Deathstrike
Can advise how much is the property tax for a 3 bedders 100 sqm EC?
Y u so bad....i not yet pay ppty tax for ec. Now still stay hdb. Looking to upgrade.
You not concerned with maintenance fee? Don't ever believe what the developers tell you. The developer told me it's $180 pm for 2 bedder, but the actual came to $240 and then increased to $280 after 2 years. Property tax was $600 but now $540.
Hi Deathstrike,
Property Tax is calculated based on the Annual Value (AV) of your property. AV is generally valued at the annual amount of rent that your property can fetch based on similar units (location, property type, size etc). AV is determined by IRAS and you may look for recent rental transactions on URA or HDB websites.
Let's say for private property rentals, you may refer to this URA website to search for recent rental stats based on the name of your EC: http://www.ura.gov.sg/realEstateIIWeb/resiRental/search.action#tab . Generally, different locations and size of EC fetches different rent per month. Assuming that your EC is 1 King Albert Park, your monthly rent is approx $2,500. In this case, a simple calculation of the flat's AV is $30,000 ($2,500x12).
Maintenance fees reasonable lah...
Breakdown cost below to let u see..... But those no car, dun exercise like go gym, swim then its better stay HDB, share public pool & public lot or public exercise* corner lor...
We pay higher price for privilege use.
Like banking, also got priority bank isnt it.
Lets say the below:
Carpark $120/mth
Gym $100 (family of 2, use twice/week=16times)
Pool $30 (family of 4, swim once/week=16times)
Above cost already $250, havent include bus fare(taxi) go & back to gym & pool.
Function room (little sum for booking), facilities, bbq.
U see above not even yet cover the security & maintaining the landscape, cleaning, plant, walkway utilities lightings, your access pass to gate etc.
See all these cost abt $300-$350 for bigger units. So smaller unit pay $250 still ok.
This is lifestyle... Different level enjoy different luxury. I find it still back to what u pay is what u get.
Sent from Iphone10 using GAGT
AV is generally based on rental and iras appears to have strange ways of deriving the numbers.
In 2013, the AV of my 3rm hdb flat in Bedok was $8,700 and rental was about $1,900 to $2,000 (for size of 82sm).
My EA flat in the same vicinity was $12,000 and rental was about $3,000 (for size of 143sm). That was the last rental I collected.
But my EC flat in Senkang vicinity? AV was $24,000 and rental is about $2,500 to $2,800 (for size of 77sm only, including aircon ledge!).
Hard to understand the huge different in size, rental and location of the last 2 properties, not counting the difference in maintenance fee that would widen the net rental.
hm, by right all properties should be valued based on their their monthly rent that they can fetch. But i guess IRAS values the AVs of private housing markedly higher than public housing aka HDBs.
This might sound counter intuitive but the govt should have many considerations about valuing the public properties lower. About 80% of Singaporeans stay in HDB and if they value it as per their rentals, alot of people would not be afford the property tax if they rent it out, some may be due to financial crisis. A rough guess: 3 room flat in AMK currently pays about $800 in property tax should it be rented out which is relatively high for a financial strapped owner. If they increase it wholesale, everyone will not be able to pay, especially the retirees.
As long as the AV they raise is reasonable for private properties (i.e. the rent you fetch annually is higher than AV raised), i think it's fair. If AV raised is higher than your rent, you can object with your rent as a justification.