Property Investment Thread

NewInvestor

Nope for now, after i buy my first property then will have to pay. Just to check if this condo is good cause too cheap leh

Sent from sent from gagt using GAGT

Since you do not have to pay ABSD, you should consider buying a prop. You have a price advantage. Non first timers have to pay ABSD, thereby increasing their cost of prop. These people will make less than you when they sell.

One way of looking at today's property price level is that the price is "suppressed" because of ABSD and TDSR. In other words, if ABSD and TDSR vanished right away in a second, the price of property will probably be higher than it is right now.

These ABSD and TDSR rules today gives young first time buyers the advantage as well as the opportunity to buy; this opportunity is not expected to exist forever. Please note, however, that property prices may still go down in 2016. Whilst the conventional wisdom is that it is impossible to catch prop prices at its lowest, you should always try.

If you buy from a developer, please note that the price that the developer quotes may not be the "real price". It is a price which the developer, with careful marketing, believes he can convince people to buy at. The "real price" is found in the secondary market where ruthless buyers and sellers argue and negotiate to finally reach the "real price". Also, once you buy, you will be selling to the secondary market where the "real price" is your only guide. Therefore, please do your homework to find out, as much as you are able to, what is the "real price".

You asked whether 600K is a good price. If it is lower than the "real price", then it is a good price.

spiritGate

Number of units is small right...? so any upgrade would cost more.
Yea the unit quite small, more for rental i guess. (based on the property guru review)
Since you do not have to pay ABSD, you should consider buying a prop. You have a price advantage. Non first timers have to pay ABSD, thereby increasing their cost of prop. These people will make less than you when they sell.

One way of looking at today's property price level is that the price is "suppressed" because of ABSD and TDSR. In other words, if ABSD and TDSR vanished right away in a second, the price of property will probably be higher than it is right now.

These ABSD and TDSR rules today gives young first time buyers the advantage as well as the opportunity to buy; this opportunity is not expected to exist forever. Please note, however, that property prices may still go down in 2016. Whilst the conventional wisdom is that it is impossible to catch prop prices at its lowest, you should always try.

If you buy from a developer, please note that the price that the developer quotes may not be the "real price". It is a price which the developer, with careful marketing, believes he can convince people to buy at. The "real price" is found in the secondary market where ruthless buyers and sellers argue and negotiate to finally reach the "real price". Also, once you buy, you will be selling to the secondary market where the "real price" is your only guide. Therefore, please do your homework to find out, as much as you are able to, what is the "real price".

You asked whether 600K is a good price. If it is lower than the "real price", then it is a good price.
Yea i wait till 2016 then buy or probably 2017 cause now the condo also not cheap. Will have to negotiate
Cheap nooo good. Good noooo cheap.
Cheap cheap then got more room to rise hahahaa

Sent from sent from gagt using GAGT

OngHuatHuat

Share the same view with you on absd and tdsr.
That stupid tdsr is a real killer. It will mark up the monthly installment by a huge margin and mark down your income by a huge margin. Really bo Liao to the max. Normally businessmen or self employed tend to earn more right, fine, tdsr will mark down your income gao gao, see how you borrow money.
Even refinance is difficult now.

Hdb with msr suffers a bigger drop and people really think lower price will make it easier to buy? Unless there are a lot of weak hand sellers pushing properties out in the mArket at the same time.

They know it very well, once absd or tdsr is removed, the price will shoot up overnight, that's why they don dare to remove it.

These ABSD and TDSR rules today gives young first time buyers the advantage as well as the opportunity to buy; this opportunity is not expected to exist forever. Please note, however, that property prices may still go down in 2016. Whilst the conventional wisdom

OngHuatHuat

Now even hdb need to forgo the land bidding coz developers only willing to pay low price for land. Government is unwilling to stomach the loss and sell land at a cheap price.

