Poor man's/Dummy's guide to CAR RENTAL!

jazlirocks

Personal experience with Motor Z Car Leasing Pte Ltd x2. http://www.motorzcarleasing.com.sg/

First time experience with them was around end May 2010,
Rented Blue Mit Lancer 1.6A. Collected on Fri, returned on Mon.
Interior: 9/10
Exterior: 9/10
Aircon: 9/10

Comments: It was easy driving a 06' Lancer however I find that the car's suspension was not maintained up to standard I think. I was driving relatively low speed while going over humps but I get very bad bumps even in the front which I do not experience when I'm in my friend's car (same speed over humps). Brakes are reasonable, gears were engaged smoothly throughout the rental and the car came with CD player+FM(reasonable sound considering the age), reverse sensors and remote key. Delivery time was really off what I wanted initially but there were no conflicts in the end with sincere apologies from them. Pumped 1/4 extra tank of petrol for them when returning cause I didn't have good estimation. Free delivery + collection if rental 3days & above.(location wise i not too sure if they don't go certain areas but apparently I do not think so)

Second time experience with them was around end June 2010,
Booked Nissan Sylphy 1.5A last min however previous renter was stuck at M'sia, they exchanged for me a Black Toyota Rush 1.5A. Collected on Fri, returned on Mon.
Interior: 10/10
Exterior: 10/10
Aircon: 10/10

Comments: I was scared of driving it as no experience with a car with high sitting position however after 5mins I got used to it and loved it in fact(more safe i feel.) Suspension wise I feel that it was better than Lancer but it felt a little bumpy probably due to the build of the car as it was higher than normal sedan. Brakes were good, gears good and footbrake was good too! Car came with a GOOD sound system if using CD, it has AUX in too but I did not have a spare 3.5mm-3.5mm for my iPhone. No reverse sensors iirc and no remote key (traditional type of slotting key in the driver door and locking it, I was stuck at carpark for ard 5mins feeling lost on how to lock the car.)

Overall rating for the coy: 8/10 (if not for the timing/punctuality issue which is very important to me as a customer, a good 9/10 for the cust service + cars condition)
Rates: Text Dave/KK in the website. No additional charge for P-Plate(I am one) and no deposit required. P-Platers have limited selection of cars made available for u, I guess it's company policy(pure guessing never ask them.)

gonna rent from them this coming wkends as traveling a lot ard SG again. :) good coy to rent from, highly recommended!
edit: wanted to book a vehicle. it was taken up, i was only notified the next day w another option but i took 2h to confirm as i was still sleeping but it was rented out when i gave confirmation. no other vehicle available, ok this is poor customer service.

thks for sharing :)

uuppzz for more car rental coy recommendations...:D

Trinity54

guys , i need help.
my car is in workshop going through a major project. i took leave which starts on 19th of july till 23th so will be a good 5 days of leave so i can visit different places to gather parts for my car.
but now i need to rent a vehicle so that get around sourcing ,meeting up sellers for parts and stuff and also visit the workshop to see the progress of my ride.

in short i need a vehicle for about 4-5 days starting from tomorrow MORNING.
yes its such a short time notice but who /which company offers a reliable cheap solution for my case? must be as cheap as possible .i only need those below 1.5L car
dun need new plate or watever. if can rent those kanjoo /caddy at lower cost even better!

I also agreed that their service cannot make it. I stand there waited for 15 minutes and no1 come and entertain me. just treat me invisible. I call amanda and she said look for ******. But everyone is busy but at least have the courtesy to tell us to wait for awhile. Amanda said that if you collect late there might be a chance of getting a better car. DONT BELIEF!!! WARNING!!! So i came late and guess what. I WAITED FOR 2 HOURS BEFORE GETTING A LOUSY CAR. Amanda told me that I will be given a SJ car. After being served, waiting for paperwork, they were talking like they got no cars. Then finally after 45 minutes, they told me they choose the cars from the shop front as they only left these cars (Punto btw). I was like. Cheated. Then i very pissed off, telling them that amanda promised me a new car. Then they asked me to wait to 7pm as there will be a SJ car coming back. Guess what. when i return back to the coy at 7pm, and I saw the SJ car and tot going home to have dinner. They told me that the car is not mine, someone else have already paid deposit. I was super pissed off. Waited close to 2 hours and no car. Then they ask me to choose from the fleet. They show me 1 Black punto. Saying that this is the best car they have from their fleet. Trust me, it is worse. after choosing a car, initially they say take and give (compromise) and can delay my car returning to 7pm. Then I waited to 740 plus got car. They asked me whether 7pm return car can? Then i said, you all decide, you should know what you do. Then the guy agreed and walk away and throw the phone onto the table. I was very pissed off.

When returning car, havent even 7pm, 630pm called me. I was driving so my gf pick up the call. They asking me to return the car as they are closing. I was very pissed off. I told my gf that I will call back they later. I called back and say you promised me 730pm. Then the person give me tone. Saying yah yah yah. Very pissed. Return that time so many customers coming in and out say what closing. Bull****.

