Post your rig!

RockaRolla

My humble rig.

iPod 5G + Pico Amp/DAC + Plexcio Performance LOD + Westone ES5 / ATH-ESW9

One happy family. Very satisfied owner.

rk80gj.jpg

hey guan22, how much did the ES5 cost in S$? cant seem to find the price on westone website :s11:

asphyxiation

Perhaps you should PM him your question. There's an authorised dealer, Thinking Group, in Singapore who will take care of the entire process of getting your ES5's.

asphyxiation

Hey! haha, yeah I realised after seeing your rig. : D I'm waiting for my 16's to arrive before I post anything. ): after seeing all those pictures I feel inferior with my Fiio E1's. But no $$ liao!

selfa89

Hey! haha, yeah I realised after seeing your rig. : D I'm waiting for my 16's to arrive before I post anything. ): after seeing all those pictures I feel inferior with my Fiio E1's. But no $$ liao!

Same here, i am saving up for a SM3 / Westone 3, don't know which one better leh haha, And JH16 for me is still a distant ultimate dream goal lol, Btw how much does the JH16-PRO costs in SGD?

asphyxiation

I haven't heard the W3's but I'll be biased a bit here and say the SM3's are really very good as universal IEMs, I know I love mine haha. I'll PM you the price for 16's.

selfa89

Second that!

SM3 is really good. :D

Haha actually i am also more interested in SM3 too, But Westone 3 doesn't drops my interest too.. urgh! Maybe when i apply to work at Stereo in 1~2 months time (IF the confirmation of me flunking JYP Auditions fulfiled) i shall use the work time to listen to them as much as possible (at least the WE3 haha)

stan91

Haha actually i am also more interested in SM3 too, But Westone 3 doesn't drops my interest too.. urgh! Maybe when i apply to work at Stereo in 1~2 months time (IF the confirmation of me flunking JYP Auditions fulfiled) i shall use the work time to listen to them as much as possible (at least the WE3 haha)

Think you will prefer sm3 to w3 more. ahahha. I tested both as well. W3 is good as well, just that i feel SM3's overall presentation is fuller and better.

Koelsch

My humble rig.

iPod 5G + Pico Amp/DAC + Plexcio Performance LOD + Westone ES5 / ATH-ESW9

One happy family. Very satisfied owner.

rk80gj.jpg

woot first es5 i have seen >.<

how does this compare with other universal earphones like westone um3x and such? would love to hear your opinions :)

Guan22

woot first es5 i have seen >.<

how does this compare with other universal earphones like westone um3x and such? would love to hear your opinions :)

The SQ is similar to UM3X with a few differences.

ES5 is not as dark as UM3X. Using JH13 as a reference, ES5 is very slightly warmer, but I muz stress; only slightly. Compared to UM3X, the clarity, details and transparency is clearly better.

The bass is not as muddy as UM3X. Despite only having a bass driver, I feel the bass is not lacking and is very tight. The glorious Westone mids is still present and more details and clarity can be heard when compared to UM3X. The highs are very crisp and sparkly. I personally feel that the highs and the bass are the biggest differences when comparing ES5 and UM3X.

To my ears, ES5 clearly trumps UM3X in all aspects. The built quality is also fantastic. No scratches on the surface and bubbles within the shell. I can't give any higher praise to ES5. Westone has a very satisfied customer in me.

asphyxiation

Oops... LOL
Good things muz share mah...
And it's really good, if pit against the more expensive and heralded JH13, ES5 definitely holds its own.

Greetings from head-fi as well! : D It seems, together with the JH's, and in the department of universal IEM's the SM3s, the ES5's are the new 'best things since sliced bread'! Haha. If only I had the $$, I'd order the ES5's just to compare with the JH16's. Poisonous hobby.. ):

asphyxiation

How bout ES5 vs JH16PRO??? Which one is better? o_O

So far, I haven't known anyone to have both. You give me money I order my ES5 laa.. HAHA. joking. I've seen quite a number of people though, preferring the ES5's to JH13's. I've also seen quite a number of people preferring the 16s & 13's to the ES5's. Best solution? Order both yourself and find out! Haha. But it's my opinion that at this level of performance, it's down to subjective listening already.

Tian__Cai

My portable "chuck it aside" rig.

headportrig.jpg

Source: Samsung Galaxy S

DAC: Internal samsung galaxy s wolfson WM8994 codec :) http://www.wolfsonmicro.com/products/audio_hubs/WM8994/

Portable amp: Xenos XOHA-REP (E.O.L.)(still going strong)=:p

Interconnect: El-Cheapo Thin Wire:s22:

Earphone: ATH-CKP300

My Home "Kick it aside" Rig.

headhomerig.jpg

Source: DIY PC

Amp/DAC: Citypulse DA 2.03e

Interconnect: USB Cable/Hospital grade powerplug :s11: and stiff cord.

Earphone: AKG K701

probably the first phone to support flac~! I used to connect amp to SGS, but I have problem answering calls... Either plug out everything, or bring the whole chunk to your face and speak. :s22:

SiaoKau369

And with a removable sd card and 2 batteries you could enjoy lossless music the whole day long:).

Answering call is not a problem cause the amp has a clip which i hang on my
jeans/trousers/shorths connected to a meter of interconnect (the elchaepo thin wire:look:) to my phone in the pocket(plus dangling interconnect). See below.....

portablecall.jpg

ur amp where chiu hoot sia?

rickysio

probably the first phone to support flac~! I used to connect amp to SGS, but I have problem answering calls... Either plug out everything, or bring the whole chunk to your face and speak. :s22:

I'm pretty sure my N900 supports flac, so yah... The hordes of WinMo, Symbian etc phones also should support flac, ya know.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.