Proposal Ring - Part 2

smellytoi

can't think of a title yet

hi, this is my first post after reading almost all comments here in 2 weeks, there are some very active brothers here that gaves me alot of basic knowledge before i meet any of the private jewellers. I will like to share my personal experience here

I am a msian, so i dunno bout the price in sg. i just heard that its super expensive in sg compared to Tomei in msia. i went in lee hwa others at the jewel street in orchard, found them very expensive with not even triple ex for many of their diamonds. service is somewhat like msian jewel chains.
And then i went to Lovis at far east. :s22: i went to the far east beside hyatt, walk around and found no lovis diamonds. so i went up to the information counter and found out that i got the wrong far east. I choose to go lovis because my buddy just got a stone from them and he ask me to go there so i went. service is poor, not to mention who. attitude is quite pushy, and telling me alot of incorrect information which i only found out after i discovered this forum.

got a fewdiamond specs from them, all at flat carat size (0.70,0.60, 0.80) and only the 4c details and thats it. i didnt even aked for the gia number.
i then tried to google for reviews about lovis, found none and somehow found this forum. From here I found out that my visit to lovis is just like sending a sheep to the lions den. Such a noob, sure kena play play by them. Started reading and just can’t stop. My interest towards the diamonds are getting deeper. I suddenly doubt that am I purchasing the ring to propose to myself or what. Haiz. Diamonds are just so interesting.

From this forum I got to know about jannpaul. After seeing so many reviews bout them, I started to email jp and got an appointment this coming Friday.

Last night I went to white dwarf. Its like renting 2 rooms inside another company. The one talking to me is the owner of the company from what he said to be. And I told them that I actually read quite a few bad reviews about them in harwareforum but I still wanna come n see. Their signature WD diamonds are very good, I like it. But the ideal diamonds they have, I think differs a lot between each other. Not quite obvious imperfections but it just irritates my nerves, so finally I picked 2 stones as my reference. 1 is a WD super ideal and another is normal Ideal. For my review, WD peeps are not fulltime, but at least the gentleman that assist me, knows a whole loads of stuffs. And the attitude was very good, if compare to those lee hwa, n other branded chains, and lovisdiamonds. One thing bad is, when they bring in the stones, they were charged gst for it, and if i buy the stones i cannot claim them in the airpost because they havent reach the qualifications to let their customers claim gst or something like that. so foreigners take note lah.

I am going to compare this Friday with jannpaul this Friday and I believe I am going to have more choices (super ideal is what i m going for), and more choices actually gives me headache, too many to choose from, and maybe if i see the brelia i may love it too.....so hope I can make my choice. No time to go to other vivo, lovida etc, not staying long time in sg.

One thing I am curious about this forum, the way everyone post about jannpaul is just talking about how good are they. But when some one just mention the word white dwarf or mention about something bad about jannpaul, the id will be banned, and the same story will be out saying that id has been bought. Well I do believe there might be some fishy stuffs behind the internet, but I don’t think des126 is a spy from wd, from what I see in the previous post he made. How in the world our forum moderator can know he is a spy, I highly doubt this type of accusation, because des is quite active and quite helpful.

Many consumers came here to seek different reviews from different stores and different stones, not any store that is dominating the whole forum which made it quite strange and something missing. I can even say that jannpaul hire lots of peeps to be the experts here to try to build up all the reputations and boost their business, rite? Well that’s just my personal opinion lah.

Cheers.

Lurker_13

smellytoi, thanks for sharing your diamond hunting experience. I too have gone around most of the jewelry chains in SG before going to JP. And I must say it was such a relief! No I am not "hired" by JP to put the positive feedback here though I am not an "expert". =:p

bedposthalo

hope this helps. didnt realise the bottom part of the cert was cutoff when i took the pic.. not sure if anything is needed from there

The diamond has a HCA score of 3.9..
I think this is caused by the pavilion angle of 41.4 which is steeper than normal.. this can result it light leakages on the table.
The table/depth is 60/60 which is known to have light leakages problems.
The 60% table can make the diamond look abit bigger or wider, but you will be sacrificing on the brilliance for it.

The star facets and lower half is not a good combo.. for a lower half to be 75%, the star facet is only 45% (too small). This means the diamond will have smaller sparkles.

Just by looking at the proportions, I'm pretty sure this diamond would not look good under the ASET scope.. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong :)

I think you should try to go for at least a triple excellent diamond.

P.S. Make sure the feather inclusion is not on the girdle!

Hi All,

I found this diamond at a local jeweller. Please advise if $6,800 is a reasonable price for a diamond with the following specs (without ring setting).

