Prata breakfast...getting expensive? 😲

iamcat

Had prata for breakfast this morning. $1.10 & $1.60 for the plain & egg pratas, respectively. It was a long while ago...but I still remember the days of 30¢/40¢ plain/egg pratas. Nicer back then, too.

Jf9N5QN.jpg

Not complaining. Just reminiscing on the good ol' days. Or are childhood memories always viewed through rose-tinted glasses? 🤔

Nowadays more like $2.

U nv hear of inflation meh?

iamcat

Don't mind the price too much, since can afford them better now, too. Just that the marginal utility is diminishing exponentially.

Not getting the same satisfaction from this simplest of breakfast meals (second only to half-boiled eggs + kaya toast).

{$2.50 for egg prata, if at an open-air neighbourhood kopitiam, is ridiculous, though.}

Prata from kopitiam v high risk of laosai

Got 20% chance ba

Had prata for breakfast this morning. $1.10 & $1.60 for the plain & egg pratas, respectively. It was a long while ago...but I still remember the days of 30¢/40¢ plain/egg pratas. Nicer back then, too.

Jf9N5QN.jpg

Not complaining. Just reminiscing on the good ol' days. Or are childhood memories always viewed through rose-tinted glasses? 🤔
price reasonable

AdizeroF50

I had not ate prata ever since kena food poisoning after eating it 2 years ago....

Ate for breakfast at 9am and started throwing up for the whole day at 11am.MC 3 days after that.

The feeling is quite unearthly.

Nice is nice but stayed off prata ever since.

TheITGuy

Jf9N5QN.jpg

30/40 cents is how many years back? Very long time ago kosong is already 50 cents and egg $1…

zensushi

I stop patronizing them. Long Q, yow kwee ppl plenty.

My solution.....See YTube make curry pot over weekend.

Buy raw fm Supmkt. Half fry at pan, poke holes on prata
and pour in the battered egg/onion.

Can make at home...but there are times you just want to have a chill, unhurried breakfast outside while getting some fresh air & Vitamin D. 😸

focus1974

Jf9N5QN.jpg

ya.. my lao pei time..5rm HDB was around $40-80k depending on location

iamcat

I had not ate prata ever since kena food poisoning after eating it 2 years ago....

Ate for breakfast at 9am and started throwing up for the whole day at 11am.MC 3 days after that.

The feeling is quite unearthly.

yes risk very high cus usually these places have very poor hygiene

AdizeroF50

yes risk very high cus usually these places have very poor hygiene
I ate in Admiralty and that was my first meal of the day....so cannot be just constantly throwing up like that for no reason.

Kept throwing up until there was nothing more to throw up.

The want-to-die-but-cannot-die feeling is unforgettable.

I kena 9 years ago similarly after eating the Christmas meal at Yikiah.

uselessbum

It's same like with chicken rice imo.

Last time $2 come with a lot of cucumber and soup was a common accompaniment.

Now $4 everything also less....less meat, less cucumber and most of the time, no soup even if eat on the spot. Even taste also not as good. Last time I thought carona chicken rice was a desecration of the holy chicken rice but after tasting what we have nowadays, I think even carona was much better and I appreciate carona even more.

:(

Palary

It's same like with chicken rice imo.
Last time $2 come with a lot of cucumber and soup was a common accompaniment.
Now $4* everything also less....less meat, less cucumber and most of the time, no soup even.
:(

nowadays everything you ordered, they stingy w vegetables. no wonder colon cancer is on the rise

zensushi

heng..i eat at university..one egg one plain just $2

I used to eat biryani/rojak from the Indian stall at the NTU canteen under the main library years ago. It was one of the few stalls still open late in the evening after my French elective classes.

Had to make multiple trips to the washroom afterwards. Guess my tummy couldn't handle the spices. 😭

AdizeroF50

I used to eat biryani/rojak from the Indian stall at the NTU canteen under the main library years ago. It was one of the few stalls still open late in the evening after my French elective classes.

Had to make multiple trips to the washroom afterwards. Guess my tummy couldn't handle the spices. 😭
Don't get me wrong.....I used to frequent the prata joint often at Hoe Chiang Rd in my younger days cos my friends brought me there to makan supper and their food is nice.

Always ate at the tables in the back alley.

But I guess once bitten twice shy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.