Priority over liquid cash or cpf?

culture_counter

Is it better to have sufficient liquid cash for emergency funds rather than confine and restrict cash by topping into cpf ?

Shion

Senior Mentor
Sufficient liquid cash

Ever heard before people living in landed property but cash poor ?

SBC

Saw on Sunday Times today:

310 participants in webinar were advised to avoid the undesirable situation of being asset-rich but cash poor.

Maeda_Toshiie

Is it better to have sufficient liquid cash for emergency funds rather than confine and restrict cash by topping into cpf ?

Yes and no. If you want to retire in Singapore, compute how much you need to put in your CPF for the full sum, and then put that in and not more.

Sufficient liquid cash

Ever heard before people living in landed property but cash poor ?

Unfortunately, yes. However, those cases are somewhat different because those properties were bought decades ago where housing was cheap relative to salaries.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Unfortunately, yes. However, those cases are somewhat different because those properties were bought decades ago where housing was cheap relative to salaries.

Agreed with you, so maybe not a very good example I guess. Though I heard some of them refuse to give up their landed homes even when they are cash poor.

Anyway, liquidity is important, definitely.

doody_

Emergency fund is number 1 in priority. You need liquid cash

Maeda_Toshiie

Agreed with you, so maybe not a very good example I guess. Though I heard some of them refuse to give up their landed homes even when they are cash poor.

Anyway, liquidity is important, definitely.

I can empathize with them. Private landed property has a level of privacy that you don't get even in condominiums, let alone HDB flats. I've visited all three types so I've gotten a feel of the differences. On top of that, those old folks have probably been living there for 30-40 years. Sentiments make it difficult to part.

Mr.Canberra

Cpf cannot be used even if u have terminal illness and left with 3 months. Can't pay for a final vacation if u don't have cash.

Yes what a joke right? Cannot even use own money to buy coffin even. :s13:

Liquid cash for me any time. My cash holdings generating returns of at least 4% p.a. or more. Why should I lock my money inside CPF? :s22:

orange_sky

Depends which stage are you at

If you are still paying your mortgage please have spare cash available. If you have no more debts, then you can use your spare cash to top up your cpf

microtek

Liquid cash. Because in the event you lose your job, no matter how hard you beg the gahmen, your CPF money cant be used to buy food to feed yourself.

SBC

With a monthly mortgage of > 4k and > 80k in OA last year.
My SA will reach FRS very soon.

With this in mind, I transferred some OA to my SA to earn higher interest.

Knowing that I am without any saving policies about 4 years plus ago, I bought 2 such policies then to generate some cash for my kids education funds.

I also top up my SRS for the past 8 years or so. Can use this as another source of emergency funds, if warranted.

Think it is good to have some cash in mid life.

doody_

Liquid cash for me any time. My cash holdings generating returns of at least 4% p.a. or more. Why should I lock my money inside CPF? :s22:

Can, when you're dead. Your family members can take out 5k for your funeral expenses :s13:

cscs3

1. Why not you check with CPF again?
2. Your 4% is capital protection?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.