Property Investment Thread

GoldenBargain

I remember the last time I went to look at Aussie ppty, if the loan is in AUD, with SGD rising, AUD falling, you pay lesser each time. The reverse holds true too.
So even if you earn for a year or 2, is AUD gonna stay low for 10 or 20 years?

Commodities hit AUD hard but it will rise back so yeah. The case for buying Aussie ppty is that the overall pricing is lower as compare to before.

Hope I didn't get the AUD/SGD part wrong but the idea is there.

Not sure if my mentality is right. How I see it is....with the AUD low right now...and we have about 35% of the total cost ready to be plonked down, that should help when the FX goes up. Seeing as it is a rental property, the "income" earned in AUD will help mitigate the FX headwind when it comes around. Yes, we plan to finance the loan with SGD, we are being conservative, and want to make sure that we can finance the monthly installment without the help of the rental money. Whatever income we get from the rental, we will plonk it into the morgage when we refinance the loan (every two years or so).

Once the place is paid for, having our returns in AUD should work to our advantage in the long run seeing as historically the AUD is stronger than the SGD.

Does that make sense?

henrylbh

Once the place is paid for, having our returns in AUD should work to our advantage in the long run seeing as historically the AUD is stronger than the SGD.

Does that make sense?

Historically AUD stronger than SGD? History since when? Long ago, it was AUD1 to more than SGD3. Like USD, it has depreciated over time, though there were ups in the trend, but never recovered at all.

I know of some who were boosting that they were getting very good interest (that time about 8%+) and conversion rate was about 2 plus to AUD1.

focus1974

Government gains from all these schemes by selling land to the highest bidders. Lesser income if just build and sell HDB BTO.

If govt want to maximize gain, they would have parcel it out for PRIVATE development.

There is still a difference in land prices between Private developement and EC development.

So, even by removing EC, you can still sell to highest bidders by converting EC land plots to pte land plots.

V_for_Vanilla

If govt want to maximize gain, they would have parcel it out for PRIVATE development.

There is still a difference in land prices between Private developement and EC development.

So, even by removing EC, you can still sell to highest bidders by converting EC land plots to pte land plots.

They are parceling it out for private development. For example the Commonwealth Tower condo being built at Queenstown mrt was from HDB land bank. Sky Habitat condo at Bishan was also HDB land bank. They are doing it very carefully. If not there may be some political repercussion.

OngHuatHuat

Good location near mrt normally hdb land bank. Quite wasted for government revenue if build hdb.
Nowadays they tend to build condos near mrt then new bto normally far from mrt station. A norm. You pay for what you get.

Yishun north park is an example.

They are parceling it out for private development. For example the Commonwealth Tower condo being built at Queenstown mrt was from HDB land bank. Sky Habitat condo at Bishan was also HDB land bank. They are doing it very carefully. If not there may be some political repercussion.

GoldenBargain

Historically AUD stronger than SGD? History since when? Long ago, it was AUD1 to more than SGD3. Like USD, it has depreciated over time, though there were ups in the trend, but never recovered at all.

I know of some who were boosting that they were getting very good interest (that time about 8%+) and conversion rate was about 2 plus to AUD1.

Historically it is still stronger than the SGD right? might not be as much but still stronger... :)

OngHuatHuat

kOHDjKF.jpg

focus1974

My point exactly. Abolish EC :)

mummy1234

Hubby was just checking caveats of similar condo as ours sold and some were sold at $1600psf last year...we bought for $1400psf and 4 years up this April...a bit tempted to sell but not much profit only 100k...

shareholder

Seannie

Hubby was just checking caveats of similar condo as ours sold and some were sold at $1600psf last year...we bought for $1400psf and 4 years up this April...a bit tempted to sell but not much profit only 100k...

$100k profit not bad leh. Jin sakti. Your hubby found job already? He needs $ to use already so wanna sell yur condo?

mummy1234

you think? :eek:

so its not true then that his money is your money and your money is your money? :s13:

No, it is not true...my money is my money and his money is his money but we tell each other honestly how much we have...I think is because rental income is not guaranteed...

bastogne

100k before or after ssd? :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.