Proposal Ring - Part 2

HYHY123

They look good. Mine looks the same with the green circle in the middle. It's not meant to be a full round. Good thing about JP is their strict standards. If something's not right, it won't be in their super ideal cut alreadi. Nice size btw.. 0.77 :)

Thanks for replying, was pretty worried that the green circle will affect the light return.. Yup I love the size too!

starsparkle

They look good. Mine looks the same with the green circle in the middle. It's not meant to be a full round. Good thing about JP is their strict standards. If something's not right, it won't be in their super ideal cut alreadi. Nice size btw.. 0.77 :)

How is this? :s13:

MA9Zntp.jpg

ItRPhai.jpg

h5iTbzV.jpg

Ew6Rg2V.jpg

Grizz.P

Thanks for replying, was pretty worried that the green circle will affect the light return.. Yup I love the size too!

Yours is much bigger than mine :o My wife gets complimented on hers already for the shine. Can imagine yours being twice the size and shine!

Nicole_Nayden

Just for reference. I bought my diamond a few months ago at $6.8k, 0.8ct, G, VS1, triple Excellent.

I know JannPaul highlights its diamonds as having cuts with better HCA scores, look better under scopes etc. This is a marketing strategy used by most other jewellers to differentiate their diamonds as well. For me, GIA triple excellent was good enough, just like I did not need my diamond to be D color and flawless.

Different people have different minimum specs they want in a diamond. For me, I even rejected a 0.81 diamond with the same specs and cheaper, simply because I wanted the carat to be a nice round figure. I know it makes no sense but as I said, buying a diamond is a personal thing. Your feeling about it is everything.

Total agreed, won't be taking the scope around with me and not going spend on something I can't see fro naked eyes.

evets

Unset stones set side-by-side upside-down under the jewellery shop's bright white light, the difference may be noticeable. Once the diamond is set and your fiancee is wearing it in daily life, it's really a guess whether the stone is a D or J.

There are color grades that command an unwarranted premium over the next grade, such as D to E, F to G. Guys can save a lot by opting for E and G color stones instead of trying for the next color grade.

ya u are right. once its set, the color differentiate is not obvious on its own unless you put 2 diamond rings side by side for comparison. D vs G

if once have a limited budget, my suggestion is cut / carat / clarity then color. ladies generally is only concerned about carat. lol

Eugene_Hunk

Indeed it is very common to use other gems. Though i didn't really seen anyone with a pink gem.
Most common I heard is ruby and sapphire.

Iconic sapphire is the late princess diana and now kate middleton ring..

cdfabf28be5269bae778f15adbf93dfa.jpg

4562800.jpg

Mom has this as well lolllls

PS: Just remembered, my aunt has an Emerald.. heard it costs a bomb!

I find it old looking le... Not really my taste. I see it more common on older people and tais tais.

twocottoncandy

Unset stones set side-by-side upside-down under the jewellery shop's bright white light, the difference may be noticeable. Once the diamond is set and your fiancee is wearing it in daily life, it's really a guess whether the stone is a D or J.

There are color grades that command an unwarranted premium over the next grade, such as D to E, F to G. Guys can save a lot by opting for E and G color stones instead of trying for the next color grade.

Hmm true, when wearing daily can't tell the color, individual eyes see looks different. Looks white to urself can Liao. I been reading this thread and also been to a few shops to see. I think clarity can't tell if it's VVS or VS by looking at actual diamond leh... Also the shops provide me HCA scores hmm I see no diff in the comparation of actual diamonds... What do u guys think or advice??

jermzc

Hmm true, when wearing daily can't tell the color, individual eyes see looks different. Looks white to urself can Liao. I been reading this thread and also been to a few shops to see. I think clarity can't tell if it's VVS or VS by looking at actual diamond leh... Also the shops provide me HCA scores hmm I see no diff in the comparation of actual diamonds... What do u guys think or advice??

It's not much of an advice, but I think in terms of diamonds it just has to feel right. It's not like a computer where specs actually make a difference in performance. Practically speaking, specs within a certain range make nearly no difference at all to a diamond.

