch in office, 2min to heat up food, 15min to eat and wash up. This gives me 40min to surf internet, watch videos or just take a nap. :o

The poll results shows that EDMWer quite divided on this issue

You $1080 take home

Lets say you bbfa , minus away your rent , how to survive ?

RandomPancake

Single without housing loan lor...

⁂JoKeR⁂;130335620 said:
I have a friend that is working as delivery staff, used to earn 1.4k, and wife not working, got 3 kids.. can survive but struggle..

They eat simple meals also.

Posted from PCWX using whatever you think of lar, and Why so Serious when quoting me.

won't housing finished up his monthly salary already? :(

BlurKillerEX

The poll results shows that EDMWer quite divided on this issue

You $1080 take home

Lets say you bbfa , minus away your rent , how to survive ?

Like this

I just calculated. 1.3k after CPF is 1.04k. If I'm all alone, based on my work location (Ubi), I found a few rental properties nearby for $500-600/mth, with that my accommodation is settled and I don't need to worry about transport since I can walk to work.

Rental: 500
Food: 300
HP bill: 30

I still got roughly 200 to spare or save up.

So yeah, 1.3k to survive is definitely doable. BUT surviving is diff from living and I wouldn't wanna live like that my whole life.
Dinner I eat outside, usually limit myself to max $5. I usually do lunch prep twice a week and bring to work, once on sunday(prep for mon-wed) and another on wed night (thurs and fri). Eating lunch at work gives me time to relax also, no need go out queue etc.
Ingredients cost for my weekly lunch usually less than $20 a week. Weekend I spend about $10 a day on meals. All in all about 300 a month.

:o:o

guile

Survive can. Just not Swiss std of living lor. Not even the standard of their poor. No 3 meals a day. Max 2, usually 1.5 meals a day.

Breakfast drink coffee/tea plus 1 fruit. Lunch normal portion with plain water. Dinner half portion with plain water.

Eat out means $2 white chicken rice/$2.30 nasi lemak/$1.50 beehoon or kway teow set which comes with egg and hotdog. No grabfood/food panda/food delivery.

Walk instead of taking bus feeder service if its few bus stops away. No grab/taxi.

You won't enjoy living this kinda life, but as long as you don't compare with what others have, you'll survive.

BlurKillerEX

Survive can. Just not Swiss std of living lor. Not even the standard of their poor. No 3 meals a day. Max 2, usually 1.5 meals a day.

Breakfast drink coffee/tea plus 1 fruit. Lunch normal portion with plain water. Dinner half portion with plain water.

Eat out means $2 white chicken rice/$2.30 nasi lemak/$1.50 beehoon or kway teow set which comes with egg and hotdog. No grabfood/food panda/food delivery.

Walk instead of taking bus feeder service if its few bus stops away. No grab/taxi.

You won't enjoy living this kinda life, but as long as you don't compare with what others have, you'll survive.

You're underestimating what you can afford with $1040 if living alone.

mementomori

why cannot?

meals, 15 dollars a day * 30 days = $450

broadband, mobile phone charges smelly smelly $100

washing machine depreciation = $50?

utilities = $50?

still go so much left over.

eAtNeAt

Transport and rental rei. Sick rei.

why cannot?

meals, 15 dollars a day * 30 days = $450

broadband, mobile phone charges smelly smelly $100

washing machine depreciation = $50?

utilities = $50?

still go so much left over.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.