Proposal Ring - Part 2

SeaKinT

I checked, the color on hearts and arrows scope not important. This one is blue color and the edge also have the white spots.

tk

dun have to over worry about not 100% symmetrical h&a as long as the light performance is ok.. When viewed with naked eye it's not gonna make much difference..

straweffigy

EHHH..... quick quick chop chop, which one you guys will get? prefer girl opinion

e8qpmv.jpg

i have scope images later will post

Bro the octagon looks really good. Great choice made.

I'll most likely go for the same.

Now dunno what budget to set :s11:

sugaricing83

was quoted $6700 for a 0.64 carat, E colour, VVS2 without setting. but i didn't choose this diamond in the end. :)

straweffigy

was quoted $6700 for a 0.64 carat, E colour, VVS2 without setting. but i didn't choose this diamond in the end. :)

How much does a setting cost usually? Maybe can give a range? Thanks!

E is the best colour liao?

I'll drop by Jannpaul really soon :)

Jench1745

Thanks! I'm very happy with it.. The more I look and think about it, the more I like it. haha

You tell them your budget and they'll show you you a range that is in your budget. They don't have much octagon stocks though. You better go soon

sugaricing83

How much does a setting cost usually? Maybe can give a range? Thanks!

E is the best colour liao?

I'll drop by Jannpaul really soon :)

setting is about $550 and above. depends on how elaborate it is. i was quoted $1200 for halo with side diamonds. remember reading some forumers who were quoted more than that, but i guess it's because they customized their settings.

the best colour is D, but i feel don't need to go for D colour because you cant really tell the colour difference between D & E. most of the forumers here got D-G colours. if you want, you can get them to bring out diamonds with different colours for you to compare and see which one you are most comfortable with.

for clarity, the highest is IF (internally flawless), but most people here get between VVS1 to VS2. VS2 is good enough for me cos it's eye clean unless you see it under 10x magnification. :)

share with us what you got after your trip to JP! :)

oh yah, by the way, the price i gave is for the octagon diamond. for super ideal round, i was quoted $5600 for 0.62 carat, E colour, VS2.

for your reference!

straweffigy

setting is about $550 and above. depends on how elaborate it is. i was quoted $1200 for halo with side diamonds. remember reading some forumers who were quoted more than that, but i guess it's because they customized their settings.

the best colour is D, but i feel don't need to go for D colour because you cant really tell the colour difference between D & E. most of the forumers here got D-G colours. if you want, you can get them to bring out diamonds with different colours for you to compare and see which one you are most comfortable with.

for clarity, the highest is IF (internally flawless), but most people here get between VVS1 to VS2. VS2 is good enough for me cos it's eye clean unless you see it under 10x magnification. :)

share with us what you got after your trip to JP! :)

oh yah, by the way, the price i gave is for the octagon diamond. for super ideal round, i was quoted $5600 for 0.62 carat, E colour, VS2.

for your reference!

Many thanks bro, you've been really helpful. Yes, I will pop by JP really soon.

For instance if my budget is around 10k including setting, E colour, VVS1 clarity, super ideal cut, hopefully octagon shape, what kind of stone size I will be considering?

I read earlier.. after a certain carat size, the price jump is higher, right?

sugaricing83

Many thanks bro, you've been really helpful. Yes, I will pop by JP really soon.

For instance if my budget is around 10k including setting, E colour, VVS1 clarity, super ideal cut, hopefully octagon shape, what kind of stone size I will be considering?

I read earlier.. after a certain carat size, the price jump is higher, right?

Hahaha, im not a guy!

For 10k including setting, most probably can get a 0.75 and above for octagon? If super ideal round then should be 0.85 and above. Just my rough guess, it's better to email them and get them to quote you.

The significant jump is if you are considering a < 0.4x to 0.5x or a < 0.9x to 1 carat. Because if you compare a 0.48 to 0.5 carat diamond side by side, you cant really see the difference in size, yet the price jump could be quite high.

Try to make an appointment before going down, at least you'll get JP staff to serve you and not House Of Hung although they are related.

straweffigy

Hahaha, im not a guy!