Morale of the story and my experience, Dont rent from them despite the coy offer very good promotion. Dont belief me, go there and see their car especially their tyres. You do not want to lose control of the car you are renting when you are driving.
almost same experience.. damn ya ya .. avoid them same coy.. same call girl

agree with u..their price is damn cheap,hard to resist,but their service sucks..

i got a bad exp with them..i called and booked a car (fiat punto) but when i came down on the same day,they told the car unavailable..damn unbelievable cos when i called,i was promised that the car is available..WTH..in the end had to take a much more ex car (toyota altis) n they nvr give discount at all..no choice cos it was 9pm already so i just took it..

n guess wat is their excuse? they said that amanda (the person i called) was at HQ (dunno where the hell) and do not know what car is available on the ground..LAME

n true,the car interior not maintained..if u looking to rent a car for an important function,pls consider other car rental companies

bro.. the altis you took is car plate 250*?

V

victorlht88

Orix is really good though you gotta pay a deposit. However car is well maintained and air con is superb!

V

victorlht88

If u stay in the west: Advance Car Rental (branch of Express Car Rental).
http://www.advancecarrental.com.sg/SingaporeFAQ.htm
Service not bad. Only selected car models to m'sia. Call up to check.
:)

Cons: only accept cash.

Pro: Rent out to P-plates (BUT above 23yrs old). :D Oh, no min. requirement of gasoline type to pump in. :D

rented quite a few times from them, the lady boss has a lousy attitude however the guys were nice. Cars were not that well maintained in fact. Rented Latio and Mazda 3 from them, latio had some steering imbalance and mazda had a faulty air con.

They do rent out to P plates as well.

EightTales

is it possible to rent a wrx when the person is below 21 and a p plate? my friend insisted he rented one before at $70?!

yes it's possible.
there are 2 companies that I know rent cars to 18 year olds and p platers at no extra charge. no idea about service cause haven't tried them before. motor z and neo rentals allow. rates quite reasonable too.

V

victorlht88

I also agreed that their service cannot make it. I stand there waited for 15 minutes and no1 come and entertain me. just treat me invisible. I call amanda and she said look for ******. But everyone is busy but at least have the courtesy to tell us to wait for awhile. Amanda said that if you collect late there might be a chance of getting a better car. DONT BELIEF!!! WARNING!!! So i came late and guess what. I WAITED FOR 2 HOURS BEFORE GETTING A LOUSY CAR. Amanda told me that I will be given a SJ car. After being served, waiting for paperwork, they were talking like they got no cars. Then finally after 45 minutes, they told me they choose the cars from the shop front as they only left these cars (Punto btw). I was like. Cheated. Then i very pissed off, telling them that amanda promised me a new car. Then they asked me to wait to 7pm as there will be a SJ car coming back. Guess what. when i return back to the coy at 7pm, and I saw the SJ car and tot going home to have dinner. They told me that the car is not mine, someone else have already paid deposit. I was super pissed off. Waited close to 2 hours and no car. Then they ask me to choose from the fleet. They show me 1 Black punto. Saying that this is the best car they have from their fleet. Trust me, it is worse. after choosing a car, initially they say take and give (compromise) and can delay my car returning to 7pm. Then I waited to 740 plus got car. They asked me whether 7pm return car can? Then i said, you all decide, you should know what you do. Then the guy agreed and walk away and throw the phone onto the table. I was very pissed off.

When returning car, havent even 7pm, 630pm called me. I was driving so my gf pick up the call. They asking me to return the car as they are closing. I was very pissed off. I told my gf that I will call back they later. I called back and say you promised me 730pm. Then the person give me tone. Saying yah yah yah. Very pissed. Return that time so many customers coming in and out say what closing. Bull****.

Morale of the story and my experience, Dont rent from them despite the coy offer very good promotion. Dont belief me, go there and see their car especially their tyres. You do not want to lose control of the car you are renting when you are driving.

hmm i beg to differ, rented from amanda quite a few times. i rented punto cause it was really cheap at $55/day. Where to get such a good deal right?

Fast forward to one experience. As usual, took the punto out for 3 days, it was fine first day. However, 2nd night trouble came. The engine had some overheating problem (something to do with the cooler) and the car would overheat every 15minutes.

Called amanda and made a big fuss. She told me to drive back to their coy and by then it was already 7.30pm when i reached. Initially, I was stuck at hougang (their coy is at commonwealth now). Had to pray like a ***** along expressway that the damn car doesn't explode or break down esp it was peak period. Called them and asked if they can send someone down to hougang to pass me a replacement car. (One of their workers called me and said no staff member, all out blahblahblah). Bo bian, had to drive all the way back on my own and they were calling me every 15mins to check where am I. At their coy, when i reversed i smashed one of their triangles too. (Yeah right, all their staff were slacking around and enjoying a smoke, what rubbish?!) :s22:

In the end, got a replacement punto which was slightly better and air con was working. Maintenance was still as ya ya papaya, can't expect much.