One of the key reasons for expensive properties in Singapore is due to high land cost. Developers bid low but government unwilling to sell low. If they sell land at low price, next time launch also low price, but the government just unwilling to do it. Why? They wanna force the price down without hurting their own pocket. I want to see who is the one that can last long now, government, developer, home buyer or seller? :)

They used brute force to force down the price, now I wanna see how they going to reverse the whole situation without causing the price to shoot up overnight.

microtek

Share the same view with you on absd and tdsr.
That stupid tdsr is a real killer. It will mark up the monthly installment by a huge margin and mark down your income by a huge margin. Really bo Liao to the max. Normally businessmen or self employed tend to earn more right, fine, tdsr will mark down your income gao gao, see how you borrow money.
Even refinance is difficult now.

Hdb with msr suffers a bigger drop and people really think lower price will make it easier to buy? Unless there are a lot of weak hand sellers pushing properties out in the mArket at the same time.

They know it very well, once absd or tdsr is removed, the price will shoot up overnight, that's why they don dare to remove it.

That's why it's called cooling measures, without it, a 1BR OCR condo might be near $1m now with all the condo flippers around. :s13: Don't worry, next year a ton of condos are going to TOP (my condo including) and at this rate the government might partially relax the cooling measures. Or maybe look towards 2017 for the partial easing of the cooling measures. Property is always a hot favourite Singaporean investment.

OngHuatHuat

That's why it's called cooling measures, without it, a 1BR OCR condo might be near $1m now with all the condo flippers around. :s13: Don't worry, next year a ton of condos are going to TOP (my condo including) and at this rate the government might partially relax the cooling measures. Or maybe look towards 2017 for the partial easing of the cooling measures. Property is always a hot favourite Singaporean investment.

better don't remove it.
i am not ready yet.
if want remove, must wait till end 2016.

NewInvestor

Well, by definition, cooling measures will have to be removed one day. It will be interesting to see how it will be done. I personally know a number of people who are waiting to jump into the market the moment ABSD is partially or totally removed (yeah, they are not particularly concerned about TDSR).

It may be difficult to avoid a sudden jump in prices....

Quite an exciting time for Spore prop prices.

OngHuatHuat

Well, by definition, cooling measures will have to be removed one day. It will be interesting to see how it will be done. I personally know a number of people who are waiting to jump into the market the moment ABSD is partially or totally removed (yeah, they are not particularly concerned about TDSR).

It may be difficult to avoid a sudden jump in prices....

Quite an exciting time for Spore prop prices.

+1 to that group of people.
please include me as well.

spiritGate

V_for_Vanilla

Anyone seen the new Commonwealth Towers project? Located right next to Queenstown MRT

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/new-project-launch/commonwealth-towers-85751

It's smacked right in between the new fusionopolis area and CBD, likely to appreciate in value quickly but also seems like a very good place to live in. Thoughts?

I will give this project a miss. Only plus point is next to MRT. Otherwise the location is so-so. Unit sizes are also of the shoebox category. Large number of small units translates to fierce competition for tenants or illegal short term stayers (airbnb). Redhill side is better for own stay imo.

Genosis

Now even hdb need to forgo the land bidding coz developers only willing to pay low price for land. Government is unwilling to stomach the loss and sell land at a cheap price.

One of the key reasons for expensive properties in Singapore is due to high land cost. Developers bid low but government unwilling to sell low. If they sell land at low price, next time launch also low price, but the government just unwilling to do it. Why? They wanna force the price down without hurting their own pocket. I want to see who is the one that can last long now, government, developer, home buyer or seller? :)

They used brute force to force down the price, now I wanna see how they going to reverse the whole situation without causing the price to shoot up overnight.

If it ain't broken, dun fix it. =:p

microtek

Is it the right time to buy a private condo now?

If the government doesn't relax the cooling measures, the analysts are saying that prices will drop further next year as a lot of condos will be TOPing. :s13:

agenda

Looking at EC and BTO, with the income ceiling at 14k and 12k respectively, is it really balanced?

A 5 room BTO is probably 450k? And a 4 room EC is close to a million? Wouldn't buying the EC be more "expensive for the buyer"?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.