Primary School Question

Emo_Rhino

my child enters primary one in two years' time, so registration next year. I have been working my socks off volunteering at my grassroots for the last five years to have a higher chance for him to enroll at a nearby good school.

However as my 5y MOP for HDB is up and with my HDB fully paid, I have dreams of upgrading to a landed house but that means my child may end up in a average primary school at the new place. It is too late to start grassroots again at the new place considering registration is next year.

Any parents here have any advice for this? Is your child's future more important than a house?

mikeeeey

"every school is a good school"

my opinion: "popular" schools tend to be more academic driven and results are everything. If your kid is not up to standard, are you prepared to give loads of tuitions and stress them out? I know my kids, they are not that academic. They enter an average pri sch and grow at their own pace is better than throwing them to a competitive environment. Then again, every one has their vision and standard.

if im not wrong, if your kid is successfully enrolled in under a phase that is NOT the distance proximity (house is within 1km or 2km) those kind, you are not restricted to the address nearby.
If you are enrolled using the address being within 1 or 2 km, you can only move out when they are p3 i think

bujingyun82

This must be the question of the year.. “is your child’s future more important than a house?”

䏣炆玧示老太

my child enters primary one in two years' time, so registration next year. I have been working my socks off volunteering at my grassroots for the last five years to have a higher chance for him to enroll at a nearby good school.

However as my 5y MOP for HDB is up and with my HDB fully paid, I have dreams of upgrading to a landed house but that means my child may end up in a average primary school at the new place. It is too late to start grassroots again at the new place considering registration is next year.

Any parents here have any advice for this? Is your child's future more important than a house?
put it simply
what's the exact nearby good school name? just name it we can advise you worth keeping your HDB for it or not

NiShiZhu

This must be the question of the year.. “is your child’s future more important than a house?”
But the child’s future is not determined by which schools he/she attended. But the property bought determines whether you can retired early or late. :(

NiShiZhu

It’s a trick question lol. Left or right also can be wrong. Better not ask lol.
Hehe I find the qns quite easy to answer leh. My wife from sep schools all along doesn’t mean she earns more than me whom came from those ah Beng schools. :o

mainly your disposition, personality and social skills determine who u r in future.

bolster

If your child is not ‘smart’, then you should put them in school with affiliation.

if your child is average, then you should put them in good school to groom him further.

if your child is smart, can he excel in the neighbourhood school environment?

You look at the percentage of neighbourhood students get into top school compare to neighbourhood school. Don’t deceive yourself.

well, no doubt majority of the students in good school eventually do well in life.

NiShiZhu

Honestly in a Chao ah Beng school, I get to learn important skills like how to communicate and coexist with Chao ah Beng and at the same time, gain confidence for being the top few in school every year. Small success gives u the confidence better than u feel inferior if u r just a small fish in a big pond. You can be very smart but u r still the ordinary peasant among the smartest.

bolster

Well, no doubt a lot of successful kids from neighbourhood school, but compare to those from top school, the ratio does not tally.

bolster

Honestly in a Chao ah Beng school, I get to learn important skills like how to communicate and coexist with Chao ah Beng and at the same time, gain confidence for being the top few in school every year. Small success gives u the confidence better than u feel inferior if u r just a small fish in a big pond. You can be very smart but u r still the ordinary peasant among the smartest.

Well, the ah Beng problem is worse in neighbourhood secondary school compare to primary. Not many is like you. Those got bully have a very bad childhood. Not many can recover.

no doubt almost all schools have ah Beng issue, those Good school normally has less ah Beng issue.

bolster

Primary school not super impt la. Next time CV also won't include primary school.

Just make sure yr child do well for PSLE and go to the top JC.

primary school equally important than secondary school. Ask the Minister and MP to start put their kids in neighbourhood school to set example.

i know a few PAP and opposition MP put their kids in atas school. Can you Name any minister put their kids in neighbourhood school?

NiShiZhu

Well, the ah Beng problem is worse in neighbourhood secondary school compare to primary. Not many is like you. Those got bully have a very bad childhood. Not many can recover.

no doubt almost all schools have ah Beng issue, those Good school normally has less ah Beng issue.
For some reason, I just know that if I don’t speak their lingo and coexist with them, my life would be difficult.
At the same time, I just know if I am as hopeless as their academic performance, my future would also failed miserably.
So I try strike a balance between the two. Thats why I never become their bully target and meanwhile, I can still enjoy small success in a Chao ah Beng school for being the top few.
These r important survival skills I find useful in my career/work (I.e how to be part of the team and coexist with others), something u never get to learn in a SEP school environment,

good to check whichever pri sch that u are keen on:

1- how many billionaires has that sch produced?
2- how many multi millionares has that sch produced?

otherwise any other school wont matter🤗

bolster

For some reason, I just know that if I don’t speak their lingo and coexist with them, my life would be difficult.
At the same time, I just know if I am as hopeless as their academic performance, my future would also failed miserably.
So I try strike a balance between the two. Thats why I never become their bully target and meanwhile, I can still enjoy small success in a Chao ah Beng school for being the top few.
These r important survival skills I find useful in my career/work (I.e how to be part of the team and coexist with others)

well, you are the exceptional type, what happen to the rest?

abcde83

well, you are the exceptional type, what happen to the rest?
I was also from ah beng school but I have scholars under me now... so school is only one of the many variables that influence ur career... character is more important.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.