For 10k including setting, most probably can get a 0.75 and above for octagon? If super ideal round then should be 0.85 and above. Just my rough guess, it's better to email them and get them to quote you.

The significant jump is if you are considering a < 0.4x to 0.5x or a < 0.9x to 1 carat. Because if you compare a 0.48 to 0.5 carat diamond side by side, you cant really see the difference in size, yet the price jump could be quite high.

Try to make an appointment before going down, at least you'll get JP staff to serve you and not House Of Hung although they are related.

Sorry about that :D

So you selected the ring with your fiance? Sorry to ask but does it rob you off the surprise element?

sugaricing83

Sorry about that :D

So you selected the ring with your fiance? Sorry to ask but does it rob you off the surprise element?

we went down to JP 3x but we still haven't finalise the diamond (from brellia to super ideal to now octagon) =:p

for me, i would want to go select the diamond because it's better for me to choose what i want and i don't really trust his taste :s13: like you, initially he wanted to spend five figure on the diamond but i feel there's no need to, and after trying on the rings with diamonds, a 0.6 carat size is sufficient for my finger. by going down to JP, i've also learnt more about diamonds.

there's still a surprise element la, in the proposal. ;) but the ring is what i really really want.

straweffigy

we went down to JP 3x but we still haven't finalise the diamond (from brellia to super ideal to now octagon) =:p

for me, i would want to go select the diamond because it's better for me to choose what i want and i don't really trust his taste :s13: like you, initially he wanted to spend five figure on the diamond but i feel there's no need to, and after trying on the rings with diamonds, a 0.6 carat size is sufficient for my finger. by going down to JP, i've also learnt more about diamonds.

there's still a surprise element la, in the proposal. ;) but the ring is what i really really want.

Oh.. true true. I think I'll try my best to look at things from my gf's perspective and try and buy something she will like. I'd like the whole thing to be really surprising and unexpected :D

10k is a cap, doesn't mean I'll use it all, I don't want to as well, I think so does she.

Can I ask you another question.. when did you start getting interested in diamonds or fall for them? It hasn't happened to my gf, we are both 28. I doubt it will happen for her lol :s13:

sugaricing83

Oh.. true true. I think I'll try my best to look at things from my gf's perspective and try and buy something she will like. I'd like the whole thing to be really surprising and unexpected :D

10k is a cap, doesn't mean I'll use it all, I don't want to as well, I think so does she.

Can I ask you another question.. when did you start getting interested in diamonds or fall for them? It hasn't happened to my gf, we are both 28. I doubt it will happen for her lol :s13:

i'm not a ring/bracelet person and i used to think diamonds are a waste of money as they are not as valuable compared to gold. but things just happen, maybe due to age, maybe because i hardly wear accessories, that's why the proposal ring has more significance.

i guess when your gf has her own proposal ring, she will start to appreciate and love it, plus it's a declaration/token of love from you. :) don't worry about it. i'm sure it will be a nice surprise for her :D

straweffigy

i'm not a ring/bracelet person and i used to think diamonds are a waste of money as they are not as valuable compared to gold. but things just happen, maybe due to age, maybe because i hardly wear accessories, that's why the proposal ring has more significance.

i guess when your gf has her own proposal ring, she will start to appreciate and love it, plus it's a declaration/token of love from you. :) don't worry about it. i'm sure it will be a nice surprise for her :D

Okay thanks!

Alamak now Jann Paul ad keep popping up every website I surf. Better clear away everything if not she will see :s13:

ivandemi

My gf sorta knew it was coming soon since the house collection was almost ready.. haha. I tried to keep it as a surprise first, then can't decide which one to pick. Ended up bring her along. haha. It was a good thing in a way cos she learned and appreciated her diamond even more. Plus we had fun looking for designs and customizing our ring. The element of surprise I kept from her was the collection date. She knew it was coming but didn't know when :D

HYHY123

eh, see those that i've circled in yellow. doesn't look symmetrical. i'm not concerned about whether there is red surrounding the diamond or not cos it might be light reflection.

16glbie.gif

Yup.. Not as symmetrical..But I read from his previous post that his is an ideal cut instead of super ideal, so can't compare I guess?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.