GIA diamond dossier
Carat weight : 0.83
Color grade : F
Clarity grade : VS2
Cut grade : Excellent
Clarity characteristic : Cloud, Crystal
Polish : Excellent
Symmetry : Excellent
Fluorescence : None
HCA Rating : 0.7

Do you have the scope photos of a diamond? A poor performing diamond can still have a low HCA rating. It'll be better to analyze it with the cert and scope pictures :)

Versus13

Do you have the scope photos of a diamond? A poor performing diamond can still have a low HCA rating. It'll be better to analyze it with the cert and scope pictures :)

I do not have the scope photos as the jeweller didn't take any scope pics. Any independent company/lab in SG that can help to take scope pics? Please advice.

Here are the proportions in GIA cert.

PROPORTIONS
Depth 60.1%
Table 57 %
Crown Angle 32.5°
Crown Height 14.0%
Pavilion Angle 41.0°
Pavilion Depth 43.5%
Star Length 50%
Lower Half 80%
Girdle Thin to Medium, Faceted, 3.0%
Culet None

hollander

hi, this is my first post after reading almost all comments here in 2 weeks, there are some very active brothers here that gaves me alot of basic knowledge before i meet any of the private jewellers. I will like to share my personal experience here

I am a msian, so i dunno bout the price in sg. i just heard that its super expensive in sg compared to Tomei in msia. i went in lee hwa others at the jewel street in orchard, found them very expensive with not even triple ex for many of their diamonds. service is somewhat like msian jewel chains.
And then i went to Lovis at far east. :s22: i went to the far east beside hyatt, walk around and found no lovis diamonds. so i went up to the information counter and found out that i got the wrong far east. I choose to go lovis because my buddy just got a stone from them and he ask me to go there so i went. service is poor, not to mention who. attitude is quite pushy, and telling me alot of incorrect information which i only found out after i discovered this forum.

got a fewdiamond specs from them, all at flat carat size (0.70,0.60, 0.80) and only the 4c details and thats it. i didnt even aked for the gia number.
i then tried to google for reviews about lovis, found none and somehow found this forum. From here I found out that my visit to lovis is just like sending a sheep to the lions den. Such a noob, sure kena play play by them. Started reading and just can’t stop. My interest towards the diamonds are getting deeper. I suddenly doubt that am I purchasing the ring to propose to myself or what. Haiz. Diamonds are just so interesting.

From this forum I got to know about jannpaul. After seeing so many reviews bout them, I started to email jp and got an appointment this coming Friday.

Last night I went to white dwarf. Its like renting 2 rooms inside another company. The one talking to me is the owner of the company from what he said to be. And I told them that I actually read quite a few bad reviews about them in harwareforum but I still wanna come n see. Their signature WD diamonds are very good, I like it. But the ideal diamonds they have, I think differs a lot between each other. Not quite obvious imperfections but it just irritates my nerves, so finally I picked 2 stones as my reference. 1 is a WD super ideal and another is normal Ideal. For my review, WD peeps are not fulltime, but at least the gentleman that assist me, knows a whole loads of stuffs. And the attitude was very good, if compare to those lee hwa, n other branded chains, and lovisdiamonds. One thing bad is, when they bring in the stones, they were charged gst for it, and if i buy the stones i cannot claim them in the airpost because they havent reach the qualifications to let their customers claim gst or something like that. so foreigners take note lah.

I am going to compare this Friday with jannpaul this Friday and I believe I am going to have more choices (super ideal is what i m going for), and more choices actually gives me headache, too many to choose from, and maybe if i see the brelia i may love it too.....so hope I can make my choice. No time to go to other vivo, lovida etc, not staying long time in sg.

One thing I am curious about this forum, the way everyone post about jannpaul is just talking about how good are they. But when some one just mention the word white dwarf or mention about something bad about jannpaul, the id will be banned, and the same story will be out saying that id has been bought. Well I do believe there might be some fishy stuffs behind the internet, but I don’t think des126 is a spy from wd, from what I see in the previous post he made. How in the world our forum moderator can know he is a spy, I highly doubt this type of accusation, because des is quite active and quite helpful.

Many consumers came here to seek different reviews from different stores and different stones, not any store that is dominating the whole forum which made it quite strange and something missing. I can even say that jannpaul hire lots of peeps to be the experts here to try to build up all the reputations and boost their business, rite? Well that’s just my personal opinion lah.

Cheers.

