Property Investment Thread

Seannie

Do you guys think I should keep my MM condo at Sims Ave opposite Aljunied mrt or sell? What do you think of HDB studio and 2 bedders impact on MMs?

Keep dont sell. Time to buy more condos now before govt lift the cooling measures? Tiobo ahwin?

Seannie

sg properties got 3+% is decent if you compare with borrowing rate(2%) here.

my properties 3+% is very sucky in malaysia compared to
1. fd rate (3+%)
2. loan rate (4+%)
3. depreciation of rm (10+% last year)
but if there is significant appreciation the property value, you may be able to overcome those numbers

Msia properties are for flipping and speculation not for yield. Very low yield like u said. Significant appreciation in property value quite hard need to wait long long for the next cycle.

dork32

Msia properties are for flipping and speculation not for yield. Very low yield like u said. Significant appreciation in property value quite hard need to wait long long for the next cycle.

You are wrong. Malaysia property also show increase over the years. eg my lousy property there bought more than 10 years ago have doubled in price.

Seannie

Few years ago, I had an offer of $4800 to rent my terrace which I bought at $1.1 mil..that would give a rental yield of 5.24%....had another offer though much lower at $4200 6 months ago, which gives yield of 4.6%...so landed can actually give better yield than condo!

So why u never rent out yur terrace hse in sg???

NewInvestor

Buying property is always good, because in the long run the property price goes up compared to fiat currency. However if need to take a loan from the bank to buy a property, then it may no longer be a good purchase. When taking a loan from the bank, one is at the mercy of the rich who deposits with the bank. When the rich withdraws the cash, the bank can call back the loan immediately or raise interest rate to attract other rich depositor. Problem is when the rich withdraws the cash, it is because they have found a better investment elsewhere. So the bank will not be able to attract cash unless they can beat the other investments with better rates. Normally that will be too drastic an increase for the debtor to bear.

Zhun boh? Mai spread fear leh.

Having said that, now is not the time to buy property yet.

Seannie

You are wrong. Malaysia property also show increase over the years. eg my lousy property there bought more than 10 years ago have doubled in price.

That increase is due to the heavy speculation few years ago which has stopped now. So need to wait long for the next speculation but duno when. Fast maybe few years. Long could be 10-20yrs. I oso sold my lousy jb property at a good price. I waited 14yrs. I consider myself to be heng lor managed to catch the high. I waited so long thought the speculation will never come. Lucky it came and managed sold off. Got earn happy liao. Dont be greedy.

Now my cash all in posb. Waiting to accumulate cheap stocks at firesale prices. Sg stocks so attractive now. Like noble is one of them.

mummy1234

Oh, you also bought? May I know where and for how much? Is it rented out?

dork32

Oh, you also bought? May I know where and for how much? Is it rented out?

bukit indah, last time buy only 160k lousy terrace. more than 10 years already. now worth 300k. rental only 1000rm. rm1000/300k is also 3+%. not very high. my wife jiu hu mei. can buy and buy cheap place under her name.

Seannie

Good yield if you are referring to sg property. But yield also depends on whether you take origi al cost or current market value as the base.

I think fair to take into consideration the original cost. No? Rental not sale leh so can take current MV as base mah? Sorry im a financial noob pls advise me.

mummy1234

bukit indah, last time buy only 160k lousy terrace. more than 10 years already. now worth 300k. rental only 1000rm. rm1000/300k is also 3+%. not very high. my wife jiu hu mei. can buy and buy cheap place under her name.

Oh your Wife is Malaysian, very convenient then...can buy Malaysian car and live there and she can drive u to Sg...

Seannie

Oh i see.. then dont rent out lar. Make it a weekend hse. Go in shopping do manucure then stay for weekend shiok mah. Like stacation. Rent so little for what.

RM1000 only like sgd300. Cant do nothing.

Seannie

Oh your Wife is Malaysian, very convenient then...can buy Malaysian car and live there and she can drive u to Sg...

No... pls dont suggest these kind of things. Traffic jam will kill ahdork. Unless wife drive him to custom then he ownself walk across causeway. Dont know whether they still allow to walk across causeway or not. Lastime i know morning is packed everyone waiting for public bus or bus kilang all walk across causeway cos buses all stuck. Cars even worse.

dork32

wife is pr. cannot drive malaysian car here. told you that to live there you have to leave home at 4am everyday and reach back at 10 pm. i may retire there but will never stay there while i work here.

dork32

Oh i see.. then dont rent out lar. Make it a weekend hse. Go in shopping do manucure then stay for weekend shiok mah. Like stacation. Rent so little for what.

RM1000 only like sgd300. Cant do nothing.

that is why i say it is lousy. 1 year ago rm1000 still got sgd400, today really jialat. but still it is better than nothing.

mummy1234

that is why i say it is lousy. 1 year ago rm1000 still got sgd400, today really jialat. but still it is better than nothing.

How big is the land and built up? The rental through the years helped you pay for the house so not that lousy lah...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.