[Project Throne] Gaming chairs, know what you're getting and what you are actually paying for

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Swiftbladez

i actually went and got 1 myself yesterday from Ikea. Not the most sturdy of things but it serves it's purpose. definitely improves the sitting experience especially when reclining while watching a movie.

Whats the material of the board?

stephsnowy

1.68m is a little too short for you be it whatever gaming chair you go for. BUT, my gf is about the same height as you, but she can rest her feet on the ground. So I guess (no offense) your leg a bit too short.

Yes get a leg rest.

I nt so tall. 1.58 nia. Not 1.68 lol. Big diff leh.

gtabc1

Actually if you guys know where all these chairs are manufactured and the price, you will know that these chairs are very overpriced.

From secretlab boxes, there is a description that shows "designed by secretlab, manufactured in china"

For all those claims saying secretlab is original bla bla..the qoo10 is not oem. Cmon. If you guys buy from taobao, u all know all these products are made in china. Basically just getting a china manufacturer to make it.

In fact if you browse taobao, you can find alot of gaming chairs designed by china's own branding or so called oem.secretlab chairs are PU leather right? Do you know you can find gaming chairs in taobao that are GENUINE Leather instead? Quality are so much better. Just that these chairs dont go through marketing and advertisements like how sg companies do it.

I browsed few GENUINE leather "gaming" chairs that are original made,designed by china manufacturers and it cost like only 680plus RMB dollars..which is like singapore $140 to $160? If u add in shipping by sea for example..u can get rates quoted at $99sgd for 1 cubic metre of items. Thats much larger den the gamng chair itself so u can order other stuffs from china together..so whats the final cost? Simple calculations.

Claiming chairs that are rip off or something makes no sense because they are originally created in china, designed in china. The one qoo10 is selling is the entry level ones in chna that cost retailprice probably around 60 to 70 sgd if u buy from taobao. The genuine leather premium chairs are 500rmb to 1000rmb. Still much cheaper.

Singaporeans are easily fooled by marketing tactics, video reviews etc whereas those china manufacturers dont do marketing internationally.

Why sg companies become rich? They just buy off china, import in and re sell in sg at a high premium. If not how to pay off the high rent in Singapore? Cost price of the chairs are dirt cheap but we in singapore are sucked in by professional marketing.

If you import stuff from china like from taobao, tmall etc..you will definitely know what a product is actually worth.

Of course when you pay a premium in sg, the company can obviously give you warranty for parts etc. Why? Because when you pay for something, that amount can actually probably buy u 3 x of the same product. The warranty and quality assurance of course able to provide since you consumers already pay 3 times of the actual product price. They can even swap you 1 for 1 chair since you are already paying overprice. If not how they earn right?

Not against any companies, of course they need to mark up high high and cut the consumers so that they can be rich.. but as hardwarezone forumners, we are all in the internet age, just giving heads up to you guys to share knowledge. Anything can be googled.

Bottomline, dont be suck in by marketing entirely. Of course for convenient sake, if you dont mind paying overprice goods, by all means, pay a premium price and contribute to other people's success.

Pay what is worth.

Piezoq

Actually if you guys know where all these chairs are manufactured and the price, you will know that these chairs are very overpriced.

From secretlab boxes, there is a description that shows "designed by secretlab, manufactured in china"

For all those claims saying secretlab is original bla bla..the qoo10 is not oem. Cmon. If you guys buy from taobao, u all know all these products are made in china. Basically just getting a china manufacturer to make it.

In fact if you browse taobao, you can find alot of gaming chairs designed by china's own branding or so called oem.secretlab chairs are PU leather right? Do you know you can find gaming chairs in taobao that are GENUINE Leather instead? Quality are so much better. Just that these chairs dont go through marketing and advertisements like how sg companies do it.

I browsed few GENUINE leather "gaming" chairs that are original made,designed by china manufacturers and it cost like only 680plus RMB dollars..which is like singapore $140 to $160? If u add in shipping by sea for example..u can get rates quoted at $99sgd for 1 cubic metre of items. Thats much larger den the gamng chair itself so u can order other stuffs from china together..so whats the final cost? Simple calculations.

