Power button malfunctioning. Should I change CPU Casing?

chevalier88

Power button malfunctioning. Should I change Computer Casing?

Hey guys, recently my power button is not working as intended even after switching the power switch to restart switch same problem occurs.

It takes me like 5-10 mins each time to boot up my PC after shutting it down, so it's really quite frustrating to keep pressing the button every now and then to boot up my PC.

Should I get myself a new Computer Casing or just get power switch replacement on ebay/alibaba/taobao or lazada?

chevalier88

test your motherboard power/reset pin first...

yup swapped from power to restart switch now the restart button also same problem.

Used restart button as power on for a week.. but only worked for a week or so.

kracie17

Hey guys, recently my power button is not working as intended even after switching the power switch to restart switch same problem occurs.

It takes me like 5-10 mins each time to boot up my PC after shutting it down, so it's really quite frustrating to keep pressing the button every now and then to boot up my PC.

Should I get myself a new CPU Casing or just get power switch replacement on ebay/alibaba/taobao or lazada?

you mentioned after swapping your reset switch with your power switch and still having difficulty turning on immediately, assuming your reset switch isnt used as often as your power switch; shouldn't you look at your motherboard or psu?

chevalier88

you mentioned after swapping your reset switch with your power switch and still having difficulty turning on immediately, assuming your reset switch isnt used as often as your power switch; shouldn't you look at your motherboard or psu?

I think I used the restart button as power on for a couple of weeks or so then same problem again.

kracie17

I think I used the restart button as power on for a couple of weeks or so then same problem again.

unlikely for a switch to spoil so fast unless your casing is so old. but do check your psu.. btw, what psu brand and model are you using?

localITguy

buy a cheapo switch and drill a hole and run the wire and stick the replacement switch

changing a case just because of a faulty switch is a waste of time and money.

u should try shorting out ur pins and see if it works. as u said reset/pw switch not working

maybe ur pin faulty

short out manually for a few days and see if it turns on. if it is then go get a new switch

chevalier88

that don look too old.. power supply don seem to be any issue iirc. do you happen to have a spare psu? try swapping and see if it still persist.

unfortunately, I don't have a spare psu to test. Hmm could it be motherboard pin issue? or I've gotten a defective PC casing?

kracie17

unfortunately, I don't have a spare psu to test. Hmm could it be motherboard pin issue? or I've gotten a defective cpu casing?

defective casing? you got this brand new? motherboard pin issue could be possible. try powering on by shorting them without using switch.. see if it powers instantly..

LDTXR2

71T%2Bj35YzQL._SY524_.jpg

This is a CPU casing.

11-133-335-V16.jpg

This is a computer case. :s22:

chevalier88

defective casing? you got this brand new? motherboard pin issue could be possible. try powering on by shorting them without using switch.. see if it powers instantly..

I gotten it 2-3years ago too for this Computer Casing. I will try the next time when I shut down my PC.

Don't really dare to shut down now because it took me 5-10 mins to power it up earlier lol..

dreamyxq

Vey unlikely for a switch to spoil leh.. even more unlikely both power and reset switch spoil together at the same time.

It may be the other components. Symptoms of dying soon liao.

Kiwi8

If u dun mind the ugly aesthetics u can just buy a cheap switch from ebay or aliexpress for usd 1 and connect it to the motherboard power switch pins, and route it outside via one of the vent holes of the casing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.