Proposal Ring - Part 2

teqrise

Thanks guys for all your input.. I am setting aside around $6k budget for the whole thing, diamond and the ring. Common understanding is around 2mths salary, but I think that's quite outrageous lol? So much $$$.. not gonna follow it. Think 6k is a cannot go wrong, in future shouldn't bring problems amount to blow on a proposal ring :s22:

And so cutting seems to be the centre of discussion here? So many pics of diamonds under the scope.. But no offense to bros here.. but seriously when you propose u don't bring out the GIA cert and the scope pics along right? In that case shouldn't the more important consideration be of those aspects most obvious to the eye? Like diamond colour, size, and the ring design etc.

Also, JP seems to only sell top grade diamonds amongst the already top grade ones, and thus leans towards the more expensive side of things? :eek: So, is it worth it paying for that incremental upside compared to other non branded bespoke diamond sellers?

Hope to hear more opinions from you guys :)

$6k budget quite high man.. haha. No one follows the 2 months rule la.
If you find 2 months pay is outrageous and you budget $6k.. Your salary over $10k issit? =:p My budget was only half of yours :o

Cut is the most important because it has the biggest eye effect on the diamond. A good cut can make the diamond appear to have a better carat, clarity and colour and of course the ring design is important too.

I think you are confused of what the scopes is for. It's used to make sure that you are getting a good diamond and your money's worth. It detects unwanted "defects" in the diamond like light leakages, poor symmetry, etc.
All the jewelry shop use very very strong lighting that all diamonds look so bling, even their glass cabinet becomes too reflective till cannot open eyes.. so naturally poor cut diamonds will bling also. Then once you change the lighting, the poor cut diamonds will reveal their real identity and look very dull.. in like outdoor lightings, etc.
A good cut diamond, will still look brilliant whether it is in indoor or outdoor light. This is what the scope is for

JP's top quality diamonds all passes the scopes wherelse chain store's ideal cut diamond are way more expensive and does not come with any scope or tools to prove. Got a shock when i went to chain store :o

By the way bro.. this video very useful for me when i looking for miine.

justpiano

hmm.. would she reject the proposal if she dun like the ring?

From a girl's POV, no matter what proposal ring you guys give, if I love him, I will say yes. I don't look at the ring that he gives to decide. I look at him as my life long partner. The ring is just a symbolic gesture to ask for my hand. Even if he don't use a diamond, I will still accept him if I truly love him.

For girls who judge you by the ring, I don't think they are the type of person you will want to spend the rest of your life with and be happy with.

However... that being said... us girls would not mind a big and sparkling diamond =:p When we see a beautiful ring, we will be super excited and happy. We like to be pampered and appreciate nice things. But it is not a deal breaker :)

elnos86

Ya, $4,650 for 0.46ct is quite pricey even for a premium cut.. Even the Solasfera is higher facets and is about 50% cheaper. Plus can see the scopes. I wonder how the Brilliant Rose will look like under the scopes though.. that'll be interesting.

There is a light analysis on the brilliant rose under the ideal scope.
Can see it has the middle ring of light leakage. Graded very good - good for light return.

Compared to the aijaijaij's Solasfera ideal scope, its a big difference.

3OpticalAnalysis-top.jpg

6rljih.jpg

tk

And so cutting seems to be the centre of discussion here? So many pics of diamonds under the scope.. But no offense to bros here.. but seriously when you propose u don't bring out the GIA cert and the scope pics along right? In that case shouldn't the more important consideration be of those aspects most obvious to the eye? Like diamond colour, size, and the ring design etc.

Also, JP seems to only sell top grade diamonds amongst the already top grade ones, and thus leans towards the more expensive side of things? :eek: So, is it worth it paying for that incremental upside compared to other non branded bespoke diamond sellers?