Claiming chairs that are rip off or something makes no sense because they are originally created in china, designed in china. The one qoo10 is selling is the entry level ones in chna that cost retailprice probably around 60 to 70 sgd if u buy from taobao. The genuine leather premium chairs are 500rmb to 1000rmb. Still much cheaper.

Singaporeans are easily fooled by marketing tactics, video reviews etc whereas those china manufacturers dont do marketing internationally.

Why sg companies become rich? They just buy off china, import in and re sell in sg at a high premium. If not how to pay off the high rent in Singapore? Cost price of the chairs are dirt cheap but we in singapore are sucked in by professional marketing.

If you import stuff from china like from taobao, tmall etc..you will definitely know what a product is actually worth.

Of course when you pay a premium in sg, the company can obviously give you warranty for parts etc. Why? Because when you pay for something, that amount can actually probably buy u 3 x of the same product. The warranty and quality assurance of course able to provide since you consumers already pay 3 times of the actual product price. They can even swap you 1 for 1 chair since you are already paying overprice. If not how they earn right?

Not against any companies, of course they need to mark up high high and cut the consumers so that they can be rich.. but as hardwarezone forumners, we are all in the internet age, just giving heads up to you guys to share knowledge. Anything can be googled.

Bottomline, dont be suck in by marketing entirely. Of course for convenient sake, if you dont mind paying overprice goods, by all means, pay a premium price and contribute to other people's success.

Pay what is worth.

time is money.

if you have the time to "pay what it's worth", by all means. even shopping for local overpriced options, ones that you can touch and smell and ogle at, can be time consuming and tiring. we can get the product quality wrong too. what more shopping online looking at pictures and words.

convenience comes at a cost.

shadow84

Pay what is worth.

Find us something that isnt made in China anyway...

sacredrays

Pay what is worth.

lol.. create account just to post this.. most of us know stuff sold in sg is a mark up liao (we have no choice for this)... we are paying for local support and assured quality here..

royfrosty

Pay what is worth.

One post count warrior. It is kinda surprising that you actually created an account just to post here.

Everything is made in China nowadays. There isn't one thing that wont be made in China. iPhones, Samsung, motherboards, and the list goes down.

But there is a difference in what they were instructed to do, and what are the parts designed to let China do.

Lets just say taking your theory, saying that an fake iPhones, oem iPhones, etc is gonna perform just like how the original iPhones is?

Come on, be realistic. If that is the case, everyone here will buy fake iPhones, cause it works the same way as it is. Its the experience that one would have.

Now, i'm not trying to impart what i think into you. But by all means if you think that you are into buying some chairs from TaoBao by all means go ahead.

There is a purpose in this thread, and this thread is to expose all 3 different chairs in the way they build and what kinds of materials are being used. Not to give fame to any one whom is out there doing this chairs.

But as of now, the difference in all 3 chairs, its totally different even though it is made in China. The one in Qoo10 is by far worse and not even close to safe for siting.

At the end of the day, these chairs will be cut opened. And we will speak for sure on what are inside of it. The way its constructed and what it really is.

gtabc1

One post count warrior. It is kinda surprising that you actually created an account just to post here.

Everything is made in China nowadays. There isn't one thing that wont be made in China. iPhones, Samsung, motherboards, and the list goes down.

But there is a difference in what they were instructed to do, and what are the parts designed to let China do.

Lets just say taking your theory, saying that an fake iPhones, oem iPhones, etc is gonna perform just like how the original iPhones is?

Come on, be realistic. If that is the case, everyone here will buy fake iPhones, cause it works the same way as it is. Its the experience that one would have.

Now, i'm not trying to impart what i think into you. But by all means if you think that you are into buying some chairs from TaoBao by all means go ahead.

There is a purpose in this thread, and this thread is to expose all 3 different chairs in the way they build and what kinds of materials are being used. Not to give fame to any one whom is out there doing this chairs.

