Proposal Ring - Part 2

spunky9al

Went down this afternoon to select and discuss about setting. Have shortlisted 2 design from the available settings.

1. 18k white gold Halo setting with side diamond

14332881098_521e5e3e31_o.jpg

2. 18k white gold setting with a heart shape

14496369016_569f4fe583_o.jpg

Any comments? Will the Halo setting steal the limelight of the main diamond? And is the heart shape too plain looking?

I'm more inclined towards to the Halo setting so is my friend who went down with me. But the diamond also look stunning on the plain setting too.

i think it really depends on the preference of your other half. i personally don't like anything plain at all cus' i find it too simple for me. none of my gfs nor my other half find a plain one suit me either. :s13: yet i don't want it to be too complicated (like your halo) cus' it will steal limelight from the diamond. so i settled for one w/o halo but with side diamonds! and i have a similar heart shape at the side, sweet and nice!

i think generally if ur gf tend to dress up often, something with halo/side diamond is safe. but if she's a simple girl, i think she would prefer a plain one.

mizumi

Went down to JP yesterday to take a look and managed to secure the diamond. Brellia 0.498 F VVS1. Delighted with the service as Jerome was very patient answering all my questions and taking time to do A/B comparisons for me to help me understand what to look out for. Overall, satisfied with the purchase. :)

totoro17

I also just bought one for her: cushion brellia cut

Cushion Brilliant
Carat: 0.488cts
Color grade: E
Clarity Grade: IF
Cut Grade: AGS Ideal 0
Light Perform: AGS Ideal 0
Polish: AGS Ideal 0
Symmetry: AGS Ideal 0
Table Width - 57.3%
Crown Height - 18.5%
Pavillion Depth 51.1%

Is it worth to buy around $4k?

fusionz

Halo will make the diamond look bigger for sure.. But its more of a complicated design. IMO, I think plain is a safe bet. =:p

Haha thanks, but just found out she don't really like plain design and halo is too mature. Think I will go for something without halo but with side diamond and not too plain.

fusionz

i think it really depends on the preference of your other half. i personally don't like anything plain at all cus' i find it too simple for me. none of my gfs nor my other half find a plain one suit me either. :s13: yet i don't want it to be too complicated (like your halo) cus' it will steal limelight from the diamond. so i settled for one w/o halo but with side diamonds! and i have a similar heart shape at the side, sweet and nice!

i think generally if ur gf tend to dress up often, something with halo/side diamond is safe. but if she's a simple girl, i think she would prefer a plain one.

Care to share the design you gotten?

fabiaN__

I also just bought one for her: cushion brellia cut

Cushion Brilliant
Carat: 0.488cts
Color grade: E
Clarity Grade: IF
Cut Grade: AGS Ideal 0
Light Perform: AGS Ideal 0
Polish: AGS Ideal 0
Symmetry: AGS Ideal 0
Table Width - 57.3%
Crown Height - 18.5%
Pavillion Depth 51.1%

Is it worth to buy around $4k?

can buy can buy...

very affordable liao!!!

fabiaN__

y v affordable??? V cheap ah? Is it gd diamond??

got scope images or not? haha ask JP to send the scope images lah, then we can see. but given their stringent QC in their diamonds, should be ok one lah.

0.488 E IF at around $4k is very reasonable liao.

very good specs you've got... internally flawless leh, it's really rare.. though most people would be ok with an eye-clean diamond at VS1 or VS2.

if you think it's too expensive, can try to get bump up the carat size and get one with lower clarity lor.. but i don't think the price difference will be alot.. cuz one of the bros got a 0.49 ct for $3.6k.

but then again, anybody tried Canary diamonds before ah? just asking, not affiliated to them or whatsoever.

mizumi

got scope images or not? haha ask JP to send the scope images lah, then we can see. but given their stringent QC in their diamonds, should be ok one lah.

0.488 E IF at around $4k is very reasonable liao.

very good specs you've got... internally flawless leh, it's really rare.. though most people would be ok with an eye-clean diamond at VS1 or VS2.

if you think it's too expensive, can try to get bump up the carat size and get one with lower clarity lor.. but i don't think the price difference will be alot.. cuz one of the bros got a 0.49 ct for $3.6k.

but then again, anybody tried Canary diamonds before ah? just asking, not affiliated to them or whatsoever.

It depends on where he is getting it. If it's from online retailers like BlueNile have to take some risk as you don't see the scoped images (correct me if I'm wrong). But I do notice the price is lower (saw a 0.59 E IF Cushion Cut @ $3.9k). I rmb there are good 3EX and bad 3EX.

The $3.6k 0.49 the other bro got here is with or without setting?

fabiaN__

It depends on where he is getting it. If it's from online retailers like BlueNile have to take some risk as you don't see the scoped images (correct me if I'm wrong). But I do notice the price is lower (saw a 0.59 E IF Cushion Cut @ $3.9k). I rmb there are good 3EX and bad 3EX.

true true... almost forgot about BN. :) and that's also when you don't get to see the real deal.. though i'd very much prefer to see the rock in real before plonking the $$ down.

i think is w/o setting leh... haha lazy to go find the post again... it should be within the last 2 pages. :)

totoro17

where and when you see $3.9k? Cheaper then mine.....is it at JP?

lainelf

Hi guys, I've been looking at diamonds recently and found this thread. I'll keep reading to learn more but can anyone advise me? I'm looking for emerald cut. Not sure what exactly to look out for. Hope to learn more from you guys. Thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.