Power Supply shortage upcoming....

MagixuserII

With the release of the new Power Guzzling graphics card from Nvidia and Amd, lots of PC upgraders will need to upgrade their power supply. Not to mention the advent of WFH and on-line classes, people are buying PCs like never before. So expect shortage of PSU especially the high end models (750w upwards).

watzup_ken

I feel this is fake news. PSU shortage is already there in the first place because of supply disruptions due to COVID. Which is why PSU prices have gone up.

While I agree that there will be a round of people upgrading PSU for higher power components, the vast majority of people don't care much about what components are in the PC. How many people in this world will buy a RTX 3080/ 3090 for example?

And the mention of WFH and online classes, aren't all these already in place since the first quarter of the year? People that needed a PC for WFH and online classes have likely already gotten one, and not wait for year end sale. :s22:

jrwong84

Premium psu can use 10 years sia so never save $ on psu others part can save psu die die cannot save why? Easy 10 years warranty. I always build my new rig with good psu current using 750W superflower

limpingsim98

I feel this is fake news. PSU shortage is already there in the first place because of supply disruptions due to COVID. Which is why PSU prices have gone up.

While I agree that there will be a round of people upgrading PSU for higher power components, the vast majority of people don't care much about what components are in the PC. How many people in this world will buy a RTX 3080/ 3090 for example?

And the mention of WFH and online classes, aren't all these already in place since the first quarter of the year? People that needed a PC for WFH and online classes have likely already gotten one, and not wait for year end sale. :s22:

Many use covid-19 as a reason to adjust the price up. Not to forget demand is also lower.

watzup_ken

Many use covid-19 as a reason to adjust the price up. Not to forget demand is also lower.

COVID 19 saw a lot of people scrambling to get a PC or laptop because with family members all working or studying from home, there may be a lack of PCs at home for everyone to use. But it’s more than 6 months since the infamous lockdowns or what we call as Circuit Breaker. People are already talking about returning to school and office. So I feel this news is 6 months late. Just because of the introduction of a new generation of graphic card will not cause a global shortage of PSU, unless of course there’s supply constraints. High end GPUs like RTX 3090/ 3080 and RX 6900/6800 is not for everyone. Generally GPUs that sells the most are mid end ones like 3070.

destiny88

Simi power supply shortage.... I went sls 2 days ago SO MANY PSU around...

Don't spread fear/fake news lol later kopi for u

Viper0402

Fake news?
Anyway just got in Feb this year:
Corsair HX1000i model 80+ Platinum high performance 1000W PSU, 10yrs warranty, all Japanese 105°C capacitors.

So no worries liao.

Gaminator

Regardless, all my PSUs can handle up to RTX3090, should I be crazy enough to get one. Though I have my eyes fixed on either a 6800XT or a 6900XT. Besides the PSUs listed in my profile, I also have an Enermax 1.5kW PSU on standby.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.