But as of now, the difference in all 3 chairs, its totally different even though it is made in China. The one in Qoo10 is by far worse and not even close to safe for siting.

At the end of the day, these chairs will be cut opened. And we will speak for sure on what are inside of it. The way its constructed and what it really is.

Dude please think properly before you type.

The qoo10 chair is only from one merchant in taobao. There are countless more. You talking about fake and rip off? You sure bro?

Do you know even before secretlab started out last year, these china made chairs exist way before them?

You sure whos the fake and whos not? How can something exist way before a company was set up be a rip off?

As i say earlier, the qoo10 should be an entry level chair from a not so good manufacturer in china, hence the quality.

Seems u are a suck up to secretlab. Sure aint paid to do this? Or even someone affliated?

Know your facts first brother. Dont accuse other chairs as rip off so confidently.

so whos the copycat? I not against secretlab or any sg startups. But against your high regards of a chair and putting other companies down by claiming they are rip offs or whatnot. Just remember, they exist way before secretlab launched.whos copying who or ripping of who ah?

And with my post count, u trying to mean i cant use a new account? What i state is facts. Up to the readers to read and believing is up to them. You can choose to ignore what i type and claim, yes secret lab is the original makers etc. Continue in your oblivous world. No one is stopping u.

I am just sharing knowledge to fellow online people here. Post count dont give credit to anything..(bet you will talk about anonymity, credibality of a one post count account bla bla bla) that shows you are defending a strong cause. Makes me think are you paid to do this.

gtabc1

And again, if you ever buy a GENUINE Leather "rip off" gaming chair from taobao(as you claimed rip off), you can clearly see the material different.

Go google genuine leather and PU leather. ;)

royfrosty

Dude please think properly before you type.

The qoo10 chair is only from one merchant in taobao. There are countless more. You talking about fake and rip off? You sure bro?

Do you know even before secretlab started out last year, these china made chairs exist way before them?

You sure whos the fake and whos not? How can something exist way before a company was set up be a rip off?

As i say earlier, the qoo10 should be an entry level chair from a not so good manufacturer in china, hence the quality.

Seems u are a suck up to secretlab. Sure aint paid to do this? Or even someone affliated?

Know your facts first brother. Dont accuse other chairs as rip off so confidently.

so whos the copycat? I not against secretlab or any sg startups. But against your high regards of a chair and putting other companies down by claiming they are rip offs or whatnot. Just remember, they exist way before secretlab launched.whos copying who or ripping of who ah?

And with my post count, u trying to mean i cant use a new account? What i state is facts. Up to the readers to read and believing is up to them. You can choose to ignore what i type and claim, yes secret lab is the original makers etc. Continue in your oblivous world. No one is stopping u.

I am just sharing knowledge to fellow online people here. Post count dont give credit to anything..(bet you will talk about anonymity, credibality of a one post count account bla bla bla) that shows you are defending a strong cause. Makes me think are you paid to do this.

Which ever companies that existed first does not mean that others whom came out much later would be the one has to copy it, nor made of inferior quality.

No one said that. And fyi, buying from qoo10 like you have said, its only one agent that probably sells the chair here in sg. If it is a good chair, then it is a good chair. If its not then its not. Simple as that.

Lets take a challenge. If what you claim is full outright true. Buy me* a chair of your choice in whatever the source is. Donate it to me, and i will cut it open.

If not then by all means you have no claim against what you said here is even true to begin with.

I have been doing a lot of reviews with my own hard earn money. Be it pc components, side projects or even something out of my own interest. If you do not know me, then just walk away. If you interested in this project, and wanna help me out, fine.

*typo

gtabc1

Which ever companies that existed first does not mean that others whom came out much later would be the one has to copy it, nor made of inferior quality.

No one said that. And fyi, buying from qoo10 like you have said, its only one agent that probably sells the chair here in sg. If it is a good chair, then it is a good chair. If its not then its not. Simple as that.

Lets take a challenge. If what you claim is full outright true. Buy me* a chair of your choice in whatever the source is. Donate it to me, and i will cut it open.

