Property Fix rate or floating rate?

jasonlim1988

Anyone doing repricing refinancing has done their calculation and research come share ?

Any local uni student alumni in real estate degree which text book title was use for teaching calculation on real estate financing in Singapore context ?

andyhtc

Anyone doing repricing refinancing has done their calculation and research come share ?

Any local uni student alumni in real estate degree which text book title was use for teaching calculation on real estate financing in Singapore context ?

Are you looking at repricing or refinancing for yourself?

If yes, I suggest going for a fixed-rate now if you can secure one around 2.5% for 2-3 years.

I estimate that floating rates will match or exceed the fixed rates now by the end of the year.

iceblendedchoc

I refinanced 5 years DBS 1.5%. Didn’t do any research, my mortgage broker contacted us herself.

sohguanh

Can I ask only fixed for N years once cross will float correct? So you all gambling by N years can pay finish your mortgage loan?

reddevil0728

Can I ask only fixed for N years once cross will float correct? So you all gambling by N years can pay finish your mortgage loan?
why would it be a gamble?

no package that gives you pepertual fixed no?

sohguanh

why would it be a gamble?

no package that gives you pepertual fixed no?
For HDB loan almost fixed perpetual 2.6% but for bank loan I guess no. So it is sort gamble correct? Fixed for N years hope can pay finish before it float.

reddevil0728

For HDB loan almost fixed perpetual 2.6% but for bank loan I guess no. So it is sort gamble correct? Fixed for N years hope can pay finish before it float.
but unless you qualify for HDB loan, bank loan will be your other option. and many are on bank loan.

i don't think it would be right to conclude that can hope to pay finish.

because how likely is it to pay finish most of such loans in 5 years? because that's the typical length of such fix.

sohguanh

but unless you qualify for HDB loan, bank loan will be your other option. and many are on bank loan.

i don't think it would be right to conclude that can hope to pay finish.

because how likely is it to pay finish most of such loans in 5 years? because that's the typical length of such fix.
So after N years fixed refinance with another bank and repeat? Lucky mine is HDB loan less hassle. Best is don't borrow too much else first N years pay interest only seldom touch the principal cuz for HDB loan I check sibei siong for first N years. All the best to you all new mortgage loaner I finished mine after 15 years dun wan go through all that again

reddevil0728

So after N years fixed refinance with another bank and repeat? Lucky mine is HDB loan less hassle. Best is don't borrow too much else first N years pay interest only seldom touch the principal cuz for HDB loan I check sibei siong for first N years. All the best to you all new mortgage loaner I finished mine after 15 years dun wan go through all that again
Yea. That’s the usual approach.
Not everybody can buy HDB. And not everybody who can buy HDB can get HDB loan.

BBCWatcher

Dbs rising their fixed rates to 2.75% for 2 years
That rate is also listed on DBS's Web site as a 3 year fixed rate. It appears DBS has withdrawn their 5 year fixed rate mortgages, or at least they're not mentioned on their Web site.

From what I can tell 2.75% fixed for 2 (or 3) years is not a competitive rate at the moment.

Abcismyname

That rate is also listed on DBS's Web site as a 3 year fixed rate. It appears DBS has withdrawn their 5 year fixed rate mortgages, or at least they're not mentioned on their Web site.

From what I can tell 2.75% fixed for 2 (or 3) years is not a competitive rate at the moment.
Worried that other banks will follow DBS's bank rate.

lzydata

DBS has just raised its rates on all home loan packages to 2.75 per cent per annum, placing it the highest among the trio of local banks.

This comes after both UOB and OCBC raised rates on their home loan packages. OCBC and UOB’s fixed rates for 2-year home loan packages are at 2.65 per cent per annum.

About 3 months ago, the DBS rate was 1.65 per cent for a 2-year fixed loan and 1.85 per cent for 3-year loans.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/ba...te-to-275-per-annum-highest-among-local-banks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.