Property Investment Thread

doody_

Looking at EC and BTO, with the income ceiling at 14k and 12k respectively, is it really balanced?

A 5 room BTO is probably 450k? And a 4 room EC is close to a million? Wouldn't buying the EC be more "expensive for the buyer"?

It has never been balanced. Government should push the prices of EC downwards as they are almost approaching private condo pricing. Else, no point calling them "subsidised" and imposing the income limit.

focus1974

It has never been balanced. Government should push the prices of EC downwards as they are almost approaching private condo pricing. Else, no point calling them "subsidised" and imposing the income limit.

That is the wrong thing to do.
EC should never have existed and I find it ridiculous MND is still keeping the EC scheme. HDB mission is to provide affordable housing. To that end, HDB BTOs will serve its purpose. People who wants Condo, please go get a condo. If not, do settle for HDB BTOs. Why is the govt subsidizing the "rich" people who wants to experience condo lifestyle and also potentially reaping the gain from the conversion of EC to private condo status in 5yrs time.

I hope they realised the folly of it and abolish it(or as they say..put on hold) like the DBSS scheme.

NewInvestor

Doubt there is any stats on that since it's hard to get those information.

I meant among the people contributing to this thread. Maybe they can share their successes or pitfalls. According to my calculations, not many would have made money in sgd terms due to sgd uptrend in recent years.

OngHuatHuat

Take loan earn leh.

I meant among the people contributing to this thread. Maybe they can share their successes or pitfalls. According to my calculations, not many would have made money in sgd terms due to sgd uptrend in recent years.

agenda

If you take loan, let say 90 or 85 %, any depreciation in foreign currency means loan decreased as well.

Unless you buy property with hard cash.

So an overseas property gives you both asset and capital appreciation?

V_for_Vanilla

That is the wrong thing to do.
EC should never have existed and I find it ridiculous MND is still keeping the EC scheme. HDB mission is to provide affordable housing. To that end, HDB BTOs will serve its purpose. People who wants Condo, please go get a condo. If not, do settle for HDB BTOs. Why is the govt subsidizing the "rich" people who wants to experience condo lifestyle and also potentially reaping the gain from the conversion of EC to private condo status in 5yrs time.

I hope they realised the folly of it and abolish it(or as they say..put on hold) like the DBSS scheme.

Government gains from all these schemes by selling land to the highest bidders. Lesser income if just build and sell HDB BTO.

Perisher

I remember the last time I went to look at Aussie ppty, if the loan is in AUD, with SGD rising, AUD falling, you pay lesser each time. The reverse holds true too.
So even if you earn for a year or 2, is AUD gonna stay low for 10 or 20 years?

Commodities hit AUD hard but it will rise back so yeah. The case for buying Aussie ppty is that the overall pricing is lower as compare to before.

Hope I didn't get the AUD/SGD part wrong but the idea is there.

OngHuatHuat

Most people just view it at this point of time. You see most replies here you know already.
One thing for sure, ringgit harder to rise compared to AUD

I remember the last time I went to look at Aussie ppty, if the loan is in AUD, with SGD rising, AUD falling, you pay lesser each time. The reverse holds true too.
So even if you earn for a year or 2, is AUD gonna stay low for 10 or 20 years?

Commodities hit AUD hard but it will rise back so yeah. The case for buying Aussie ppty is that the overall pricing is lower as compare to before.

Hope I didn't get the AUD/SGD part wrong but the idea is there.

OngHuatHuat

Now government also cannot sell land at high price. They rather don't sell at all if the bidding price too low.

Government gains from all these schemes by selling land to the highest bidders. Lesser income if just build and sell HDB BTO.

henrylbh

Now government also cannot sell land at high price. They rather don't sell at all if the bidding price too low.

All the time, it has been like that. When buyers bid what they can afford in bad times or good times, the government sometimes thinks the bid is low and not fair and would withdraw the offer. Meaning bidding doesn't reflect the market situation or the government trying to lead the market?

OngHuatHuat

From my own observation, this situation didn't happen for the past few years. Last year a lot of developers started to submit very low bid.
They kid of lose confidence in property market already. :)
I think this year even lesser new launch.

All the time, it has been like that. When buyers bid what they can afford in bad times or good times, the government sometimes thinks the bid is low and not fair and would withdraw the offer. Meaning bidding doesn't reflect the market situation or the government trying to lead the market?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.