If not then by all means you have no claim against what you said here is even true to begin with.

I have been doing a lot of reviews with my own hard earn money. Be it pc components, side projects or even something out of my own interest. If you do not know me, then just walk away. If you interested in this project, and wanna help me out, fine.

*typo

Buy and donate to you to cut it out? Why not you cut out the omega? You seriously think only the omega has cold cut foam whereas other manufacturers in china dont?

I dont need to prove a point by buying and donating and get it cut open by u. You really sucked into marketing. Same like how mitsubishi electric starmex and mitsubishi heavy industries. One cost more because of strong advertising and marketing in sg.

I really dont need to prove anything. I am just sharing knowledge. As i say, just google. See reviews in taobao. If u are so lazy to do it, or even wanna discredit reviews in taobao, what makes you so sure your review is valid? By pictures and your own opinion?

Go in taobao and u can see pictures and reviews too.

gtabc1

Anyway dont wish to argue further. Apologise to you. I am just sharing to others. Cheers and happy new year. :)

royfrosty

Buy and donate to you to cut it out? Why not you cut out the omega? You seriously think only the omega has cold cut foam whereas other manufacturers in china dont?

I dont need to prove a point by buying and donating and get it cut open by u. You really sucked into marketing. Same like how mitsubishi electric starmex and mitsubishi heavy industries. One cost more because of strong advertising and marketing in sg.

I really dont need to prove anything. I am just sharing knowledge. As i say, just google. See reviews in taobao. If u are so lazy to do it, or even wanna discredit reviews in taobao, what makes you so sure your review is valid? By pictures and your own opinion?

Go in taobao and u can see pictures and reviews too.

Thats what im doing here. To cut open all 3 chairs. To review it and what they are simply using.

It does not mean that the F Series or the Omega does or does not have cold cut foam or not. Or whether the qoo10 chair uses what kind of foams etc.

Its the concept of what is right, whether to know whats the difference in paying a sub $120 chair vs the other branded. At the end of the day is to know whether is it worth paying $499 - $5xx or whatever the amount is. And i havent even made a conclusion out of it yet.

I do seen before taobao reviews etc. There are even Herman Miller chairs look a like at just a fraction of the real Herman Miller cost. So are you here to say that Herman Miller is the so call ripped off marketing gimmicks and all?

Please, by all means, if you are here to show and tell all this then you have done your part and move on.

By all means i would stop this entire project here.

Op_Valkyrie

And again, if you ever buy a GENUINE Leather "rip off" gaming chair from taobao(as you claimed rip off), you can clearly see the material different.

Go google genuine leather and PU leather. ;)

Eh.... Can provide us some taobao or tmall links that are with the products u mentioned? Share lah... Tok a lot but we need Chilli or curry sauce... Lol

Help me find HM aeron if have hor.... Kthxbye..... :crazy:

DXMachina

Pay what is worth.
No need to tell us about China-made stuff that is prevalent everywhere now. Anyone with half a brain knows about this.

The thing is, we are talking about a gaming chair here, not small, cheap items like USB cables or IT accessories. For SG consumers looking to get a good gaming chair, do you really think it would be a good idea to just ship a freaking bulky item such as a gaming chair from overseas just based on online photos, reviews?

Or would you rather prefer to go down to a showroom/PC show and get a feel of the chair, actually plonk your ass down on it, and feel comfortable and make sure that it is a worthy throne to part with your cash?

You can say all you want about higher prices of SecretLab, DXRacer etc. and whether it is "worth it" compared to other random chairs online. Of course most consumers know the higher prices factor in the marketing costs and the convenience of getting a branded chair locally.

As a consumer myself, I sure as hell don't mind because guess what? I get to try the chair out for myself personally (and to seek my ass' approval) before paying. Plus, I get the chair fast, compared to shipping from overseas.

No matter how many dragons, tigers and unicorns online reviews say there are, they still can't beat actually getting a live experience of trying the product out yourself, especially one that is as personal as a chair which you'll be using for a long time.

Sent from LGE NEXUS 5X using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.