Very nice one, and thats good thing that all us are doing our assignments before hand, It is nice that you have went to all this shops for comparison. After all of this, you are still the one who will decice, forum will only be your guideline (if you can consider).

And yes, I am as well a previous customer of JP, not once.. but twice. And I am very happy with their service. About Shops "hiring" people to promote here in HZ, it could be..... but I think most of us here in this thread are doing pro-bono, and base on legit experience.

Nichi

The diamond has a HCA score of 3.9..
I think this is caused by the pavilion angle of 41.4 which is steeper than normal.. this can result it light leakages on the table.
The table/depth is 60/60 which is known to have light leakages problems.
The 60% table can make the diamond look abit bigger or wider, but you will be sacrificing on the brilliance for it.

The star facets and lower half is not a good combo.. for a lower half to be 75%, the star facet is only 45% (too small). This means the diamond will have smaller sparkles.

Just by looking at the proportions, I'm pretty sure this diamond would not look good under the ASET scope.. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong :)

I think you should try to go for at least a triple excellent diamond.

P.S. Make sure the feather inclusion is not on the girdle!

hmm.. i guess its not a really good rock then but considering the price of $5100 nett?

Prices from JP that i got for their super ideal-

0.51 G VS2
Price: $3400

0.54 D VS2
Price: $4400

0.58 E VS1
Price: $4650

0.71 F VVS1
Price: $7600

0.74 G VVS1
Price: $6900

0.75 F VS1
Price: $7700

0.79 G VS1
Price: $7500

hollander

I do not have the scope photos as the jeweller didn't take any scope pics. Any independent company/lab in SG that can help to take scope pics? Please advice.

PROPORTIONS
Depth 60.1%
Table 57 %
Crown Angle 32.5°
Crown Height 14.0%
Pavilion Angle 41.0°
Pavilion Depth 43.5%
Star Length 50%
Lower Half 80%
Culet None

proportions seems to be okay, the scope images are important in making your decision, but then again very few of them can offer you that, and I am not sure if we have someone here who have done that, but you can still try.

Hoping that someone here have all the tools for the scope images, the tools are expensive i supposed ;-)

bedposthalo

Cheers.

Dear Members,

Thanks for your interest in proposal rings and your strong contributions to this thread.

The moderating team at HardwareZone appreciates the reliability and credibility of our members' posts and understand the importance of impartiality in the forums.

With this statement in mind, des126 and desmond126 have been permanently banned without reprieve as we have been presented with irrefutable and classified evidence that these accounts belong to a sole individual who has been posting on behalf of WhiteDwarf Pte Ltd.

I don't think it's that easy to be banned on the forum just by sharing your opinion. There has been banned IDs here and they all are for a reason. The IDs were banned for self-advertising. In the last proposal ring thread 1, IDs were banned because they had the same IP address. I think it was after the fiasco of Vivo diamonds buying IDs to spread rumours and promoting himself that the forum became messy.. He even somehow got a hold of a moderator ID to ban whoever he wanted. The admin cleared that up and have since banned all those bought IDs. The latest was Whitedwarf's ban on Des126 and Desmond126. I think after the Vivo buying IDs thing, the moderators stepped on regulating the forum. I wonder what the "irrefutable and classified evidence" are... maybe you can try asking them.. I would be interested to know too =:p HWZ CSI team is strong :s13:
Jokes aside, a simple read on Desmond126 and Des126 past posts and online search, you can find the link yourself.

Anyway, you should take what people say with a pinch of salt. Some members here are popular in the community and you can see their join date and past posts. Frankly, you just joined and this is your first posts and you're throwing mud at everyone already.. :sad:

hollander

hmm.. i guess its not a really good rock then but considering the price of $5100 nett?

0.51 G VS2

0.54 D VS2

0.58 E VS1

0.71 F VVS1

0.74 G VVS1

0.75 F VS1

0.79 G VS1

I think one of the bro's here is also considering this:

0.71 F VVS1

so better be fast ;-)

bedposthalo

0.51 G VS2

0.54 D VS2

0.58 E VS1

0.71 F VVS1

0.74 G VVS1

0.75 F VS1

0.79 G VS1

You can't compare a Super Ideal Cut and a non-triple Excellent prices together. It's like 3 categories down in standard.. of course the lower category would be cheaper.

