xtwis7

Just set up a new build for my friend.

i5-4570 with MSI B85-G43 gaming
graphics card is a MSI R9 270
Just running 1 TB hard disk.
PSU is a FSP Hexa 500W.

The current problem is that whenever he shuts down and turn off the power for a long time, when he starts up the com again for the first time from cold boot, he just gets a black screen. But when he restarts, he can boot to Windows so it's always the first cold boot that seems to be causing problems.

I don't know if it's the PSU that might be causing this problem but the load should be fine right?

Lethal

Might be GFX problem. My previous MSI 7850 Power Edition had this problem everytime i on my computer the next day and always a black screen first, restart and it boot successful into desktop. 1-1 exchange and the problem no longer exist. This kind of problem hard to rectify even if u bring to distro for testing they might not be able to detect the problem.

xtwis7

Might be GFX problem. My previous MSI 7850 Power Edition had this problem everytime i on my computer the next day and always a black screen first, restart and it boot successful into desktop. 1-1 exchange and the problem no longer exist. This kind of problem hard to rectify even if u bring to distro for testing they might not be able to detect the problem.

Its very hard to pinpoint also. Like you said, later bring go distro they say no problem also llst. I shall go over and see if reseating the graphics or changing dvi ports will help. Could it be a problem of dvi cable as well?

Lethal

U can try though, i changed dvi cable and even switch monitor same problem.

xtwis7

Hmm, like that very hard to troubleshoot. Need a lot of spares to check.

xtwis7

Just went to take a look at my friend's rig. Changed the ram from slot 2 to slot 4. This time, the cold boot problem didn't happen so could go to Windows without any sudden shut off of the power. But later when I restarted the com to just make sure it didn't happen, once I press the power button, all lights will come up, CPU fan also spinning but probably 2-3 seconds later, the power just totally cut off by itself. When I press the power button, the computer now boots normally to Windows.

I also got the occasional message that PC did not shut off correctly.

I really don't know how to troubleshoot for my friend. There's so many suspects. Motherboard, graphics card, PSU or even other less likely components.

Any technical experts here that can advise?

coyote

I suspect motherboard problem... second suspect could be power supply but less likely.

xtwis7

I suspect motherboard problem... second suspect could be power supply but less likely.

The motherboard power phase? I am also worried if I bring the whole rig down to Corbell then they test everything okay. Maybe the problem won't even occur cause it's not consistent. Computer stuff always like this one.

coyote

Not really... I have like 9 computers in my home & my mum's home... they were alll so boring... no problem to fix whatsoever... careful choosing the parts help I guessed:s22:

Once I go adventurous with BioStar... visited the distro two to three times & it's still shaky... after sold it off & replaced it even with a lowly ECS... nothing to fix again...

The motherboard power phase? I am also worried if I bring the whole rig down to Corbell then they test everything okay. Maybe the problem won't even occur cause it's not consistent. Computer stuff always like this one.

xtwis7

Friend reinstalled windows and reseat graphics card but the same problem still happen. The boot was successful, but when at the windows logo loading screen, it will just cut off power or auto restart.

When restart again, the windows repair message will appear. I don't think he's comfortable with using the paperclip to test the PSU but he may most likely have to bring it down to Tradepac for them to take a look. Will they still help us to check?

padderay

take out the gfx card and use the motherboard's gfx output.
if everything swee swee means gfx card lor.

if it happens again, try another PSU. Check mobo for any bloated capacitors also.

localITguy

dun bring down tradepac. go gs shop and ask him help to check (pay him some $$ lor, maybe a tip or somthing)

TP will ask u go to distro de. everyone knows, TP=Buy liao=paid= bb , got problem . not our problem

coyote

Indeed, this is a good suggestion. Let's rule out gfx being the problem first.

If problem persisted after switching to onboard, then you should look for MSI's distributor to help check out if mobo is the problem. Tradepac usually isn't that helpful on troubleshooting. Warranty is provided by the distributor anyway. Look for MSI's distributor.

take out the gfx card and use the motherboard's gfx output.
if everything swee swee means gfx card lor.

if it happens again, try another PSU. Check mobo for any bloated capacitors also.

xtwis7

Yea, thx for the suggestion to run on onboard gpu first. If this problem is eliminated after the switch then can pinpoint it's the gpu faulty. Just scared it's not and just continue another round of troubleshooting.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.