Proactive ways to counter cost of living

mcylo

Keep yourself healthy by reducing unhealthy food and cravings, exercise more, socialize more with friends and family. Keep some healthy hobbies. This will save you medical costs in the future.
yah, i weekly go running 4/5 times a week for at least 45mins

have not been sick for more than a year lor

coyote

Keep yourself healthy by reducing unhealthy food and cravings, exercise more, socialize more with friends and family. Keep some healthy hobbies. This will save you medical costs in the future.

I just explained to my 5 years old, papa has to pay for him to go to hospital a&e to finally found his stomach ache was due to constipation... So, he is finally feeling a little bad that he refused to have vegetables at home. This staying healthy to lower cost is super real!πŸ‘

TanKianW

Eat 2 normal meals daily and skip dinner. Help to keep you in shape and save money on the short term and long term (health).​

cyke69sg

Members have been complaining but short of proactive ways to counter cost of living.

Here's one proactive way suggested by some investors previously. The idea is called "hedge against your lifestyle".

Eg.

1, those die die must eat at air conditioned food court in malls. Buy retail REITs like capitamall trust which own some of the malls. So, when the retailers raise their prices of food and goods, the consumer has to pay more. But since the consumer is also shareholders of the REITs, you get more dividend from the rental collection from the retailers.

2, those complaining of raising utility bills. Buy Keppel infrastructure Trust...forgot what they own. The idea is same as 1.

3, if you fear the medical care, treatment and ward price. Buy parkway life reit. So, when you pay more for each nigh stay in the hospital. You get more dividend from Parkway ...

So on and so forth....

Members here are of course free to suggest other proactive and constructive ways to counter of course. ✌️

Disclaimer: not financial advice. All investments carry risk.
Just get higher paying jobs and invest in stocks and property.
No COL concerns anymore.

focus1974

Members have been complaining but short of proactive ways to counter cost of living.

Here's one proactive way suggested by some investors previously. The idea is called "hedge against your lifestyle".

Eg.

1, those die die must eat at air conditioned food court in malls. Buy retail REITs like capitamall trust which own some of the malls. So, when the retailers raise their prices of food and goods, the consumer has to pay more. But since the consumer is also shareholders of the REITs, you get more dividend from the rental collection from the retailers.

2, those complaining of raising utility bills. Buy Keppel infrastructure Trust...forgot what they own. The idea is same as 1.

3, if you fear the medical care, treatment and ward price. Buy parkway life reit. So, when you pay more for each nigh stay in the hospital. You get more dividend from Parkway ...

So on and so forth....

Members here are of course free to suggest other proactive and constructive ways to counter of course. ✌️

That's what a stock broker wants people to hear ... sounds very rational but not very practicable for the common folks. you must be investing a large enough sum to generate dividends that offset the difference in your purchase, if not, it's purely psychological feel good , but materially don't do anything. The only gain that matters might be the capital gain, in which case, you should be buying something that has growth.

and if you are not common folks with large sum to invest, then you will be relatively unaffected by cost of living of the common folks since you will have already been generating capital gains and dividends that will offset the increase in cost of living or even provide you with all of your living expenses.

coyote

That's what a stock broker wants people to hear ... sounds very rational but not very practicable for the common folks. you must be investing a large enough sum to generate dividends that offset the difference in your purchase, if not, it's purely psychological feel good , but materially don't do anything. The only gain that matters might be the capital gain, in which case, you should be buying something that has growth.

and if you are not common folks with large sum to invest, then you will be relatively unaffected by cost of living of the common folks since you will have already been generating capital gains and dividends that will offset the increase in cost of living or even provide you with all of your living expenses.

I thought you are rich and a well invested person and surprised with your comments above.

1, I'm not stock brokers. I've been called many names, stock broker is a first time but nevermind.
2, it's a common thing or fallacy for people to always say I don't have $1m, so investing $100 or $1,000 is useless. Those REITs or utility counters ranges between $0.60 to $2+. With smallest lot size of 100 means $60 to $200 per 100 share, an amount that is very palatable even for those below average folks.
3, the old Malay saying goes, sikit sikit, lama lama, jadi Bukit. Means a little bit a little bit, slowly slowly, become a hill.
4, rich and poor is relative. You don't need to beat the millionaires or billionaires. You just need to invest and slowly over time, you will beat those that do not invest. So long as you make more money and they make less money, you are richer and they are poorer.
5, there are people who only invest for capital gain, equally there are people invest for dividend play. No right, no wrong. I'm just suggesting investing such companies that we also consume their products or services, their dividends can be a way to mitigate cost of living...

Disclaimer: this is not financial advice. All investments carry risk of losing money.

Emperor_Hippo

Eg.

So on and so forth....

My advice to counter COL, very essy.