Like you said bro, it's not a good rock and that's why the price is low.

smellytoi

I don't think it's that easy to be banned on the forum just by sharing your opinion. There has been banned IDs here and they all are for a reason. The IDs were banned for self-advertising. In the last proposal ring thread 1, IDs were banned because they had the same IP address. I think it was after the fiasco of Vivo diamonds buying IDs to spread rumours and promoting himself that the forum became messy.. He even somehow got a hold of a moderator ID to ban whoever he wanted. The admin cleared that up and have since banned all those bought IDs. The latest was Whitedwarf's ban on Des126 and Desmond126. I think after the Vivo buying IDs thing, the moderators stepped on regulating the forum. I wonder what the "irrefutable and classified evidence" are... maybe you can try asking them.. I would be interested to know too =:p HWZ CSI team is strong :s13:
Jokes aside, a simple read on Desmond126 and Des126 past posts and online search, you can find the link yourself.

Anyway, you should take what people say with a pinch of salt. Some members here are popular in the community and you can see their join date and past posts. Frankly, you just joined and this is your first posts and you're throwing mud at everyone already.. :sad:
Hi friend, didnt know that i offended u all. wasnt my intention to throw mud at everyone, just only my own opinion and its very subjective. i respect every veteran senior members here and i do mentioned it in my previous message.
Sorry again if i offend u all.

smellytoi

Very nice one, and thats good thing that all us are doing our assignments before hand, It is nice that you have went to all this shops for comparison. After all of this, you are still the one who will decice, forum will only be your guideline (if you can consider).

And yes, I am as well a previous customer of JP, not once.. but twice. And I am very happy with their service. About Shops "hiring" people to promote here in HZ, it could be..... but I think most of us here in this thread are doing pro-bono, and base on legit experience.
yes Sir, i indeed saw your post since the very early threads. learnt alot from u. :D

Versus13

proportions seems to be okay, the scope images are important in making your decision, but then again very few of them can offer you that, and I am not sure if we have someone here who have done that, but you can still try.

Hoping that someone here have all the tools for the scope images, the tools are expensive i supposed ;-)

Hi Hollander,

Thank you. Which website have the info on the proportions for a ideal cut diamond?

Yup, many didn't carry the tools for the scope images. Hopefully some bros here have lobang to find one who can do scoping :)

bedposthalo

Hi friend, didnt know that i offended u all. wasnt my intention to throw mud at everyone, just only my own opinion and its very subjective. i respect every veteran senior members here and i do mentioned it in my previous message.
Sorry again if i offend u all.

No problem, none taken :)
I understand where you are coming from too..

Hi Hollander,

Thank you. Which website have the info on the proportions for a ideal cut diamond?

Yup, many didn't carry the tools for the scope images. Hopefully some bros here have lobang to find one who can do scoping :)

There several useful websites online.
You can try Hearts & Arrows
I started from there first.. it's easier to read and understand.
I remember some bros here buying the scopes before.. can try borrowing from them.
I wonder if you can bring the diamond to a store that have the scopes.. they might even let you use their equipment for your own diamond

bedposthalo

PROPORTIONS
Depth 60.1%
Table 57 %
Crown Angle 32.5°
Crown Height 14.0%
Pavilion Angle 41.0°
Pavilion Depth 43.5%
Star Length 50%
Lower Half 80%
Culet None

32.5° crown angle is abit too shallow = weaker light return (less bright)

hollander

Thank you for the advice..Does it really matter to pay premium price (Usually 30% higher) to get a perfect H&A or a GIA triple Ex will do?

it depends on you Bro, why we wanted to have an almost perfect H&A pattern is because of its fire and scintillation and you are correct that it comes with a premium price.

if you are happy on the fire and scintillation of just a 3EX GIA certed diamond that does not exhibit a good H&A then it is up to you.

Normally you will see 3EX for GIA Cert and Ideal for AGS (0,0,0) then you have to filter and you must have a good eye on this. 3EX and (000) does not mean that you have a good H&A pattern.

Having a 3EX or Ideal 000 is more than just the re-sale value afterwards, it is more of the proportions that leads to ultimate brilliance of your diamond.

Versus13

it depends on you Bro, why we wanted to have an almost perfect H&A pattern is because of its fire and scintillation and you are correct that it comes with a premium price.

if you are happy on the fire and scintillation of just a 3EX GIA certed diamond that does not exhibit a good H&A then it is up to you.

Normally you will see 3EX for GIA Cert and Ideal for AGS (0,0,0) then you have to filter and you must have a good eye on this. 3EX and (000) does not mean that you have a good H&A pattern.

Having a 3EX or Ideal 000 is more than just the re-sale value afterwards, it is more of the proportions that leads to ultimate brilliance of your diamond.

Bro, Thank you for the advice. What is the guideline for the proportions which can leads to finding an ultimate brilliance diamond?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.