Proposal Ring - Part 2

Lurker_13

Actually I Kind of agree with you. I went to JP and yes they sell really good quality diamonds. But I don't really need a scope in reality do I? I went to gold heart with my gf and she was fine with the cheap ones also, in fact we put the celestial rings beside some some ring (0.5c), and honestly we both couldn't really see the great difference. Makes me wonder if I should really be so particular about the diamond...

How much does larry sell their lazare diamonds? Can I get a 0.5c under 5k? With good specs.

All I can say is that you will be paying more for something less if you get from GH or LH even the big T... Scope helps you to see the quality of the stone and to filter out non performing stones. When you get a performing stone, the stone will speak for itself. My SO can't stop admiring her stone under sunlight and office fluorescent light, it's really a sight to behold. Cut is the most important element in selecting diamond. Don't buy a diamond for the sake of buying... buy knowing what you are getting and eventually on her finger ya. :D

Lurker_13

Just got the Scope pictures, can't load it up due to low post count. Any comments?

11ig8cj. jpg

2r3bll5. jpg

2m6kdx4. jpg

6rljih. jpg[
/QUOTE]

Help you with the pics :D

Lurker_13

I think many are aiming for the perfect (or as perfect as possible) diamond. For me i think if my eye see blink blink, scope look thru ok for me, pricing comfortable, GIA cert met my criteria, HCA score not too bad. Didnt buy from any of the shops mention here.

0.52 E VS1 excellent cut, $3350. I happy, wallet happy, hope my future wife also happy with it haha.

Bro can share where you got your ring from so bros here can have more choice when their turn comes.=:p

mochasmash

WTS Brilliant Rose

Anyone buying SooKee Ring? If you want $650 savings, please contact me (number below).

WTS: Brilliant Rose Proposal ring @ $4,000 (original $4650)

Details:
Laser Inscription: GIA
Shape and cutting Style: Round Modified Brilliant

Cut: Brilliant Rose
Carat: 0.460
Weight: E
Clarity: VS2

Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: None

Comes with: Casing, pendant box and folder, certification, receipt etc
Bought at $4,650 (after 10%+10% discount and less $100), now selling at $4,000

You can buy this ring for $4000 but 100% trade up value of $4650. Essentially, you can go to any SooKee shop to get another ring and save $650.

Please contact nine four five six five nine six nine.

reitrac

Hi all,

恭喜發財 新年快樂!

I'm a lady who is new to this thread.
Seems it's all guys here :s22:

I couldn't stop reading all the posts here as they are so interesting, and I've learnt so much from you!
I have to say that you guys put in so much effort and passion
in order to get a dream ring for your gf!! really amazing and touching.

Please allow me to introduce myself:
I'm from Taiwan and have always been interested in diamonds since I was in junior high school=:p
was thinking to study in GIA after senior high school but ended up going to university.
After years of ordinary work, I finally have got the determination and just started to acquire basic knowledge of diamonds in GIA.

~How to know whether the price offered to you is good/value for money?~
One simple tip that I learnt when searching for resource online:
If the price offered by the shop is similar to what "Rapaport" records, it'd be ok to buy.

From Rapaport history, you can see that diamond price increased dramatically in 2009 (for example, 26% up for a 1ct D/IF) but dropped very slightly last 2 years...

~Side story~
Several years ago, I spent almost 30k (with 7%GST) to buy a Tiffany Lucida diamond ring for myself coz I love the cutting so much.
1.02ct
F
VS1
Excellent/Very good/Excellent
none fluoresce

(I know the diamond price in branded stores such as Tiffany, Catiter, Harry Winston, or VCA is sky high:(
If you do want a Tiffany ring, you can get one in Changi airport)

thorjakarest

Hmm, Brillant Rose quite expensive for a 0.46ct.. wonder if it is really that good compared to other premium cuts..

Ya, $4,650 for 0.46ct is quite pricey even for a premium cut.. Even the Solasfera is higher facets and is about 50% cheaper. Plus can see the scopes. I wonder how the Brilliant Rose will look like under the scopes though.. that'll be interesting.

JimmyLeeJK

Bro JimmyLeeJK, i started by understanding the 4Cs too. Generally each Cs is important.
Carat: size / weight of the diamond
Color: Usually peiple go for E or F
Clarity: Usually people for VS1 or VS2.
Cut: diamond's proportions

Cut which is the most important C. The other 3C is up to you how you want to prioritize them.

