Poly Laptop Advice

Kevin10

Hi All,

Just wanna ask before I proceed to purchase from the school.
My girl will be attending School of Media and Design in 1 of the poly, currently from the poly website, it stated the 3 models as follows:
Acer

$1298.98

Nitro 5 AN515-54​

10th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-10750H processor (up to 5.0GHz, 12MB smart cache)
• Windows 10 Home (64-bit)
• NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1650Ti, 4GB GDDR6 VRAM
15.6” Full HD IPS 144Hz Narrow Border Display
• 8GB DDR4 RAM, 512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD
• Wireless-AX(Wi-Fi 6) Killer Ethernet E2600
• 1 x USB3.2 (Gen 2), 2 x USB3.2 (Gen 1), 1 x USB Type-C (Gen 2), 1x HDMI2.0, 1x RJ45, 1x headphone/speaker jack,1x DC-in jack for AC adapter
• 2.3kg
• 3 Years On-Site Warranty
• Dimension: 363.4(W) x 255(D) x 23.9(H) mm
Asus
TUF Gaming FA506 --- Currently no stock
Lenovo
S$1,282.93

Gaming 3 15IMH
10th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-10750H
(Up to 5.0GHz, 12MB Cache)
Windows 10 Home
NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1650 4GB GDDR6
• 8GB DDR 4 (32GB MAX)
• 512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD
• 15.6" FHD (1920x1080) IPS 250nits
Anti-glare, 60Hz
• Intel® WiFi 6 (802.11 ax) + Bluetooth 5.0
• Backlit Keyboard
• 3 Years On-site Warranty

All 3 comes with some bundles of free bag/external hdd/mouse/headset etc..

Was wondering if I can get something better at retail stores ?

Many thanks

stone1978

Lenovo ideapad game 3 bah. You can almost similar price on Lazada or shopee with 16gb ram.

Henabi

NYP is it?

High chance your girl will need to do a lot of 3D rendering, Visual effects, Animation etc... so a few things very important

1) CPU
at least Intel 10th gen i7 or AMD Ryzen 4800H

Right now, Intel 11th gen i7 and AMD Ryzen 5000H series are out

2) GPU
At least GTX 1660 Ti (Mobile)

Right now the latest RTX 3060, 3070, 3080 (Mobile) are out

3) RAM
at least 32GB
SODIMM DDR4, 3200MHz
Avoid LPDDR4 (it stands for low-power)

4) Storage
At least 1TB. 512GB is bare minimum

5) IPS Display panel
at least sRGB colour accuracy 95%

considering to the specs to handle 3D rendering, visual effects, animation, the recommended laptops from the school is just the BARE minimum....

It is also important to consider that your girl will be using the laptop for the next 3 years in Poly and probably another 2 - 3 yrs after she graduate, so...its better to invest in a really good gaming laptop with at least 3 years of Premium tech support.

If you can afford around 3K then there are many options available on Lazada and Shopee

SpecialKeyboardService

Lenovo ideapad game 3 bah. You can almost similar price on Lazada or shopee with 16gb ram.

Lenovo legion 5 min. Ask for discount code. Minimize the ram slot and ssd storage. If possible upgrade yourself the ram and ssd

If want reliability, can go for thinkpad p series
Or dell precision lineup

Kevin10

NYP is it?

High chance your girl will need to do a lot of 3D rendering, Visual effects, Animation etc... so a few things very important

1) CPU
at least Intel 10th gen i7 or AMD Ryzen 4800H

Right now, Intel 11th gen i7 and AMD Ryzen 5000H series are out

2) GPU
At least GTX 1660 Ti (Mobile)

Right now the latest RTX 3060, 3070, 3080 (Mobile) are out

3) RAM
at least 32GB
SODIMM DDR4, 3200MHz
Avoid LPDDR4 (it stands for low-power)

4) Storage
At least 1TB. 512GB is bare minimum

5) IPS Display panel
at least sRGB colour accuracy 95%

considering to the specs to handle 3D rendering, visual effects, animation, the recommended laptops from the school is just the BARE minimum....

