Proposal Ring - Part 2

quotient

wen ni ee sia

If 0.4, don't need to get to clear and shiny one IMO, spend the money on a bigger size. HEhe.. I am speaking from a gal's perspective but of course depending on what ur gf is like. ;)

but i wan shiny shiny one le. how?

Bro.. I bought their Cushion Brellia .4ct+ F VS1 with customized setting everything under 3k. I think $5k can get you a .6ct diamond in JP liao.

wow issit? i din noe leh.

Tusk_eaterlol

Bought my ring from JP years ago. My mum likes my ring alot and decided to get one herself for my wedding dinner.. lol

It's not a big rock.. she buy for shiok only. Super ideal cut damage 2.2k

These are the photos I requested.

IWa8Gzv.jpg

CWzxPRN.jpg

Pr3TLQo.jpg

On mum's hand..

MqopsSA.jpg

ahnong

thanks for your suggestion for a larger rock... she doesn't have a special liking on diamonds, but what i feel is to get something that doesn't too puny or too heavy on her finger.
If 0.4, don't need to get to clear and shiny one IMO, spend the money on a bigger size. HEhe.. I am speaking from a gal's perspective but of course depending on what ur gf is like. ;)

hi there was the purchase recent? appreciate to see photos of it... ^^
Bro.. I bought their Cushion Brellia .4ct+ F VS1 with customized setting everything under 3k. I think $5k can get you a .6ct diamond in JP liao.

thank you very much...will consider this company :)
U can try Lovis.. $2.5k should be able to get a nice 0.4ct ring.. take a look at their website, and i would also recommend u go to the mandarin gallery outlet if convenient..

mizumi

thanks for your suggestion for a larger rock... she doesn't have a special liking on diamonds, but what i feel is to get something that doesn't too puny or too heavy on her finger.

hi there was the purchase recent? appreciate to see photos of it... ^^

thank you very much...will consider this company :)

If it helps I got my fiancé a Brellia 0.498 F VVS1 for slightly above 4.1k setting included. Pic below.

L6MjNxM.jpg

delmonc

spLeenfuL

Bought my ring from JP years ago. My mum likes my ring alot and decided to get one herself for my wedding dinner.. lol

It's not a big rock.. she buy for shiok only. Super ideal cut damage 2.2k

These are the photos I requested.

IWa8Gzv.jpg

CWzxPRN.jpg

Pr3TLQo.jpg

On mum's hand..

MqopsSA.jpg

For 2k.. the diamond looks quite big le

spLeenfuL

Hi guys...

Have been reading up on diamond for a proposal. Anyone mind giving opinion on the below 2 choice I picked?

1. Whiteflash (SGD3.5k)
Diamond | 0.601 ct H VS2 A CUT ABOVE® Hearts and Arrows Super Ideal Round Cut Loose Diamond AGS Certified | 3114492

0.601, H, VS2,Ideal Cut

2. Meyson (SGD3.7k)
0.51, G,VS2, Ex cut, GIA|627901

Or JannPaul would provide a better choice given my budget is about 4.2k with setting.

Thanks and sorry for the formatting of the post.

1. The inclusions seems quite obvious le.. The front of the diamond have black spots in the middle. The hearts have quite alot of black spots. Not sure if its really eye clean or not. Not sure if its me, the arrows on the bottom half arrows looks shorter and thinner. I think there are better ACA diamonds..

2. For 3.7k, it can get you a Super ideal cut 0.5ct G VS2 with JP, iirc.
But they don't have H colors.

Gothika

Thanks for the advise guys! Yeah, after researching.. Cut is the most important. HCA tool is definitely useful in this though most triple excellent diamonds I saw failed the test miserably.. I'm surprised at how many bad triple excellent diamonds are out there.

Anyway, I went to JP and they seem to be the diamond guruhs. Saw some of their other types of cuts too.. Now I'm interested in the Solasfera.. haha. It sparkles more than the usual rounds. They said the HCA score won't be applicable cos it has higher facets. So only can use the scopes.

I shortlisted the Solasfera 0.43 E VVS2. With the gold setting added in, it is about 3.9k. Very tempted on this one but haven't confirmed yet.. Think I should pull the trigger?? Their Solasfera stocks are quite limited and worried that it will be sold soon..

If it helps, I bought mine last year. Solasfera too but smaller.. 0.3ct.
My gf wears it proudly :D

delmonc

1. The inclusions seems quite obvious le.. The front of the diamond have black spots in the middle. The hearts have quite alot of black spots. Not sure if its really eye clean or not. Not sure if its me, the arrows on the bottom half arrows looks shorter and thinner. I think there are better ACA diamonds..

2. For 3.7k, it can get you a Super ideal cut 0.5ct G VS2 with JP, iirc.
But they don't have H colors.

Woah, thanks for the advice. Learn something new.

m.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-3055256.htm

This would probably look better? I try putting the spec on a hca calculator and got 1.1. Does it mean brighter?

spLeenfuL

Woah, thanks for the advice. Learn something new.

m.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-3055256.htm

This would probably look better? I try putting the spec on a hca calculator and got 1.1. Does it mean brighter?

No problem! We are all learning too :)

It's a 0.50 carat le. I would avoid those rounded carat sizes.. A 0.49 carat will be much better value for money and will be priced much cheaper.. And I doubt you will be able to be a 0.01 carat size difference. If not, go for 0.5x carat. The cert has quite alot of inclusions dots too..