I think Cut itself will take about 80% of your reading time.. lol
There's just so much information about it...

JP has a youtube channel full of diamond buying tips and education stuff. Might be helpful to you...

Thanks guys for all your input.. I am setting aside around $6k budget for the whole thing, diamond and the ring. Common understanding is around 2mths salary, but I think that's quite outrageous lol? So much $$$.. not gonna follow it. Think 6k is a cannot go wrong, in future shouldn't bring problems amount to blow on a proposal ring :s22:

And so cutting seems to be the centre of discussion here? So many pics of diamonds under the scope.. But no offense to bros here.. but seriously when you propose u don't bring out the GIA cert and the scope pics along right? In that case shouldn't the more important consideration be of those aspects most obvious to the eye? Like diamond colour, size, and the ring design etc.

Also, JP seems to only sell top grade diamonds amongst the already top grade ones, and thus leans towards the more expensive side of things? :eek: So, is it worth it paying for that incremental upside compared to other non branded bespoke diamond sellers?

Hope to hear more opinions from you guys :)

swirler

Guys? When you decide to buy your proposal ring or engagement ring, do you or not get her involvement in the selection?

My thought is to do a proposal with a mock ring before bringing her to go ring shopping. She can then choose the design she likes and it'll be right first time.

How do you do it?

tk

My thought is to do a proposal with a mock ring before bringing her to go ring shopping.

Imho, using a mock ring is not very nice.. Should use the real ring lah..

Whether buy without her or buy together depends on your whether you wanna surprise her and her expectations.. different gal got different expectations.. In my case, we shop, choose and buy together.. :D

reitrac

Guys? When you decide to buy your proposal ring or engagement ring, do you or not get her involvement in the selection?

My thought is to do a proposal with a mock ring before bringing her to go ring shopping. She can then choose the design she likes and it'll be right first time.

How do you do it?

Your plan sounds very considerate! ;)

From a girl's point of view, it's very romantic to have a surprise proposal with a ring.
But shopping for a real ring after the proposal definately shows how much you respect her.

Some of my lady friends actually complaint in girls night out that they don't really fancy the design,
but they had to pretend that they liked the ring a lot as they didn't know whether they'd hurt their fiance's feelings if they tell the truth.

It's nothing personal.
They do love and appreciated what their fiance planned and did for them, but it's just not the right ring.

(The scene in Sex and the City where Carrie became very disppointed when finding out how surprise proposal ring looks like, actually happens in real life:s22:)

Frederick84

then agin.. tink is diff ppl doff view wor.. my gf always ask me to decide.. she say if i know her well enough.. the ring design shd be what she like.. if it happe tat the ring design she dun like.. to her.. is tat i dun really know her well enough.. and if i propose using a mock ring.. then ask her to shop for her preferred design later.. to her is tat i am considerate but not sincere as no effort is put in to find out what her prefer design is.. on the flip side.. if i really managed to put it off.. she will love me more deeply :D

tink the best way is to tink carefully abt what she like.. hints are flying when the time is right.. if its well done.. the next step is befriend her bff.. beg her to help u say some good word.. things will be smooth haha..

jus my 1 cent opinion...

tk

she say if i know her well enough.. the ring design shd be what she like.. if it happe tat the ring design she dun like.. to her.. is tat i dun really know her well enough..

hmm.. would she reject the proposal if she dun like the ring?

Frederick84

hmm.. would she reject the proposal if she dun like the ring?

got ppl say.. 'will tk and keep then ring.. then reject tat guy..'

another say 'direct reject..'

then agin.. most of the time if the proposal is well done.. tink the gal will also blur blur accept one hahaha..

tk

got ppl say.. 'will tk and keep then ring.. then reject tat guy..'

then agin.. most of the time if the proposal is well done.. tink the gal will also blur blur accept one hahaha..

If reject guy no need to return ring meh?

I think gal also wun examine the ring closely before deciding on the answer. But after the excitement dies down and she see the ring closely, it may come back to haunt u for the next few decades.. :s13:

Frederick84

tats why need to put her bff in.. if her bff say tat her ring look lovely.. and she is very xin fu.. the quality of the ring.. tink not tat impt for tat moment...

owning...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.