WORK HARDER. THE SPURS NOT STUCK IN YOUR HIDE!

Emperor_Hippo

I just explained to my 5 years old, papa has to pay for him to go to hospital a&e to finally found his stomach ache was due to constipation... So, he is finally feeling a little bad that he refused to have vegetables at home. This staying healthy to lower cost is super real!πŸ‘
good good.

Gleneagles? Novena? Orchard? which one? :s12:

think Novena nowadays a lot of ppl. I wait for my queue oso nit to wait 15mins, DAMN LONG LEH.... :(

focus1974

I thought you are rich and we'll invested person and surprised with your comments above.

1, I'm not stock brokers. I've been called many names, stock broker is a first time but nevermind.
2, it's a common thing or fallacy for people to always say I don't have $1m, so investing $100 or $1,000 is useless. Those REITs or utility counters ranges between $0.60 to $2+. With smallest lot size of 100 means $60 to $200, which is very palatable even for the those below average folks.
3, the old Malay saying goes, sikit sikit, lama lama, jadi Bukit. Means a little bit a little bit, slowly slowly, become a hill.
4, there are people who only invest for capital gain, equally there are people invest for dividend play. No right, no wrong. I'm just suggesting investing such companies that we also consume their products or services, their dividends can be a way to mitigate cost of living...

Disclaimer: this is not financial advice. All investments carry risk if losing money.

dont agnry.
juz saying.. the points like what a stock broker woudl say, does not mean you are stock broker. figure of speech. :D

Anyway, that's my point of view.

To add on, I think people who are affected by cost of living should find means to get 2nd part-time job that will provide more meaningful income from the get-go to address the issue now.

Dividends investing is only meaningful when you get to a large enough sum and that take years and does not address the cost of living issues now.

coyote

good good.

Gleneagles? Novena? Orchard? which one? :s12:

think Novena nowadays a lot of ppl. I wait for my queue oso nit to wait 15mins, DAMN LONG LEH.... :(

NUH A&E. We only waited like 10 minutes before we were attended to by the doctor. The bill was $177. It's ironic that those edmwers complaining about cost of living(not referring to you) were all talking about private hospitals....

krikering

My way: Totally abstain from big-item expenses e.g buy houses, etc. Rent house in JB when RTS built

Keep myself healthy for now, don't over-stress, etc.
When 55 - 60 years old that time, withdraw CPF go overseas retire.
Think is a workable plan for some, at least.

focus1974

My way: Totally abstain from big-item expenses e.g buy houses, etc. Rent house in JB when RTS built

Keep myself healthy for now, don't over-stress, etc.
When 55 - 60 years old that time, withdraw CPF go overseas retire.
Think is a workable plan for some, at least.

I think the house is the best investment you can get especially if you have HDB.

Fully paid your HDB and then rent out $3k SGD = nearly $10k ringgit.
then go rent your house in JB with that money.

You can then do your stay JB, work Singapore plan as long as Johor allows non-mm2h to do that.

obsceneK2

Save household water bill by bathing and wash clothes in swimming pool toilet (if you happen to stay nearby). Buy activesg monthly swim pass for unlimited access only cost $10 for adult and $5 for senior.
https://www.activesgcircle.gov.sg/membership

Save electricity by charging laptop, handphone or powerbank in public places like bus terminal/NLB library. Some venues got provide charging stations.

krikering

I think the house is the best investment you can get especially if you have HDB.

Fully paid your HDB and then rent out $3k SGD = nearly $10k ringgit.
then go rent your house in JB with that money.

You can then do your stay JB, work Singapore plan as long as Johor allows non-mm2h to do that.
With how crazy the resale market here, forget it la. BTOs the balloting and waiting time, etc. crazy also. So many criterias to fulfill to be eligible to apply.

Popi other countries come out with retirement visas to attract us. Am open to the idea of retiring in Japan, etc. too. If I got leftover cash, donate charity. Rather throw my money into the sea than let MIWs use them to gamble.

coyote

dont agnry.
juz saying.. the points like what a stock broker woudl say, does not mean you are stock broker. figure of speech. :D

Anyway, that's my point of view.

To add on, I think people who are affected by cost of living should find means to get 2nd part-time job that will provide more meaningful income from the get-go to address the issue now.

Dividends investing is only meaningful when you get to a large enough sum and that take years and does not address the cost of living issues now.

No worry. Understood your figure of speech. ✌️

2nd part time job is another very good suggestion.

As for dividend investment, nobody said it easy. It's just one way. Some people are better on getting capital return from investing. I think it's a dividend play could be a very tiny bit less risky than capital gain ... It's another topic for another time. You are right to say investing for capital gain could be a way to mitigate cost of living also. Every investments carry risk. πŸ™

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.