Proposal Ring - Part 2

sugaricing83

yup, they say will re quote me in 1 months time . just wait lo , no choice , otherwise just buy her a Crystal ball 1st then tell her a few months later will shrink to a diamond . lol

what's the thing with octagon huh ? why you like ? just curious ? cause i totally dont understand LOL ! ! tell your hubby you want pink diamond . lol scare the **** out of him . LOL

Cos the cutting is quite unique la, 8 hearts and arrows plus 8 sides and 88 facets. Lol. My htb says that since most of our friends have the super ideal diamond from jp, so he agreed to get me the octagon. Btw, i already got my ring, just tempted to upgrade the diamond, but 1 carat is out of his budget. U can see my previous post, mine is a 0.64 carat with halo setting.

cupidsux

Hi people!

I've been following this thread closely and I just went down to JP today to look for a diamond. As we have a tight budget and we wanted to focus on carat, can I check if anyone feels that we can settle for a ideal cut instead of super ideal? It is not super ideal because of its depth.

Any tips on what we can look out for?

We were quoted 5k for a E color, vs1, 0.64 carat ideal cut. Depth is 0.1% more if I'm not wrong..

Thanks and any comment will be helpful!

I personally think if on budget, dont buy at JP cause their pricing above average. + since you roughly know what you want then you can just source outside unless you lpoking at their signature solasfera modified cut.

I feel VS1 and VS2 doesn't make a difference so you might wanna get VS2 if the inclusion is ok with you .

As for super ideal or ideal is just the ratio aspect of the earthly stone . Then when your sourcing, just take a look at scope lo ? See whether got light leakages or not . But I forgot what's HCA for liao lol

BTW maybe I not a expert in diamond but hor I feel D, E, F, G no difference sia .. might as well get a G instead of E ? Save some money ... lol G vs2 super ideal might be cheaper then E VS1 ideal ..

cupidsux

Cos the cutting is quite unique la, 8 hearts and arrows plus 8 sides and 88 facets. Lol. My htb says that since most of our friends have the super ideal diamond from jp, so he agreed to get me the octagon. Btw, i already got my ring, just tempted to upgrade the diamond, but 1 carat is out of his budget. U can see my previous post, mine is a 0.64 carat with halo setting.

From a guys point of view, it's just a marketing gimmick from debeer. If minor upgrade then it's a bit redundant to waste the money since I think setting also need to pay lol... I personnally feel that buying diamond, the money can be put to better use ... but most of the time, we are being held ransom... lol I feel that love isn't about just a big shining stone. Sometimes it's just peer pressure that we choose to get it ... T_T

sugaricing83

From a guys point of view, it's just a marketing gimmick from debeer. If minor upgrade then it's a bit redundant to waste the money since I think setting also need to pay lol... I personnally feel that buying diamond, the money can be put to better use ... but most of the time, we are being held ransom... lol I feel that love isn't about just a big shining stone. Sometimes it's just peer pressure that we choose to get it ... T_T

Wahahaha! Then u should convince ur fiancee leh!

thesal

Hi people!

I've been following this thread closely and I just went down to JP today to look for a diamond. As we have a tight budget and we wanted to focus on carat, can I check if anyone feels that we can settle for a ideal cut instead of super ideal? It is not super ideal because of its depth.

Any tips on what we can look out for?

We were quoted 5k for a E color, vs1, 0.64 carat ideal cut. Depth is 0.1% more if I'm not wrong..

Thanks and any comment will be helpful!

If you want most bang for carat, go for g colour, vs2.

Their ideals are not bad.. just need to sieve through.

To be honest, I couldn't tell a huge diff between their super and normal ideals in normal daylight condition

xinping

i was wondering if theres a huge jump in price between a super ideal and a solasfera with similar specs?

lovedisorder

I personally think if on budget, dont buy at JP cause their pricing above average. + since you roughly know what you want then you can just source outside unless you lpoking at their signature solasfera modified cut.

I feel VS1 and VS2 doesn't make a difference so you might wanna get VS2 if the inclusion is ok with you .

As for super ideal or ideal is just the ratio aspect of the earthly stone . Then when your sourcing, just take a look at scope lo ? See whether got light leakages or not . But I forgot what's HCA for liao lol

BTW maybe I not a expert in diamond but hor I feel D, E, F, G no difference sia .. might as well get a G instead of E ? Save some money ... lol G vs2 super ideal might be cheaper then E VS1 ideal ..