It is also important to consider that your girl will be using the laptop for the next 3 years in Poly and probably another 2 - 3 yrs after she graduate, so...its better to invest in a really good gaming laptop with at least 3 years of Premium tech support.

If you can afford around 3K then there are many options available on Lazada and Shopee

Lenovo legion 5 min. Ask for discount code. Minimize the ram slot and ssd storage. If possible upgrade yourself the ram and ssd

If want reliability, can go for thinkpad p series
Or dell precision lineup

Many thanks guys for your kind replies , yesterday I went looking around and saw this model,

ASUS Vivobook Gaming F571LI-AL273T​

Any comments on this ?

Most likely will be getting this due to its design and also the specs are suitable.

SpecialKeyboardService

Many thanks guys for your kind replies , yesterday I went looking around and saw this model,

ASUS Vivobook Gaming F571LI-AL273T​

Any comments on this ?

Most likely will be getting this due to its design and also the specs are suitable.
Asus after repair service very cui.
There is people send laptop to fix, the technician damage the laptop and his warranty kena void.

Got one video the amdk louis rossman pur water onto the p50 thinkpad still can get free motherboard replacement.

T15g/p thinkpad
Precision lineup for a piece of mind.

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
You can consider looking at Aftershock offerings or other reputable gaming series.

A gaming laptop is quite versatile for a lot of applications -- in Computer science, Engineering and Arts -- with typically better thermal dissipation solutions*
Naturally the downside would be the weight as you will be lugging about a 2.5kg laptop + a bulky power brick.

*It is highly dependent on configuration and model, but in general gaming laptops have dual fans / unique cooling solutions for sustained gaming.

Kevin10

T15g/p thinkpad

You can consider looking at Aftershock offerings or other reputable gaming series.

A gaming laptop is quite versatile for a lot of applications -- in Computer science, Engineering and Arts -- with typically better thermal dissipation solutions*
Naturally the downside would be the weight as you will be lugging about a 2.5kg laptop + a bulky power brick.

*It is highly dependent on configuration and model, but in general gaming laptops have dual fans / unique cooling solutions for sustained gaming.

Thanks for your kind inputs ,but sorry , I forget to say that my girl is only into the Poly Foundation programme and we dont have such big budget for now, so will be getting a 1K+ laptop for her to prepare for her school as of now.

Sorry that I did not mention the budget earlier on, but really thanks and appreciate you guys for your kind inputs. Many thanks.

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
Thanks for your kind inputs ,but sorry , I forget to say that my girl is only into the Poly Foundation programme and we dont have such big budget for now, so will be getting a 1K+ laptop for her to prepare for her school as of now.

Sorry that I did not mention the budget earlier on, but really thanks and appreciate you guys for your kind inputs. Many thanks.
No worries. Do check out the ThinkPad thread here on the forums. There are often good lobangs there with voucher codes. 1k is an acceptable figure.

I would think that a MacBook ($1.3/4K) could be good as well since she will be in design.

Kevin10

No worries. Do check out the ThinkPad thread here on the forums. There are often good lobangs there with voucher codes. 1k is an acceptable figure.

I would think that a MacBook ($1.3/4K) could be good as well since she will be in design.

For Macbook, I scare she might not get used to it though, and if theres problems, I cant help much as I am more a Windows person. haha. And thanks for the Thinkpad thread, I will go take a look.

Henabi

The Asus Vivobook seems alright.
one of the 8GB is soldered to the motherboard, which means the 2nd slot can upgrade in the future, probably up to 24GB ram if required.

The storage can further upgrade to a bigger one like 1TB or 2TB in the future if needed

Still, I would recommend not to just look at the Poly PFP...
iirc the Poly PFP is just one year... after that, it will be linked to the Main Poly Diploma course, which is 3 years.
So, technically speaking, you should be looking at 1 year + 3 years, total 4 years, as your overall consideration.

understand that you have budget constraint. you can consider getting a 2nd hand gaming laptop.

For Macbook, I scare she might not get used to it though, and if theres problems, I cant help much as I am more a Windows person. haha. And thanks for the Thinkpad thread, I will go take a look.

for graphic design, photoshop, using mac is ok...

but if it is for 3D modelling, Animation, VFX, like Maya, Zbrush, Houdini, Nuke... personally I would not recommend Mac. I will still stick to Windows

Kevin10

one of the 8GB is soldered to the motherboard, which means the 2nd slot can upgrade in the future, probably up to 24GB ram if required.

