Proposal Ring - Part 2

Vadher

lol.. i saw a lot of guys buying 1.0x carat here leh..

from a girl's perspective, size does matter unless she has super tiny fingers. when i just got my diamond, most of my friends were asking about the size. unfortunately, girls can be that superficial. but i do agree that one shouldn't bust his budget just to get that special ring.

also, bear in mind that a 0.4x carat ring with halo setting will make the diamond look like 0.6x.

ultimately, it all boils down to how well you know your gf, whether she wants something simple/conventional or something complicated/attention grabbing. then again, girls being girls, it's hard to make up our minds. :s13:

or maybe you could seek your gf's close friends/sisters' opinions?

Using a halo setting or the likes feels to me like an attempt to make the diamond appear larger than it is. Doesn't feel right to me for an engagement ring.

Regarding your comment that you saw most guys buying 1 carat plus... I think one tends to see what one wants to see.

sugaricing83

Using a halo setting or the likes feels to me like an attempt to make the diamond appear larger than it is. Doesn't feel right to me for an engagement ring.

Regarding your comment that you saw most guys buying 1 carat plus... I think one tends to see what one wants to see.

I didn't say using halo setting is an attempt to make the proposal ring look bigger than it is. Different people have different preferences. Some people prefer just the rock by itself with no side diamonds or halo setting, some people might think that is too plain and prefer a more unique design. Is there a standard template of how a proposal ring should look like?

I also think you tend to see what you want to see.

SkullzZ

lol.. i saw a lot of guys buying 1.0x carat here leh..

from a girl's perspective, size does matter unless she has super tiny fingers. when i just got my diamond, most of my friends were asking about the size. unfortunately, girls can be that superficial. but i do agree that one shouldn't bust his budget just to get that special ring.

also, bear in mind that a 0.4x carat ring with halo setting will make the diamond look like 0.6x.

ultimately, it all boils down to how well you know your gf, whether she wants something simple/conventional or something complicated/attention grabbing. then again, girls being girls, it's hard to make up our minds. :s13:

or maybe you could seek your gf's close friends/sisters' opinions?

personally, my fiance proposed with a 0.42 carat ring and I thought it was huge already. I didn't want something too flashy.

As for whether I will prefer my (then) bf or me to choose, I will prefer that he chooses it. I always doubted his taste in clothing (haha! but it's not as if I dress up either :s13: ).. but for ring, I believe he has the taste for me. Afterall, we have been together for many years (8 years before we got engaged) so I believe he knows what are my likes and dislikes.

And yes, in the end he proposed with a ring which I really love (except that it's a little big (0.42 VS1 F). :s12:

thegaunlet

Actually even if make look bigger also ok ma. Yknw work around budget lor.

Ok la I think there's a fair balance of size. We dk what the demographics are. For all we know those 1.x ct are usually at a different age/stage.

Relative value ba. I saw one post someone said 0.4x considered big for her age or say circle of friends. That means alot alr.

sugaricing83

personally, my fiance proposed with a 0.42 carat ring and I thought it was huge already. I didn't want something too flashy.

As for whether I will prefer my (then) bf or me to choose, I will prefer that he chooses it. I always doubted his taste in clothing (haha! but it's not as if I dress up either :s13: ).. but for ring, I believe he has the taste for me. Afterall, we have been together for many years (8 years before we got engaged) so I believe he knows what are my likes and dislikes.

And yes, in the end he proposed with a ring which I really love (except that it's a little big (0.42 VS1 F). :s12:

That's nice to hear! I guess we can give lots of advises on this topic but it ultimately depends on the girl in question. :)

sugaricing83

Actually even if make look bigger also ok ma. Yknw work around budget lor.

Ok la I think there's a fair balance of size. We dk what the demographics are. For all we know those 1.x ct are usually at a different age/stage.

Relative value ba. I saw one post someone said 0.4x considered big for her age or say circle of friends. That means alot alr.

Yea and some people don't mind spending more on proposal ring and cutting back on the wedding, while some people think that saving for the house or wedding is more important. What matters most is not busting the budget or be in debts just to get the ring.

However, i do notice that most ladies hardly wear their proposal rings after having kids because they scared that they might accidentally scratch the baby with it and they just wear their wedding band.

thegaunlet

Yea and some people don't mind spending more on proposal ring and cutting back on the wedding, while some people think that saving for the house or wedding is more important. What matters most is not busting the budget or be in debts just to get the ring.

However, i do notice that most ladies hardly wear their proposal rings after having kids because they scared that they might accidentally scratch the baby with it and they just wear their wedding band.

Very true. See people's priorities lor. I was thinking of changing to 0.1ct bigger. But it'll be a significant jump in $ and if our parents ever knew, they'd be very disappointed because the money can be used elsewhere for more important things. I think this mindset is mostly for those who just start work not long or those who don't earn alot. Like they say always can upgrade. One day if you're well to do and have spare cash and want to pamper your SO can get a bigger nicer one. But tbh for average people there're more important things spend on haha. Unless no kids then sure can pamper alot.

Definitely. A marriage is a long journey with big finances. But it does please your SO lor.

Tbh I'm a very practical person. I also showed my SO those videos shaming the DeBeers "brain washing" etc. I say only need one ring. Why need separate. End of the day I still choose to get e ring and wedding band because I do want to give her my best and make her happy. I'm lucky she didn't mind having 1 only.

That is an interesting take. I thought never wear cuz so nice if wear daily will affect it's look. Partly why I felt it a little absurd to get 2 rings is because and especially if you get a big and elaborate ring, you'll baby it so much you won't wear it daily which might seem to be a waste.