Hope to hear more opinions from you guys :)

Getting a GIA certified diamond gives u the assurance that you are getting what you are paying for. Without a GIA cert, the majority of us with untrained eyes could easily be duped by shops on the diamond quality. A GIA triple excellent piece is top grade and is commonly known as an ideal cut. Getting a GIA triple excellent piece with good color and clarity minimizes the chance of getting a lemon. So you are relatively safe even if you do not bother to check with scopes.

JP seems to be going through GIA triple excellent pieces and selects the best to be sold as super ideal pieces at a premium price. Whether that is worth the extra money is up to the individual.

At the end of the day, the diamond you choose would be a balance between the 4Cs. For the same price, if you insists on the best cut, color & clarity, you would end up with a smaller carat. Visually most people's reaction on seeing the diamond would be how big it is followed by how sparkly. Some compromises in color and clarity may not be immediately apparent unless one looks closely and compare side by side with other diamonds.

DawnMin

Getting a GIA certified diamond gives u the assurance that you are getting what you are paying for. Without a GIA cert, the majority of us with untrained eyes could easily be duped by shops on the diamond quality. A GIA triple excellent piece is top grade and is commonly known as an ideal cut. Getting a GIA triple excellent piece with good color and clarity minimizes the chance of getting a lemon. So you are relatively safe even if you do not bother to check with scopes.

JP seems to be going through GIA triple excellent pieces and selects the best to be sold as super ideal pieces at a premium price. Whether that is worth the extra money is up to the individual.

At the end of the day, the diamond you choose would be a balance between the 4Cs. For the same price, if you insists on the best cut, color & clarity, you would end up with a smaller carat. Visually most people's reaction on seeing the diamond would be how big it is followed by how sparkly. Some compromises in color and clarity may not be immediately apparent unless one looks closely and compare side by side with other diamonds.

that's not true at all:s12:

GIA triple excellent comprises of really extreme proportions, one being the ring of death too.

AGS 000 penalizes this, since AGS grades their 000 via scopes as well(light performance)

Without scopes, if you get a diamond on the lower end of the GIA 3 EX spectrum(which can be the same price as the best GIA 3 ex) you're going to get a diamond with light leakage circling the entire centre of your diamond.

That said, over time, as dust accumulates under the diamond, you would even be able to see right through the centre into all the dust(since the leakage acts as glass instead of an actual reflecting diamond), making your diamond appearing icky yucky dirty. :s12: not to mention on top of all that your diamond's brilliance is lower etc etc

teqrise

Hmmm.. I think you you try reading up more first. An easy website to start is Hearts & Arrows
It explains how the Hearts and Arrows diamond cut originated and how GIA grades the Cut of these diamonds.

GIA Excellent Cut Criteria
Table size: 52% to 62%
Depth percentage: 58.1% to 63.6%
Pavilion angle (Main): 40.6° to 41.8°
Crown angle (Bezel): 31.5° to 36.5°
Lower girdle halves: 70% to 85%
Star length: 45% to 65%
Girdle (min/Max): Thin to Slightly Thick
Culet: None to Small
Polish: VG-EX
Symmetry: VG-EX

So it was in January 2006, that GIA’s new Generic Ideal cut report became the darling of manufacturers worldwide, as well as some big Websites, who could now “hawk” average stones graded Excellent as “Ideal Cut”. Cutters were thrilled that at the world’s top lab, Excellent now included diamonds with 62% tables, total depths up to 63.6%, crown angles as low as 31.5° and pavilion angles up to 41.8°!
Cut Grades Arrive in America

One shocker is that even if a diamond gets a GIA Excellent cut grading, it does not automatically mean it is a hearts and arrows diamond!

At the end of the day, it is best to do your homework before spending your hard earned money away :)

tk

Hmmm.. I think you you try reading up more first. An easy website to start is Hearts & Arrows
It explains how the Hearts and Arrows diamond cut originated and how GIA grades the Cut of these diamonds.

