Proposal Ring - Part 2

Lynntoh

Met Ranjit and he's friendly and doesn't feel like he's a salesman... felt like a friend.

Had placed my deposit for 0.56ct E VS1 (HCA SCORE 0.9) with diamond settings. Spent 2hours learning diamond...

Left the place, suddenly i remember i wanted to see 0.6ct above with lower clarity and colours, as well as difference cutting ( solasfera round, cushion brellia, princess, octagon).

Whatapps him... he told me solasfera has fast bursting of sparklings and it's expensive. and brellia and octagon might chip off due to sharp edges on the corner and not suitable for daily wear... asked me to drop by again when im free. he will show it to me..

and i think 0.56 compare to 0.6 will not have much difference.... so it's okay.

Since i already made deposit, i told him it's okay... and im happy with the current i've chosen..

Really big thanks to Ranjit, he is friendly and very experienced guy....
I was also served by ranjit and i totally agree with your feedback!!! So happy that you had a good experience with him.

There will be a difference when there is a jump of 0.05 in carat, just that our naked eyes might not be able to differentiate that well.

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

ZippyRa

cushion brellia really will chip off compare to a round one in terms of daily wear?! how will it chip off?! anyone can advise? :(

*edit* i thot it is quite hard to chip off a diamond.

Scylla

if wanna pay by instalment, try uob.. uob is good cos every quarter if u spend $300 per month for 3months. u will get back $30.. this included INSTALMENTS..

next tier will be $800 and $1500..
if ur ring cost 4k.. u divide by 12 also hit tier of $300 liao... $30 + $30 + $30 + $30.. rebate $120 already.

i just applied amex because of the 5% rebate but no installment.. if not iwill go for manhantton 3% rebate

i used SC manhattan for the deposit to max out 3% ($200). recently got the AMEX true cashback intend to max out 5% rebate ($250) on the balance and then the remaining by interest-free installment. so you suggest to use UOB for the installment? must be any specific card?

thanks.

Scylla

cushion brellia really will chip off compare to a round one in terms of daily wear?! how will it chip off?! anyone can advise? :(

*edit* i thot it is quite hard to chip off a diamond.

some say might chip if you hit the diamond at the right angle like on the thin girdle. imo, its quite safe la dun worry. the prongs also protect it.

Grizz.P

Hey!

GIA serial is 2197649965

The proportions isn't good le.. It's not an Ideal cut.
You can check the proportions with the HCA. The best is to aim for a score under 1.4. Also should try to get at least a triple Excellent. The symmetry is "very good".

Btw, did you know your diamond got fluorescence? It can offset your high color and clarity..

mTPhOWt.jpg

liongyanlin

imo, a 91 facets diamond will be nice only if its big, like at least 1 ct, making the smaller/pin flashes scintillate bigger (less a tiny disco ball). if one prefers a 'less complex' bigger/broader flashes, go for a 57 facets diamond.

Ya. I agree. But 1 ct is so BIG!! And 0.60 ct can see the scintillation quite clearly too. Imo.

Scylla

The proportions isn't good le.. It's not an Ideal cut.
You can check the proportions with the HCA. The best is to aim for a score under 1.4. Also should try to get at least a triple Excellent. The symmetry is "very good".

Btw, did you know your diamond got fluorescence? It can offset your high color and clarity..

mTPhOWt.jpg

wah hca 4.9 :eek:

black_hippo: try look around for better ones else if within budget then ok lah afterall is the thought that matters.

Scylla

I not a expert but IMO, the inclusion seem quite bad as the indented natural, although it a vvs2. It seem like a indented inclusion on the surface, whether worth the price i not so sure maybe some expert here cam advice. Do let me know if i wrong about the indented natural inclusion. :)

seems like the diamond was cut with weight retention in mind.

An indented natural goes below the surface of the diamond. It may also interrupt the outline of the diamond's shape.

Sometimes by reason of weight retention, the cutter is forced to leave an indented natural. Naturals are very common on diamonds since they are a cutter's guideline for getting the maximum potential weight out of a piece of rough. By leaving opposite naturals, the cutter knows the maximum possible diameter of the stone has been achieved. Such naturals lie across the narrowest diameter of the original rough. When they form small canyons or indentations, the cutter may choose to leave these characteristics instead of losing additional weight by removing them.

An indented natural is more serious than a level natural since, like a cavity, it has a tendency to collect dirt and oil, acquiring a dark appearance. This can easily be cleaned up, leaving no traces of dirt. Cavities can be more fragile, whereas naturals, indented or not, are much more rugged, having already survived nature's punishments during the past ages.

The ideal natural is one that does not take away the roundness or symmetry of the diamond and cannot be detected looking downward on the crown. It will be fully enclosed in the girdle, or there will be at least a small amount of girdle between the crown and the natural. Some naturals are left creeping slightly into the crown or pavilion under magnification, these can be just detectable when viewed through the crown. Naturals that are left just traveling into the pavilion are more easily hidden than crown naturals. An indented natural is considered an inclusion since it does extend below the surface of the finished stone.

useful reads:
http://www.allaboutgemstones.com/diamond_inclusions_indented-natural.html
http://niceice.com/diamond-clarity-characteristics/
http://beyond4cs.com/grading/clarity-characteristics/types-of-inclusions/

Scylla

btw, any idea what type of scope is given at collection?

thinking of buying some scopes... but with the diamond mounted on the ring, cant use on it liao right?

maybe buy a super blue loupe?

Lynntoh

btw, any idea what type of scope is given at collection?

thinking of buying some scopes... but with the diamond mounted on the ring, cant use on it liao right?

maybe buy a super blue loupe?

H&A scope can only see the arrow lor, cannot see the heart since you need to view from bottom....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.