Maybe other bros can comment too? :)

Low HCA score = brighter and better fire since it measures the light return. It checks the scintillation and spread too. But to check the overall brilliance, you still need to use the diff scopes. Just use HCA score to reject the ones over 1.4

lcyMaGiX

Hi Guys, is it true that once the diamond is in the setting, we cannot really see the 8 arrows(contrast) in the sparkles?

The diamonds used in JP videos are mostly just the diamond(without the setting), thus we can see the arrows clearly under different lightings. I know they have one video with diamond on settings and the 8 arrows are still visible.

My JP Super Ideal just have random "dotted" sparkles, after it is on the 4-prong setting. Is my diamond a poor one?

Grizz.P

Hi Guys, is it true that once the diamond is in the setting, we cannot really see the 8 arrows(contrast) in the sparkles?

The diamonds used in JP videos are mostly just the diamond(without the setting), thus we can see the arrows clearly under different lightings. I know they have one video with diamond on settings and the 8 arrows are still visible.

My JP Super Ideal just have random "dotted" sparkles, after it is on the 4-prong setting. Is my diamond a poor one?

When it's set you can still see the arrows. They are from the contrast parts - the blue areas on the ASET scope. But you'll only be able to see if when the diamond is facing straight at you. It gets greyish/black from the reflection of your own head. At other angles, the arrows will become fire (colorful). JP have videos on their diamonds set on 4 and 6 prongs setting too.

Did you get their Super ideal cut with the scopes? I suspect the "dots" your seeing might be dust. You can try washing your ring and cleaning it with a brush.

lcyMaGiX

When it's set you can still see the arrows. They are from the contrast parts - the blue areas on the ASET scope. But you'll only be able to see if when the diamond is facing straight at you. It gets greyish/black from the reflection of your own head. At other angles, the arrows will become fire (colorful). JP have videos on their diamonds set on 4 and 6 prongs setting too.

Did you get their Super ideal cut with the scopes? I suspect the "dots" your seeing might be dust. You can try washing your ring and cleaning it with a brush.

well.. my ASET pics are on reply #6193 on page 207.
I just can't see the black arrows clearly no matter the angle and lightings I look at it :(

Grizz.P

well.. my ASET pics are on reply #6193 on page 207.
I just can't see the black arrows clearly no matter the angle and lightings I look at it :(

Bro give it a wash. I highly suspect it's because it's dirty. Had mine washed properly and looks like new =:p

Your scope pics looks great like all other Super ideals from JP.

You need to look at the diamond at a 90 degree angle to see the arrows. Btw, did you get the hearts/arrows scope?

lcyMaGiX

Bro give it a wash. I highly suspect it's because it's dirty. Had mine washed properly and looks like new =:p

Your scope pics looks great like all other Super ideals from JP.

You need to look at the diamond at a 90 degree angle to see the arrows. Btw, did you get the hearts/arrows scope?

Thanks bro, I just received the ring one week ago so don't think it is dirty. Very hard to see the contrast. I found out from the tips online that I have to cover up the bottom of the diamond to block out light. this helps a little but still, in the JP videos they didn't have to cover the bottom of the diamond. Haha

Grizz.P

Thanks bro, I just received the ring one week ago so don't think it is dirty. Very hard to see the contrast. I found out from the tips online that I have to cover up the bottom of the diamond to block out light. this helps a little but still, in the JP videos they didn't have to cover the bottom of the diamond. Haha

Np, I think its your distance and angle too. I find that it's clearer when the diamond is about half an arms length from my eyes.. It's harder if it's too close

navarro_t

Hi all, i'm a noob in diamond and of cos buying for the first time... is playing with the bluenile website.

30YwGEu.jpg

is this a good deal at S$3088 (exclude setting and tax)? ;)

7lirmEt.jpg

of this at S$2322 (exclude setting and tax)? ;)

mission7

Just doing a survey, I just bought a diamond from Jann... 0.8 carat and all the excellent quality like E colour and so on and proposed to my gf. She accepted it and except for the first 4-5 times when we go out, i see her wearing it.

Other than that, for the past 3 weeks i see that she does not wear the ring anymore and yes, i see her everyday. The reason she gave is she does not really likes to wear a ring.

Our relationship is still good, but just wondering if its the norm and i am thinking too much?

bedposthalo

Hi all, i'm a noob in diamond and of cos buying for the first time... is playing with the bluenile website.

30YwGEu.jpg

is this a good deal at S$3088 (exclude setting and tax)? ;)

7lirmEt.jpg

of this at S$2322 (exclude setting and tax)? ;)

0.50 D VVS1

- Don't get flat carats like 0.50. A 0.4+++ will cost much cheaper and it'll be hard to see the difference.
- It's not a triple Excellent. The Symmetry is Very Good only.
- It has medium blue fluorescence.. That's a super bad combo for a D VVS1. The fluorescence will cancel out your diamonds "whiteness" and clarity.
- HCA score very high

4MpvuID.jpg

0.45 D VS1

- It's a steep deep. High depth %, high crown and high pavilion angle. This diamond will look much smaller than a proper 0.45ct because its cut way too long.
- HCA score also very high

KXSYnAH.jpg

Overall, both diamond on "paper" can look good because of color and clarity, but if you take a closer look at the proportions and other details, they don't give good value for money. Try to at least filter the HCA scores to be less than 1.4 :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.