Primary School Question

Emo_Rhino

"every school is a good school"

my opinion: "popular" schools tend to be more academic driven and results are everything. If your kid is not up to standard, are you prepared to give loads of tuitions and stress them out? I know my kids, they are not that academic. They enter an average pri sch and grow at their own pace is better than throwing them to a competitive environment. Then again, every one has their vision and standard.

if im not wrong, if your kid is successfully enrolled in under a phase that is NOT the distance proximity (house is within 1km or 2km) those kind, you are not restricted to the address nearby.
If you are enrolled using the address being within 1 or 2 km, you can only move out when they are p3 i think
its within 1km, i purposely bought that HDB resale for that school 5y ago, planned everything nicely, volunteered for grassroots etc.
but now after seeing my peers buy landed and they psycho me abit, I am having second thoughts.

Emo_Rhino

another question, is landed lifestyle bad for young children?
The child does not drive so if its far from public transport, its not so ideal if he has to go home with the maid everyday walking long distances?
Also less mixing with other children than say compared with staying at HDB or condo?

䏣炆玧示老太

its within 1km, i purposely bought that HDB resale for that school 5y ago, planned everything nicely, volunteered for grassroots etc.
but now after seeing my peers buy landed and they psycho me abit, I am having second thoughts.
Whatever housing option can wait
Get done with your P1 registration matter first

CaptainSGP

I know of many peers who went to a ‘not popular primary school’ but went on to do very well in secondary school, JC, Uni & in professional career.

I also know of many who attended a famous primary school but struggled in secondary school and beyond.

Secondary school matter a LOT more than primary school.

When I was in a famous secondary school many many years ago, most of my classmates did not come from a popular primary school.

edmwing

Ya good primary school is overrated. We all know this but if have a choice, will still put our kids in. My wife and I put our kids in a nearby primary school for convenience although we were each alumni of the top few popular primary schools. The time saved traveling are better spent elsewhere. And from our experience, there is little correlation between future success vs. primary school - it's more important to have well resourced parents or privileged family :X

wanker88

What's the name of the school?

momoeagle

my child enters primary one in two years' time, so registration next year. I have been working my socks off volunteering at my grassroots for the last five years to have a higher chance for him to enroll at a nearby good school.

However as my 5y MOP for HDB is up and with my HDB fully paid, I have dreams of upgrading to a landed house but that means my child may end up in a average primary school at the new place. It is too late to start grassroots again at the new place considering registration is next year.

Any parents here have any advice for this? Is your child's future more important than a house?
Honestly speaking, pri sch not too much diff nowadays. IMO, the diff is in the sec sch and above. Especially in JC, project work plays a role, because your peers are important when everyone is judged together. It's like at work, the people making up a team is important.

I am from neighbourhood pri that no one wants to go, but graduate from JC with scholarship, among top few in SG for one of the sci subjects (with cert), and finished NUS with first class honours.

And 30 years later, my pri sch still no one wants to go. Last few years I check, there's always space left after all the phases.

momoeagle

Ya good primary school is overrated. We all know this but if have a choice, will still put our kids in. My wife and I put our kids in a nearby primary school for convenience although we were each alumni of the top few popular primary schools. The time saved traveling are better spent elsewhere. And from our experience, there is little correlation between future success vs. primary school - it's more important to have well resourced parents or privileged family :X
To me, the most important is to have a supportive family.

Resources come 2nd, but still important. If parents always at work, and offload parenting to maid or overly doting grandparents, then also not that ideal.

momoeagle

Hehe I find the qns quite easy to answer leh. My wife from sep schools all along doesn’t mean she earns more than me whom came from those ah Beng schools. :o

mainly your disposition, personality and social skills determine who u r in future.
Within my NS group, the one earning the most is the one who came from ah beng schools and poly grad.

But he works super super hard to get to where he is today. Really hard.

The next highest earning one is uni grad, ran a start up and sold it (saw on straits times), then doing a 2nd start up now. Also worked real hard.

It's like no one knows how much exactly they earn, but you know they really earn a lot.

marshmallow96

To be honest… I find it more troubling that you have set your mind to plan for something for years, then so easily swayed by your peer’s opinion?

from my own experience, I feel it’s easier to source for next house after the child settles in P1. Like another bro mentioned, if you don’t enter the school via distance priority, you can move anywhere and not bounded by 30-month rule. Also after a few months you’ll have a sense of whether you and your child like the school, your priorities and housing decision may change. Besides there are many other options to explore like rent a place near school while you sell your house etc…

䏣炆玧示老太

Upgrade housing lifelong anytime can do
Kids P1 registration once in a lifetime critical hit must not miss.
How to compare? What’s there to compare? :s22: :s22:

my child enters primary one in two years' time, so registration next year. I have been working my socks off volunteering at my grassroots for the last five years to have a higher chance for him to enroll at a nearby good school.

However as my 5y MOP for HDB is up and with my HDB fully paid, I have dreams of upgrading to a landed house but that means my child may end up in a average primary school at the new place. It is too late to start grassroots again at the new place considering registration is next year.

Any parents here have any advice for this? Is your child's future more important than a house?
You are jumping from BTO to landed? You got a windfall within 5 years? Or you joined PropNex?? Sounds incredulous.

I was also from ah beng school but I have scholars under me now... so school is only one of the many variables that influence ur career... character is more important.
Scholars also have different grades and tiers, not diminishing your achievements. I met lots of people who have been going around calling themselves scholars: Chinese recruited to study high school/university in SG. People who take up random mass recruitment program to be teachers study at NIE or soldiers at SAF on some recruitment program study in NTU/NUS. Basically low tiered programs..some guy who was in neighborhood schools all his life including neighborhood JC then in university got into some local U honor program, he must have told his wife he a scholar cuz his wife bragged to me that he’s a scholar, but today at 40 years he’s only applied for BTO.

And then I have friends, peers and ex schoolmates who are PSC scholars, some are PS.

another question, is landed lifestyle bad for young children?
The child does not drive so if its far from public transport, its not so ideal if he has to go home with the maid everyday walking long distances?
Also less mixing with other children than say compared with staying at HDB or condo?
Young can take school bus. Older kids take bus at bus stop.

No. Nowadays kids in HDB and condos also do not play in neighbors’ homes. This is not 1987.

To me, the most important is to have a supportive family.

Resources come 2nd, but still important. If parents always at work, and offload parenting to maid or overly doting grandparents, then also not that ideal.
My mentality is if someone has so much resources, might as well channel that resources to ensure the kids have a “back door”. Just make sure you have the money and means to send them abroad to study, if not for secondary sch then university. That’s a so much smarter way to make use of your resources. That is to check out of the SG scarcity rat race system altogether. At least have the option to.

mikeeeey

Well, the ah Beng problem is worse in neighbourhood secondary school compare to primary. Not many is like you. Those got bully have a very bad childhood. Not many can recover.

no doubt almost all schools have ah Beng issue, those Good school normally has less ah Beng issue.

This is so so so wrong...

i've seeen the good schools i.e. Atas Children School, the parents lawyers doctors CEOs, but a terror in class with ka kias

Clazav

I know of many peers who went to a ‘not popular primary school’ but went on to do very well in secondary school, JC, Uni & in professional career.

I also know of many who attended a famous primary school but struggled in secondary school and beyond.

Secondary school matter a LOT more than primary school.

When I was in a famous secondary school many many years ago, most of my classmates did not come from a popular primary school.
But you see, your result in primary school determines which secondary school you go to.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.