No worries, I read these before liao.. anyway not everyone is willing to pay the premium for the super ideal cut.. one can also easily check the hearts n arrows of an ideal cut.. and to avoid the bad proportions, can do a HCA value check.. ;)

teqrise

No worries, I read these before liao.. anyway not everyone is willing to pay the premium for the super ideal cut.. one can also easily check the hearts n arrows of an ideal cut.. and to avoid the bad proportions, can do a HCA value check.. ;)

Yup!! That is what the scope is for la!! To check if it is a true hearts and arrows and not broken ones. Somemore most are set in already so can't see it anymore.

The HCA value check is useful to check proportions. Only use to filter out bad proportioned diamond only and not the deciding factor. There are diamond expert sites that bangs the HCA value check for being misleading. Cos low HCA score doesn't mean its confirm good. It only checks the average and basic facets, but ignore all the minor facets. Though a high HCA score pretty much guarantees a poor proportion diamond. So to check on this, the ASET scope is needed.

If in anycase the diamond viewed is loose and not set in a casing.. then no harm looking at it through the scopes if it is that good right? There should be nothing to hide. more info is better than less..

UNiteedy

Gf insisted on a JP diamond, contemplating between these 2.

qyo5.jpg

Brellia 0.76 F VVS2
Solasfera 0.71 E VVS1

Decision is up to me. Which do you guys think will go better with this design?

JP7-e1375970090189.jpg

-In the photo/video, it is with an Angel cut.

Getting this design but with different center diamond.

Any help is much appreciated.

ses009

Wow the solasfera looks bigger than the Brellia. Is that your hand or your gf's? The design looks nicer with Brellia Cushion cut.

v-dateo

Hi guys, just a quick question. Where can I buy a box (without brand) for diamond ear studs? Is it the same box as diamond ring?

JimmyLeeJK

$6k budget quite high man.. haha. No one follows the 2 months rule la.
If you find 2 months pay is outrageous and you budget $6k.. Your salary over $10k issit? =:p My budget was only half of yours :o

Cut is the most important...

I think the 2mth salary rule is crap so I go for 1mth+ a bit.. so $6k (all inclusive)... not so rich earn $10k la.

Hmm so I conclude the steps...

1) set budget
2) prioritize 4Cs (for me, it would be size, cut and colour first, and compromise on clarity.. VS2 good enough bah I guess :D)
3) optimize between the first 3 Cs within set budget
4) Request to view scopes (for affirmation of value for money) before finalize?

Should be alright I suppose? Anyway why other brands not as frequently mentioned here? I keep seeing JP stuff.. looks like they spend a lot of effort in digital imaging for their diamonds. Good for education I must say. But is it going to be as pricey given its popularity? Seems like a good portion of $ will go into paying for the branding :eek:? Which is the main reason why I avoid vivo diamonds and goldheart etc in the first place? Or it's just a natural process.. if biz good, slowly the brand will take shape :s13:

UNiteedy

Wow the solasfera looks bigger than the Brellia. Is that your hand or your gf's? The design looks nicer with Brellia Cushion cut.

They look about the same size actually. think the diamond is tilted a little that's why.
my girly hands bro :super:

fabiaN__

Let me guess, about 7250?

i guess it's around $7.6k to $7.8k... cuz the other time i went to JP, i was shown a 0.74 F VVS2 for $7.4k..

but the cushion brellia is nice lah... hee i chose one too! just wanna kpo on the price though. :p

xtwis7

Am wondering how did the ladies find out about JP also. Is it from mutual friends who got proposed to and after they shared where did their fiances bought the diamond, then they realize that JP is actually a very good place to get diamonds? I guess it's win-win, easy for guy if SO wants a JP diamond and easy on the guy's pocket so can even get a bigger rock at JP than elsewhere.

ruisong10

Proposal ring

Hi bros!

Me just got a diamond .47c, F, vvs2 super ideal cut at 3.3k from JP!

Do you guys think it's worth the price?

The good thing is that you can top up and upgrade to a better diamond..

Please advise me on this! Thank you!

swirler

Any reason to go for branding like Tiffany and co if JP is so value?? Noob question.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.