Post your rig!

FatalethaL

I get people asking if the amp is a battery all the time, and I mean like really all the time, till i decided to stop answering questions.

LOL

And you guys should see their faces when I tell them my ES5 cost $1.5k.
Their facial expressions are PRICELESS.

LOL SAME SIA HAHAHA! PPLE ALSO ASK ME SAME THING!

but when they ask how much my merlin cost, i say i won them, but i think its around more tahn 1k to 1.2k?

they go :s31::s31::s31::s31::s31::s31:

Guan22

Audio is a hobby that is so hard to justify. Photography is probably easier to justify for normal people as they at least get to see the photographs.

RockaRolla

I do get some weird stares too haha, some even do a double-take. Some of my friends who knows abit about iems but not amps, also ask whether my stepdance is battery LOL

Audio is a hobby that is so hard to justify. Photography is probably easier to justify for normal people as they at least get to see the photographs.

Agreed, Im into both but the reactions to the amount spent were vastly different. When people heard my portable rig cost more than 2k, they go wtf! can hear can already what...but when they heard my dslr setup cost more than 2k, they say ya lor can understand, but you get godlike pictures, lol -.-''

Actually everybody got their own hobbies, but dont criticise can already, like i got some guai lan friends, keep on kp say i siao, my ears and customs made of gold ar, spend 2k+, must shall give them...funny thing is, some of them their hobby is collecting toys and miniatures, yet I dont see myself saying them for wasting money buying things to be put on display only

Would cross the $1.5k border with ear impressions.

I'm hoping the incoming Moon Audio Silver Dragon would be sufficient enough for me to withdraw the interest check.

btw, why you selling your ES5? found something better? haha:D

Guan22

Haha.. Agreed. Everyone has hobbies. Audio as a hobby is actually very taxing on the wallet. I should know. I've been through several amps. Lucky that I'm more or less settled.

Nah, backside itchy. Yearning for a different sound signature. Actually best signature for me now is EX-1000. It has a soundstage to die for. The clarity and details are astounding; it's a dynamic driver iem that behaves like it's BA bethren. It's mind boggling!

ckryan3

Finally got round to taking a pic of my rig... so... ta da
311759_2362728434892_1450782277_2626755_1419826613_n.jpg

Sorry it's a little grainy and stuff

Um.. right, Portable headphones at the back are the Aiaiai TMA-01
1. White mp3 player is a Sansa Fuze with a DIY LOD
2. mp3 player on top of the portable amp is the Teclast T51 (Mio!!)
3. Portable amp under the T51 is the iBasso PB2 (balanced portable amp, also used for desktop rig, since it has enough juice to power everything under the sun, HE-6 included apparently)
4. DAC which the amp and players are sitting on is the Matrix Mini (got it cuz it has balanced output, and is good and cheap, which suits my needs really well.)
5. Big headphones are the HD650s, but inside a HD600 shell. The white thing covering the left driver is tissue paper btw (as y'all can see happy using stock cable with balanced termination)
6. Stage93 Stage6, with balanced terminated Silver Dragon (ANGEL BEATS!!)
7. DIY interconnect using Homegrownaudio silver hook-up cable
8. Triplefi (I use the balanced Silver Dragon with it too)
9. An Acorn.

Koelsch

Mind listing them? Lol...

hd600 with hd650 drivers with stock cables terminated with hirose plugs. stage6 ( 6 drivers ) custom iem with silver dragon terminated with hirose. ibasso pb2. nationite sflo2. Sansa fuze with LOD. triple fi 10pro. matrix dac/amp.

I'm his mother :s34:

Guan22

Ah boy ar! Clean up your workstation ar! It's so messy!

Just kidding, guys...

ckryan3

hd600 with hd650 drivers with stock cables terminated with hirose plugs. stage6 ( 6 drivers ) custom iem with silver dragon terminated with hirose. ibasso pb2. nationite sflo2. Sansa fuze with LOD. triple fi 10pro. matrix dac/amp.

I'm his mother :s34:

So mum, whut's for dinner tonight?
(provided somewhat more detailed listing below the pic now btw)

Guan22

That's a quality looking acorn...

Gawd, I feel like Scrat now...

Randius

Audio as a hobby is actually very taxing on the wallet.

Luckily for me, audio as hobby is a lot less expensive than when I am all into photography. Perhaps because I don't wanna touch amps and desktop/home setup.

LOLWUT

I get people asking if the amp is a battery all the time, and I mean like really all the time, till i decided to stop answering questions.

LOL

And you guys should see their faces when I tell them my ES5 cost $1.5k.
Their facial expressions are PRICELESS.

At least u dont get ppl asking "your that earphone better or beats better har? i tink beats lo!1".....

FatalethaL

At least u dont get ppl asking "your that earphone better or beats better har? i tink beats lo!1".....

lol this question also very common for me... haiz~

i always like to say, Beats is like, here goes my analogy~ tat i always reply..

U wan to look for thai girl tonite, and she looks *your positive description insert here*

so u ask her how much, so she say $$$$$

then u think wah so ex~ then nvm, since charge so much, service sure good, so chio leh~

but once session start... u sian 1/2 coz she's like a dead fish.

then i say, my 1 free one, and still gifs me the orgasm. objective met. :s13::s13::s13::s13:

ckryan3

lol this question also very common for me... haiz~

i always like to say, Beats is like, here goes my analogy~ tat i always reply..

U wan to look for thai girl tonite, and she looks *your positive description insert here*

so u ask her how much, so she say $$$$$

then u think wah so ex~ then nvm, since charge so much, service sure good, so chio leh~

but once session start... u sian 1/2 coz she's like a dead fish.

then i say, my 1 free one, and still gifs me the orgasm. objective met. :s13::s13::s13::s13:

That's... a pretty damn good analogy... I quote u on my fb u mind 'not?

Koelsch

HAHAHAH!

i was chatting with a female friend ( secondary school school mate ) and her younger brother actually owns a audeze lcd2 at the age of 14.

so she said... "why does a 14year old guy need such an expensive headphone...?"

so i replied her... "how much does one of your bags costs...?"

she replied... "abit over a thousand..."

and i mentioned... "so how many do you have?"

hahahaha :x

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.