So find a bottomline to work with then adjust accordingly to your budget. For the diamond ring for my fiancee I wanted a 0.7, G, VS1, triple excellent diamond. No branding required. From my research I realised my budget allowed me to buy a 0.8 at the same specs, so I bought that instead.

There was no particular rationale for my bottomline. Some people want a Tiffany diamond, others are satisfied with getting their diamond from private jewellers. Some like their diamond flawless, others are happy with VS2. Unless you pick a VS2 diamond with inclusions all bunched together at the surface, it's going to look just like a flawless diamond with the naked eye.

HYHY123

I think first you need to decide whats your budget.. HCA score measures only 17 out of the 58 facets. Eliminate those with high HCA score then shortlist the rest for further consideration.

Instead of just looking at the HCA score or the certs, you should look at the diamonds using the ASET scopes, ideal scopes etc to determine if the cut, light return, symmetry are good. Shops use strong lights and maybe that is why you find it hard to compare the diamonds.

VVS or VS2 u cant see from naked eye, so you can just go VS2 for cost savings. I feel that clarity is not very important too.

Color is your own preference too.

Grizz.P

I think first you need to decide whats your budget.. HCA score measures only 17 out of the 58 facets. Eliminate those with high HCA score then shortlist the rest for further consideration.

Instead of just looking at the HCA score or the certs, you should look at the diamonds using the ASET scopes, ideal scopes etc to determine if the cut, light return, symmetry are good. Shops use strong lights and maybe that is why you find it hard to compare the diamonds.

VVS or VS2 u cant see from naked eye, so you can just go VS2 for cost savings. I feel that clarity is not very important too.

Color is your own preference too.

Personally, I will rank Cut - Carat - Color - Clarity. Cut is the most important factor to determine whether your diamond will shine or not. Plus a good cut will actually improve the carat, color and clarity. Better proportion = visually bigger size. No point getting a D color diamond when the diamond will look dead. Its literally like a see through glass.

Clarity wise, VVS versus VS confirm cannot see the difference and ranked the last.

HYHY123

Personally, I will rank Cut - Carat - Color - Clarity. Cut is the most important factor to determine whether your diamond will shine or not. Plus a good cut will actually improve the carat, color and clarity. Better proportion = visually bigger size. No point getting a D color diamond when the diamond will look dead. Its literally like a see through glass.

Clarity wise, VVS versus VS confirm cannot see the difference and ranked the last.

Yup.. Same as u just that I rank color and carat together. I think shld balance..

tk

Precisely. I agree cut is important for a diamond, but within the GIA triple-excellent grading, I feel further distinction is unnecessary. More than one jeweller has shared the whole HCA score and scope images "science" with me, but when I compare between GIA triple-excellent diamonds with my own eyes, they look equally shiny to me. And the "signature ideal" or "super ideal" diamonds cost much more. For me, I think the extra cost for this is not worth the marginal increase in light reflection (if any). But as I said, everyone has a different bottomline requirement for their diamonds.

Yup, me also went for a normal GIA triple excellent (HCA 1.8) rather than paying much more for a "super ideal". But I still pick a stone with good HCA as an added assurance. My wife colleagues see liao also comment it is more sparkly than another colleague's bigger stone. :D

This thread focuses too much on "premium" cuts. Pple without deep pockets should know that there are also good GIA triple excellent and AGS triple 0 pieces to be bought out there, without paying premium prices.

Acheness

I bought the Octagon! =:p
At first saw their Solasfera... then Brellia.. then Octavia.. then finally confirm on the Octagon. More to love and first sight...
Felt quite pai seh for my fickleness..Despite me going to their shop 5 times, they were very accommodating and patient.. I'm not the type who will upgrade in the future, so this is a once in a lifetime ring for me.

This is the diamond I'm getting :D
Now just need to wait for my scopes and then my 3d design.

zOHy2w8.jpg

Wow.. very different compared to the other diamonds. That time when I got mine, Solasfera was the latest one they had. I wonder how it will look like when its set on a ring.. 4 prongs? 6 prongs?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.