The storage can further upgrade to a bigger one like 1TB or 2TB in the future if needed

iirc the Poly PFP is just one year... after that, it will be linked to the Main Poly Diploma course, which is 3 years.
So, technically speaking, you should be looking at 1 year + 3 years, total 4 years, as your overall consideration.

understand that you have budget constraint. you can consider getting a 2nd hand gaming laptop.

Many thanks. I was planning to see how she fare in the PFP first and maybe a year or 2 more, if its time to upgrade, I will upgrade for her and I will takeover this. And in the meantime, I will get a better specs PC for home purpose in case she needed to do her projects and also for my own usage/gaming.

Henabi

Many thanks. I was planning to see how she fare in the PFP first and maybe a year or 2 more, if its time to upgrade, I will upgrade for her and I will takeover this. And in the meantime, I will get a better specs PC for home purpose in case she needed to do her projects and also for my own usage/gaming.
aiseh!!!

i see what you are trying to do there 😏

Kevin10

aiseh!!!

i see what you are trying to do there 😏

Hahaha, no lah. Is bcoz I need to see how she fare in the course first, you know la.. sometimes might lose interest in the course and also technology keep changing, so is better to buy 1 affordable one first, and then we will see what happens in the future. For the PC wise, dont think too much, hahaha , I am more a PS4 gamer, but is just that in case something better is needed , at least still got a backup PC. haha... mai think too much bro.

Henabi

so true for the 1st part....
scared its those "3-min interest"

SpecialKeyboardService

What modules are covered in pfp btw?
From what i heard from my pfp friends, it all about writing and math foundation,iirc.
Take pfp and follow up with ur daughter whether interest/aptitude still the same or not?

Kevin10

What modules are covered in pfp btw?
From what i heard from my pfp friends, it all about writing and math foundation,iirc.
Take pfp and follow up with ur daughter whether interest/aptitude still the same or not?

TBH, I am not really sure though, but I did call up the school and asked if PFP requires the specific laptop models stated and I was told yes, thus no choice, have to follow , if not later have to buy again.

eeLsinneD

I am a designer myself. And I have been searching for a new laptop to replace my dying 12-year-old ACER the past couple of months.

I am agreeable with Henabi's recommendations. Though his recommendation of 32gb is a bit rare, unless probably you have to specifically upgrade the RAM upon request, but 16gb is enough for design and multimedia purposes.

As a design student (I came from NAFA), we were taught in classes to use Macs. And when you come out to work, 98% of the companies out there (advertising, desktop publishing, printing, design houses etc) using Macs.

I personally don't like Apple, but when it comes to work, no choice. Out of office, my choice is still Windows.

Just telling you what the expectations of her future employers are, as many jobstreet and jobsdb ads do indicate "Mac working environment" as a requirement.

Anyway, back to topic, I am wondering are the gaming laptops your choices or your girl's? Because gaming laptops tend to be bulky and heavy. Unless your girl is a dragonboat rower or aspiring to be Jojo Sinclair, I think it would be a hassle for her to lug it around on the long run. Carrying it on arm to act young (like me) will feel tiresome (My Acer Aspire 14" was considered slim in those times, a tad thicker than ultrabooks now, and I can also feel the strain carrying it last time, to the extent during weekdays I rather leave the laptop in office instead of bringing it home), and putting it at the backpack is a strain on the shoulders.

My girlfriend, who has a 13" Dell, which is a latest model, still considered it heavy and I would be the one carrying for her every time we meet, until recently she got herself an iPad Pro and she ditched her laptop at home :rolleyes:

So form factor and weight plays a part. If she doesn't mind training her biceps, then gaming laptop is ok.

Another thing to point out - she has to figure out what design she is going for. If it is just 3D and mutlimedia related, a normal laptop is enough.

If she is doing more on illustration, playing around with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator for sketching, she might be interested in a 2 in 1 convertible which comes with stylus so that she can draw on the screen rather than have to buy a Wacom tablet as extra accessory?