Thats my experience. Rented a vios from them before while they were still at turf club and it was good but punto is really a crap car so don't expect too much at that kind of price!

I would recommend Orix, they are really good and kinda flexible with the return timing since they have plenty of cars amongst their fleet.

Altis at $70 with deposit of $500-$1000. But you get quality stuff! :s13:

Trinity54

guys , i need help.
my car is in workshop going through a major project. i took leave which starts on 19th of july till 23th so will be a good 5 days of leave so i can visit different places to gather parts for my car.
but now i need to rent a vehicle so that get around sourcing ,meeting up sellers for parts and stuff and also visit the workshop to see the progress of my ride.

in short i need a vehicle for about 4-5 days starting from tomorrow MORNING.
yes its such a short time notice but who /which company offers a reliable cheap solution for my case? must be as cheap as possible .i only need those below 1.5L car
dun need new plate or watever. if can rent those kanjoo /caddy at lower cost even better!

as quoted above , both my rides was in workshop going through major project and rebuilt and took about 5 weeks in total.

called up advanced car rental which is situated at bukit gombak reason being its the nearest to my place.initially rented a really beat up toyota vios from them for 3 days to try out. i would not commend on the condition of the car as i merely need a ride to and from work and also going to workshops gathering parts.
on the 3rd day of rental , i called them up and ask if i could extend the rental.there is chinese guy who answered my call and told me he would call me back.i think he should be the plump chinese guy from the gombak branch.i waited and waited until the next day which i should return the ride but still no news from him.so i called him again and he said sorry no more slots.ended up i have to rent from another company and rent a week.when i return the vios to advanced car rentals, everything was fine and no issues at all.i returned the vehicle without damaging it , pumped to the fuel mark when i 1st rent it and i don't even smoke in the car.and the car was only used to travel to work in jurong , to tagore lane workshop , to amk autopoint a couple of times and i don't even drive it out at night or whatsoever.

on the 2nd week , i called up advanced car rental again , trying to get a slot to rent a vehicle for 7 days. again that chinese guy picked up . i told him i rent from them before and i was hoping to rent again . he said ok can and arrange me to pick up the nissan sunny from them. the nxt day, he called me saying the vehicle was already prebooked by someone else as his colleague failed to inform him. gosh...

on the 3rd week , again i called them up again and same person picked up(yes i know i should be slapped by giving them so many chances).
and once again he agreed and i should be collecting the vios the next day.
after serveral hours which is about 7pm, he called me back again saying they made a mistake again . this time round i questioned him asking how can they run a business this way.
then he told me its actually the instructions from his boss to refuse any rental of vehicles to me.i was like wtf..
when i ask again what were the issues and he said its due to some personal reasons.
really bad business ethics and its not asif i bang their sisters or gfs or wife or whatever .if they not wish to rent it to me due to whatever f reasons , they should just tell me no vehicles available . everything last min then they inform me. where to find vehicles on such short notice??really a rubbish company.

AVOID ADVANCED CAR RENTALS.

domdomino

Pretty traumatic experience. Perhaps we should put good ones here...

i ytd rented a Mitsubishi lancer Glx from Motor Z leasing.

service wasnt so bad after all. just that abit far for me to collect the car..

car condition rate it 8/10. Air con isnt that cold and tyre abit wear off . but so far , satisfied.

spykid

I've rented from motor z twice, so far so good. Car condition wise can't hiam cos it's cheap.

Advanced car rental way of doing things is feck up that i agree.

Trinity54

I've rented from motor z twice, so far so good. Car condition wise can't hiam cos it's cheap.

Advanced car rental way of doing things is feck up that i agree.

precisely. and i can assure you guys that when i rent a vehicle , i am very very chin chai about it . as long as car is reliable , got 4 wheels and workable i am fine with it.
i don't need to rent new plate or shiny new car or new car models in order to impress others .but i chin chai with them they just want to mess everything up.

ironiioxide

I rented from MotorZ as well. Rented a Civic 1.8L from them and I'm pretty satisfied, though they must brush up on their punctuality. Brakes are pretty worn off and the left front blinker is blown, so the next time when you guys rent from them do a check =)

lyo&merly

I rented from MotorZ as well. Rented a Civic 1.8L from them and I'm pretty satisfied, though they must brush up on their punctuality. Brakes are pretty worn off and the left front blinker is blown, so the next time when you guys rent from them do a check =)

any one got lobang for cheap car rental for pplate <21yo?
called eazi but their prices increase liao. no longer the price stated in sgcarmart.

domdomino

any one got lobang for cheap car rental for pplate <21yo?
called eazi but their prices increase liao. no longer the price stated in sgcarmart.

Motor Z leasing la...

they accept 21 and below and P-platers also. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.