Thanks for the reply! But G is really too yellow for my liking.. I think my diamond is not Jp but house of hung. But I have been to love and co etc but we feel that Jp diamonds are better and cheaper.

lovedisorder

If you want most bang for carat, go for g colour, vs2.

Their ideals are not bad.. just need to sieve through.

To be honest, I couldn't tell a huge diff between their super and normal ideals in normal daylight condition

Thanks for the reply! I was thinking if an ideal cut is indeed less brilliant. Do you think having good hearts and arrows Will make the ideal cut worth it?

Lynntoh

Thanks for the reply! I was thinking if an ideal cut is indeed less brilliant. Do you think having good hearts and arrows Will make the ideal cut worth it?
Hearts and arrows are part of the cutting. Ideal cut will have more light leakage which a normal person would feel that its "brighter" in the sense but with super ideal cut, the diamond sparkle more. In simple terms, more 刺眼. If budget is a concern now, maybe go for lower carat like a 0.5-0.59 then upgrade again within 2 yrs :)

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

Lynntoh

Thanks for the reply! But G is really too yellow for my liking.. I think my diamond is not Jp but house of hung. But I have been to love and co etc but we feel that Jp diamonds are better and cheaper.
Did u get any scope images yet? If the scope images say jannpaul its jannpaul's. But both are the same just that HOH belongs to the father while jannpaul belongs to the son and friend. I was served by HOH staff but my diamond is under jannpaul.

Lynntoh

The yellow on G is really visible to naked eye. I have a G colour solitaire and when I got my E colour, i never looked back again. As for clarity wise its really not visible to naked eyes.

xtwis7

The yellow on G is really visible to naked eye. I have a G colour solitaire and when I got my E colour, i never looked back again. As for clarity wise its really not visible to naked eyes.

It's visible only if you compare side by side. Otherwise on its own, you may not be able to tell G from F for example. Unless one has trained their eyes to tell from D to G on its own.

i am getting a ideal cut from jp. wanted to get a bigger carat so compromise a bit lor. like i mentioned previously just tell them you want a diamond have all aspects of a super ideal except HCA score. since HCA score <2.0 actually considered passable already.

Lynntoh

It's visible only if you compare side by side. Otherwise on its own, you may not be able to tell G from F for example. Unless one has trained their eyes to tell from D to G on its own.

Yup, you are right. But I just can't stand a tinge of yellow in diamond =P

lovedisorder

Hearts and arrows are part of the cutting. Ideal cut will have more light leakage which a normal person would feel that its "brighter" in the sense but with super ideal cut, the diamond sparkle more. In simple terms, more 刺眼. If budget is a concern now, maybe go for lower carat like a 0.5-0.59 then upgrade again within 2 yrs :)

Thanks for the reply! i am still considering because to me, when i put the .55 super ideal and .64 ideal cut side by side, i wasnt able to tell the difference though the .55 costs $4.5k.

i think i wouldnt upgrade again as i would just want to wear this as the 'original' engagement ring haha!

Lynntoh

Thanks for the reply! i am still considering because to me, when i put the .55 super ideal and .64 ideal cut side by side, i wasnt able to tell the difference though the .55 costs $4.5k.

i think i wouldnt upgrade again as i would just want to wear this as the 'original' engagement ring haha!

I see! Did u bring your fiancee down to take a look? If yes, what's her take? If you wanna make a choice by yourself and budget is still a concern, and if ur fiancee is not very picky, I think can sieve out the better ideal cuts? Since its just 0.1% depth more, I suppose it wunt matter alot? What's the HCA score?

thesal

Same, I compared a super ideal and ideal (jP & HoH) under daylight condition on 3 separate occasion and still couldn't tell a very big difference. In the end, I went for the bigger ideal diamond.

The loss of brilliance is not that much when you compare the two under 'normal conditions'

However, a super ideal should be able to retain more of its monetary value when selling off.

lovedisorder

I see! Did u bring your fiancee down to take a look? If yes, what's her take? If you wanna make a choice by yourself and budget is still a concern, and if ur fiancee is not very picky, I think can sieve out the better ideal cuts? Since its just 0.1% depth more, I suppose it wunt matter alot? What's the HCA score?

haha i am the fiancee! my bf is pretty bent on the 0.64 carat ideal cut actually he wanted to put a deposit straight away but i told him to wait while i seek more advice as i was unsure about super ideal vs ideal.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.