A more positive perspective perhaps is even though never wear it's something very sentimental. Proposal. Where you ask for her hand in marriage. Even if apply BTO alr la hahahaha.

I envy the ang moh lady I saw outside Wheelock on my way to JannPaul. She and Hubby in sports attire but she wore an eye catching ring. Unless her e ring is even more zai, I think it really means alot to the Hubby or at least to me.

But if you get a zai ring don't say she scared, I also scared $xxxx if lost or stolen or damage then GG.

Lurker_13

Hi All,

Please kindly advice which is better..

1. got quoted around 8K for ideal cut 0.76 D vs1 from JP (AGS)

2. Around 7K for below specs;
GIA 5186472989
GIA 1179656906
Thanks!

What's the spec for the ideal cut? Any AGS cert reference?:)

Numbers are good... though star facets are abit too small at 45%. The normal ones are 50%+

You got the scopes? You can't tell if the diamond is truly H&A by the numbers alone. Non-H&A diamond can have great numbers too.

Thanks for the suggestion.
Will look at it again.
Got offered another diamond
http://www.gia.edu/cs/Satellite?pagename=GST%2FDispatcher&childpagename=GIA%2FPage%2FReportCheck&c=Page&cid=1355954554547&reportno=2196268240

The first diamond is http://www.gia.edu/cs/Satellite?pagename=GST%2FDispatcher&childpagename=GIA%2FPage%2FReportCheck&c=Page&cid=1355954554547&reportno=1179204103

oreo_guy

hi can any kind soul help me do a brief review on the ring I got from JP?

unsure if I got a good deal..

it's super ideal cut

1zqc6k3.jpg

spLeenfuL

Bro perhaps I offer you a different perspective. It is true that choosing a design that they love is quite preferable.

However I do feel that the element of surprise and your decision will matter even more.

Once she knows the design, it's like waiting for the proposal. I personally find that to be pretty boring.

That being said a good compromise is to know her preferences. Say on types of designs, shape of diamond, color of ring. That is okay but the design will be truly special because you chose it.

A woman can select a design that she loves. But your involvement makes it even more unique. Even if she finds the design to be so so bad. It's unique because you did your very best in wanting to please her.

It'll be a ring you chose. No one can replace that. Whereas she can choose any design she wants anyday.

The element of surprise is key imho. Rmb can compromise to know preferences. Color, shape, style. But to know how it'll look like, it's just waiting for proposal. No fun.

In NS when you are the enemy force. It's pretty lame because you know how the other side is going to attack. Timing can be an element of surprise but the strategy, action on objective is the real deal.

Different strokes for different folks.

To put it in a even more drastic comparison. Say one day you guys broke up. If she chose a design to her she can wear it happily because it's what she likes. It's another accessory. But if you chose the end design, your presence, sentiment is even more apparent and she will think of you, however ugly the design is.

Oh yes good to bring her down to get proper ring size. I find it a good compromise to know her preference but leave the end design to imagination and your unique sentiment in it.

Afterall assuming you apply BTO, it's just a matter of time for proposal. But how it turns out to be is key.

Liken the scenario to giving people money for presents. You can give the same amount of money ask her buy her own present or you can spend time and effort to surprise her.

She choose like no effort. Just ok you like? My pocket can tahan then get.

Imho. I understand my opinion is quite different but to each his own ya.

Regarding getting the ring, I recommend JannPaul. You can see their design or better you can go find any design and get them to customize.

I do not believe in paying just for the brand. Ok I'm an average person only so have limits I rather get a good diamond than a soso one but good brand. A great example is someone got a 0.4 E VS2 Tiffany and Co for 8.6k but in the end bought a second from JannPaul 0.62 F VS2 4.9k. The JannPaul looks more stunning and even whiter hands down. That's the ultimate test. The little blue box or a superior diamond with a custom design.

Most important is to set your budget. You want to please her but rmb you have house have reno have kids maybe.

I find cut, color, carat and clarity to be a good progression of importance. I put carat third because a 0.1 or 0.0x will make not much difference rly. Your budget would have determined most of the carat range alr so moving 0.0x is pretty much just in our heads.

From a fellow bro.

Can't agree more bro. I rmb seeing that Tiffany and JannPaul comparison post too. That was one of my biggest push factor to get a better Cut one and not just rely on branding. Talk about value for money man..

Hi all, would like to check any bros or sis here that purchased from Bluenile SG before? How is it?

Thanks.

P.S Anyone can advise if 0.30ct G SI2 normal cut ~$1k is ok?

thegaunlet

JannPaul Review

Finally decided on the diamond. Was served by Vince. Went down 3 times.

Good introduction to the aspects of diamonds and factors to consider besides specifications.

Very informative, very objective and provide down to earth advice.

Not pushy at all. Very comfortable.

Did not bother to try out other stores. You can view the ideal scope, aset scope etc. Get the pictures and compare yourself. Indeed the 4Cs should be used together.

Never rely on specifications and price alone. I will never buy online because numbers and reports mean nothing as compared to seeing it in person.

In the end the D VS2 I got was to me clearer than a slightly bigger D VS2 and VS1 and Vince or Samuel did not push at all. As long as we're satisfied.

Just as how we like to say "view to believe". That is very true for JannPaul.

10/10 for service, knowledge and attitude.

I believe they can give you the best bang for the buck as well as the best of the best if you have no care for price. Go custom a special and elaborate ring with them.

Support ah!

HYHY123

How is super ideal cut being defined ah? I see GIA very nv write if it is super ideal.. Any other means to proof?

tk

How is super ideal cut being defined ah? I see GIA very nv write if it is super ideal.. Any other means to proof?

there is no common standard for defining super ideal, it is up to individual retailers to grade their own super ideals.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.