Sad to say, she might need at least a 14" laptop, because from what I know, a lot of 13" are too small to have space for dedicated graphic card slot. Though now they advertise that Iris XE graphics can handle Photoshop and video editing etc lah, but I cannot comment because I am using Intel UHD Graphics.

Iris XE benchmark score is more than 200% better than Intel UHD. Still, a dedicated graphic card is recommended, if you don't want 13" laptops.

You also will need to double check if the RAM of the particular model your girl is aiming is soldered on or not. If it is soldered on, it means you cannot upgrade the RAM in the future. So you gotta choose the spec with the highest RAM they can offer you to 'future-proof" it.

That being said, those I mentioned should not be a trouble for the gaming laptops you are aiming for, as they confirm have graphic card and upgradeable RAM options.

I am just telling you the pros and cons between choosing whether you want a Mac/Win, Slim/Bulky, Stylus support touchscreen ones.

It is also good that when you have the models in mind, you Google for reviews and also go youtube and find video reviews for the pros and cons. Every machines sure have flaws. You just have to weigh the differences and choose.

For me, I ultimately settled with a laptop with these specs:

- 13.3" screen
(I tried Lenovo's 15" Yoga. Though it had a dedicated graphic card, but the size was too big and heavy for me to hold on 1 hand in tablet mode when I need to draw or write. So NO)

- Touchscreen.
Better to illustrate with natural line strokes rather than even lines. Having to buy a Wacom tablet is a an extra load of accessory to lug around as well.

- Rechargeable Active stylus. WITH A PEN GARAGE
A lot of models offer active stylus, but they are mostly battery operated. The thing about this is, THEY ARE AAAA BATTERIES. Friggin hard to find. Need a dedicated space to keep the stylus also, else will lose it. My tablet stylus uses AAAA battery, and I have lost altogether 3 of them because no dedicated space to hold them.

- 512gb SSD
not enough budget to buy 1TB. Luckily got mircoSD card slot for me to use as expansion like how we do for tablets and smartphones.

- miroSD card slot
not just for memory expansion, but because many devices these days use microSD (phones, tablets, cameras etc), it is for easy file transfer

- Thunderbolt 3
can use for charging power and video connection using USB Type C. Like that no need to bring the standard bulky charger with thick cable out. I bought a 65W GaN PD charger using a 3meter USB type C charging cable. Works fine. Can use it to charge my phone, tablet etc too). And yeat, you can use your tablet as a powerbank with Thunderbolt 3 port too)

The rest are the standard stuff like USB port, microphone jack, HDMI output etc which are good to have but not essential, though USB port is still very much a safe option.

Hope you can help your girl get her dream machine!

Kevin10

I am a designer myself. And I have been searching for a new laptop to replace my dying 12-year-old ACER the past couple of months.

I am agreeable with Henabi's recommendations. Though his recommendation of 32gb is a bit rare, unless probably you have to specifically upgrade the RAM upon request, but 16gb is enough for design and multimedia purposes.

As a design student (I came from NAFA), we were taught in classes to use Macs. And when you come out to work, 98% of the companies out there (advertising, desktop publishing, printing, design houses etc) using Macs.

I personally don't like Apple, but when it comes to work, no choice. Out of office, my choice is still Windows.

Just telling you what the expectations of her future employers are, as many jobstreet and jobsdb ads do indicate "Mac working environment" as a requirement.

Anyway, back to topic, I am wondering are the gaming laptops your choices or your girl's? Because gaming laptops tend to be bulky and heavy. Unless your girl is a dragonboat rower or aspiring to be Jojo Sinclair, I think it would be a hassle for her to lug it around on the long run. Carrying it on arm to act young (like me) will feel tiresome (My Acer Aspire 14" was considered slim in those times, a tad thicker than ultrabooks now, and I can also feel the strain carrying it last time, to the extent during weekdays I rather leave the laptop in office instead of bringing it home), and putting it at the backpack is a strain on the shoulders.

My girlfriend, who has a 13" Dell, which is a latest model, still considered it heavy and I would be the one carrying for her every time we meet, until recently she got herself an iPad Pro and she ditched her laptop at home :rolleyes:

So form factor and weight plays a part. If she doesn't mind training her biceps, then gaming laptop is ok.

