Proposal Ring - Part 2

shinyfong

I finally bought the diamond after 3/4 months of research. What a tiring process. I went down to many shops. I went down to JP thrice.

VVS2 Solasfera F 0.53c

One chapter closed.

how much you bought it for? is Solasfera more ex than the super ideal jp carries?

lycanboy

imho, with a budget of $2k it would be better to look at other shops.. JP may only be able to get u a 0.3ct at that budget, which is a bit small.. at other shops can find a 0.4ct GIA triple ex.. or even bigger if u are willing to compromise on color/clarity.. a 0.4ct looks noticeably bigger than a 0.3ct..

good reading for newcomers to diamond ring shopping..
Proposal Ring: Singapore's Ultimate Diamond Information Site
\

Thank you for sharing the link! :)

What about the shop clarity? Kept seeing JP being mentioned but not much of Clarity.

My colleague bought some rings there and he told me he can get me a discount.

Any review about Clarity?

$2k+ can get a 0.3ct~ super ideal cut ring with JP. I got a 0.3ct myself :o

My 0.3ct is very eye catching and shiny. We could see the difference in quality, even against other bigger sized diamonds. Highly advise you not to consider dropping quality.
Did a feedback check with my lady after proposing.. sparkle and color most important to her. Even her's not big, she still proudly wears it everyday..
more mileage for upgrade in future also hehe.
tip for readers: diligently wash it after every wear. helps to maintain.

I see. Can I have a look at the photo of your ring? :)

Thank you!

how much you bought it for? is Solasfera more ex than the super ideal jp carries?

It actually cost me 4.75k without setting which I thought was quite ok considering he mentioned a similar super ideal would cost about 4-4.2ish k.

The diamond looked fine so I took it. Though I was comparing it with a 0.46 G VS1 to see if Solasfera was really that different. That 0.46 he mentioned was 3.3k so I thought I'll just stick to the Solasfera.

shinyfong

Actually whats the real difference between super ideal and sola? the jp guy never show me sola so i didnt know there was such thing lol

It's a modified cut. Diamond has 91 facets and there is no light leakage. More scintillation and brightness. You can see the difference if u put it side by side with a super ideal but the latter is also very good. It's just that I liked the little sparkles of the solasfera more.

It's really a matter of preference. Cos both good ha

You can YouTube it. JP has some videos of solasfera and super ideal comparison

shinyfong

It's a modified cut. Diamond has 91 facets and there is no light leakage. More scintillation and brightness. You can see the difference if u put it side by side with a super ideal but the latter is also very good. It's just that I liked the little sparkles of the solasfera more.

It's really a matter of preference. Cos both good ha

You can YouTube it. JP has some videos of solasfera and super ideal comparison

Thanks a lot!!

shinyfong

There are 10 hearts and arrows instead of 8.. I wasn't shown it also but they mentioned super ideal and brilliant ideal and that the super ideal is 10% more ex! maybe that's the Solasfera

do you think i should change mine to solasfera? haha

spidey00

Guys, just wanted to say something. Don't just restrict yourself to JP. I believe you can get something better if you buy online (from reputable vendors of course). Don't restrict yourself to what JP carries and force to choose something from them (there are way more stones for you to choose and compare online). I strongly suggest checking out Pricescope and do some readings for a start.

Anyway, just my 2 cent and wanting to help since I just been through this. :D

OMG i just saw Solasfera it shines so much better.. Why the jp guy never show me that :(

Apparently he told me small sized solasferas are sold out. I had to reserve this stone before it even came in. He showed me a similar sized solasfera - 0.53ish D VVS1, it cost $6700! He told me the color and clarity price jump for solasfera is way higher.

Anyways I agree with the poster below if u can find someone else like JP, you should give it a shot. But just stay away from online shops and those chain stores cos its ridiculous. I went to GH, a 0.5c triple ex for 11k BUT WAIIIT they gave me 50% discount sia so generous. Even at 5.5k it's ridiculous.

The only thing I want to do now is when I get my diamond I want to bring it down to those shops and compare with their diamonds. Maybe then I'll have greater satisfaction if I made the right choice.

Lurker_13

Guys, just wanted to say something. Don't just restrict yourself to JP. I believe you can get something better if you buy online (from reputable vendors of course). Don't restrict yourself to what JP carries and force to choose something from them (there are way more stones for you to choose and compare online). I strongly suggest checking out Pricescope and do some readings for a start.

Anyway, just my 2 cent and wanting to help since I just been through this. :D

There are pros and cons of buying online. Must take note of the online store's return policy, Tax and shipping cost etc etc...
U can't view the actual stone before deciding, are you comfortable to ship something expensive though there are many successful stories, but are u ready to take the risk and hassle/nightmares should anything go wrong?
shopping internationally can be a bit of a scare. Locals tend to cost more but there's value there and it's up to you to decide if it's worth it. My 2cents. =:p

alvismah

Ring setting is $550 for the standard types. If u want additional diamonds etc it'll cost more. I chose the really classic one

their classic ones is $550. those with side diamonds and patterns cost $1200. so your ring total up $5.3k ?

From what I was told the color and clarity jump for solasfera diamonds are higher.

Think you don't really need D. So perhaps get a F VS1 Solasfera if they have? If 0.59 VS1 E costs 5.8, maybe F for the same will cost less?

Or maybe get a 0.52 VS1 F? Might just be under 5k. I they have stock of those. If you really wanna go for size I think with 5.8k you can get above a 0.6 super ideal.

Yup mine for 5.3k including setting for 0.53 VVS2 F Solasfera

Lucask83

ahah I m not an expert to advise leh. But if it's really 10% more, u might wish to think if u would rather use e 10% to get a bigger one! better clarity or color? Just my view

Lurker_13

Ask JP to let u take a look at both classic round n the solesfera... Then u decide for yrself which one speaks to u more.. Dun b afraid or pai seh to request to view the diamonds before u make any decision. If their policy haven't changed, even if u have already placed deposit for a diamond, the deposit is fully swappable before u instruct them to craft it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.