Another thing to point out - she has to figure out what design she is going for. If it is just 3D and mutlimedia related, a normal laptop is enough.

If she is doing more on illustration, playing around with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator for sketching, she might be interested in a 2 in 1 convertible which comes with stylus so that she can draw on the screen rather than have to buy a Wacom tablet as extra accessory?

Sad to say, she might need at least a 14" laptop, because from what I know, a lot of 13" are too small to have space for dedicated graphic card slot. Though now they advertise that Iris XE graphics can handle Photoshop and video editing etc lah, but I cannot comment because I am using Intel UHD Graphics.

Iris XE benchmark score is more than 200% better than Intel UHD. Still, a dedicated graphic card is recommended, if you don't want 13" laptops.

You also will need to double check if the RAM of the particular model your girl is aiming is soldered on or not. If it is soldered on, it means you cannot upgrade the RAM in the future. So you gotta choose the spec with the highest RAM they can offer you to 'future-proof" it.

That being said, those I mentioned should not be a trouble for the gaming laptops you are aiming for, as they confirm have graphic card and upgradeable RAM options.

I am just telling you the pros and cons between choosing whether you want a Mac/Win, Slim/Bulky, Stylus support touchscreen ones.

It is also good that when you have the models in mind, you Google for reviews and also go youtube and find video reviews for the pros and cons. Every machines sure have flaws. You just have to weigh the differences and choose.

For me, I ultimately settled with a laptop with these specs:

- 13.3" screen
(I tried Lenovo's 15" Yoga. Though it had a dedicated graphic card, but the size was too big and heavy for me to hold on 1 hand in tablet mode when I need to draw or write. So NO)

- Touchscreen.
Better to illustrate with natural line strokes rather than even lines. Having to buy a Wacom tablet is a an extra load of accessory to lug around as well.

- Rechargeable Active stylus. WITH A PEN GARAGE
A lot of models offer active stylus, but they are mostly battery operated. The thing about this is, THEY ARE AAAA BATTERIES. Friggin hard to find. Need a dedicated space to keep the stylus also, else will lose it. My tablet stylus uses AAAA battery, and I have lost altogether 3 of them because no dedicated space to hold them.

- 512gb SSD
not enough budget to buy 1TB. Luckily got mircoSD card slot for me to use as expansion like how we do for tablets and smartphones.

- miroSD card slot
not just for memory expansion, but because many devices these days use microSD (phones, tablets, cameras etc), it is for easy file transfer

- Thunderbolt 3
can use for charging power and video connection using USB Type C. Like that no need to bring the standard bulky charger with thick cable out. I bought a 65W GaN PD charger using a 3meter USB type C charging cable. Works fine. Can use it to charge my phone, tablet etc too). And yeat, you can use your tablet as a powerbank with Thunderbolt 3 port too)

The rest are the standard stuff like USB port, microphone jack, HDMI output etc which are good to have but not essential, though USB port is still very much a safe option.

Hope you can help your girl get her dream machine!
Wow, such a long post , thanks bro for your kind inputs.

Gaming Laptop is actually not both me and my daughter choice as we still prefer a smaller and lighter laptop as we do understand she need to carry to/fro school and it will be quite a burden, but then from NYP website and a call to the school, haizz.. the choices are limited and the specs must be as per the school requirement or better, thus thats why we are going only for those few models which the GFX is 1650 or higher and within the 1K+ range for the time being.

I do agree that MACs are mostly used in Design company and in future, my daughter might even propose to get a MAC for her own usage, but as of now, we will just stick to the specs requirements as per NYP SDM Architectural course and will see how she fare in the course before we decided on the next upgrade.

But really appreciate your kind post with many thanks.

Intrinion

Senior Moderator

for graphic design, photoshop, using mac is ok...

but if it is for 3D modelling, Animation, VFX, like Maya, Zbrush, Houdini, Nuke... personally I would not recommend Mac. I will still stick to Windows
I see haha! Good info!
Engineering through and through, hence it’s only windows/linux all the way :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.