Proposal Ring - Part 3

mero_cwj

hello, need some help frm you guys. im narrowing down to this diamond and wondering if the price looks reasonable?

0.61, F/VS2, 3x EX $3.5k

price is on the lower side but need to delve deeper. you should be able to at least calculate the HCA score from the GIA cert to begin with.

seuZach_T90

Neither is necessarily better than the other... Just a different style.

IMO, Brellia is more vintage looking and the octagon is more futuristic looking. Maybe can take reference from whether your gf likes vintage styles or more modern looks in terms of dress sense?

Thanks. What about in terms of sparkles? Is there a better one?

Lydia.Tan

Thanks. What about in terms of sparkles? Is there a better one?

Cannot say which is better.. They way they sparkle is different so its a matter of your own preference.

I saw one of their Brellia set on a ring. Very bling.. It will appeal more to people looking for square shaped diamonds.

The Octagon is very sparkly too in different environments. I agree with mero_cwj that its more modern looking and is more unique. There's different ways to set it too.

Both are top of the range in terms of sparkles.. so just see which one speaks to you more :s13:

mero_cwj

HCA 1.4 is good. You will need to check with the ASET scope too. HCA is just to filter out diamonds. Badly cut diamonds can have good HCA too.

If the diamond is not from JP, fflover2004 probably will not have access to an ASET scope to review the light performance.... The only other place which I had access to an ASET scope to use was White Dwarf.

That was when I wished I could borrow or rent an ASET scope from somewhere :s13:
I'm sure there are cheaper diamonds from other private jewellers which may be great buys, but it's almost impossible to find these good deals without having some tools.

seuZach_T90

Cannot say which is better.. They way they sparkle is different so its a matter of your own preference.

I saw one of their Brellia set on a ring. Very bling.. It will appeal more to people looking for square shaped diamonds.

The Octagon is very sparkly too in different environments. I agree with mero_cwj that its more modern looking and is more unique. There's different ways to set it too.

Both are top of the range in terms of sparkles.. so just see which one speaks to you more :s13:

Thanks! I actually got my earrings from JP but my e-ring wasn't from them. Back then I didnt know about JP. Now my earrings are much more sparkly than my e ring which is abit off.. Thinking of upgrading the e-ring to a better diamond and want to make it more special than the usual round diamonds that most people have.

missymousiee

Hi all, me and my SO went to Tiffany and was quoted these prices

0.46 carat D VS1 - $9850
0.50 carat G VS1 - $8700
0.52 carat E VS1 - $10900

How come its so different with the prices I see here? The cut-polish-symmetry is all excellent. It comes with its own diamond certificate (not GIA). The certificate is from Tiffany and they say it is better than GIA.

I saw some people sharing their 0.4 carat is only about 3k and 0.5 carat about 4k.. Is there something I missed out? I know Tiffany is branded and expected to cost abit more.. but its more that 2 times the price.

sugaricing83

Hi all, me and my SO went to Tiffany and was quoted these prices

0.46 carat D VS1 - $9850
0.50 carat G VS1 - $8700
0.52 carat E VS1 - $10900

How come its so different with the prices I see here? The cut-polish-symmetry is all excellent. It comes with its own diamond certificate (not GIA). The certificate is from Tiffany and they say it is better than GIA.

I saw some people sharing their 0.4 carat is only about 3k and 0.5 carat about 4k.. Is there something I missed out? I know Tiffany is branded and expected to cost abit more.. but its more that 2 times the price.

To put it simply, because of the Tiffany branding. Suggest you go down to JP to take a look at their diamonds before committing. For $10k, you can get a 0.8 carat at JP.

mero_cwj

Tiffany mah.... I went to see see look look and anyhow whack say my budget 25k. They recommended me a 0.8+ carat H SI1 (inhouse graded somemore), and their answer when I asked what's so special about a tiffany ring was "I can't explain it, but when you wear it you will see the difference".

For the price of that ring, I think can probably buy at least a 1.5 carat super ideal at JP lol

Scylla

#throwback

VIFWWzQOxMhF08etFJlaKXwCpjZrcTJ9_gjKP3SBL0hIMkeDL_LPywDBGQysfTYFi4aVNBzw--v1h1hRJI67z0ZWISZYwFGd25WLU5bXcq5YFK-8gAxan8VJad_v8OWeJ6PX3SNyfa-0nME9jD-2-UZX4KSs3GxW__HN89R63FmfSNguFjGG-gurPu9A-2ASVoF96WOu7JCSYU8E8NmqaUrN2FBfLk9vRRhiGCZmdL3RDX-sEyy1ZhnQQbW_ZEUHAmpZXyO0bNf1bLyn6fyB-N2iV8lfhBtHhD0XLqB8sVbHVbw77Rgx1Dd2QK9apaiwPQYQH9Scq9-PxLM6yo0H2pdTAogojrfwFoqSi0DagyXD0o9UIu8jZnmW7v06zjTMmv3w66h1j7qQYdhtp7XP9KN0HdZHsCHoOAnWQr4miz1DdXgiRdWGJZHgLQdzmwpJRvF188mV9lDsMhF445ARW1pMGx0uZZu92LXcvIiU8n3j0KyZQZIZ7Tyx4841e8J3RV6cIBO4RBeBxq3I3C-xX7TfuBU4wb8fn_KGkH_OSTwZyxQ=w981-h979-no

missymousiee

To put it simply, because of the Tiffany branding. Suggest you go down to JP to take a look at their diamonds before committing. For $10k, you can get a 0.8 carat at JP.

I expected the price to be higher becus of the brand. But I didn't expect it to be this much. Like 20% higher I can still understand.. but its literally like 2 times O.O

missymousiee

Tiffany mah.... I went to see see look look and anyhow whack say my budget 25k. They recommended me a 0.8+ carat H SI1 (inhouse graded somemore), and their answer when I asked what's so special about a tiffany ring was "I can't explain it, but when you wear it you will see the difference".

For the price of that ring, I think can probably buy at least a 1.5 carat super ideal at JP lol

How about the quality? Is it the same or different?

godofpewpew

My friend bought exact same spec, 4.35k in 2015. Now i think he kena carrot. :s22: but maybe HCA got diff ba idk..

After reading so many good reviews and i decided to head to JP to get my proposal ring. Not too sure if i tio carrot but are the gurus here able to advise?

0.53 E VS1 super ideal for 4.2k

Able to advise? Thanks!

mero_cwj

I expected the price to be higher becus of the brand. But I didn't expect it to be this much. Like 20% higher I can still understand.. but its literally like 2 times O.O

How about the quality? Is it the same or different?

20% higher for branding and equivalent quality maybe I wouldn't mind.

But I would have to be a massive carrot head to pay twice the price for much lower quality diamonds :s22:

Anyway, I never understood why people want a tiffany ring. Wear on your finger already can tell it's tiffany meh? If I'm not wrong, the ring box itself isn't even the famous tiffany blue, only the cardboard box is and I don't think anyone uses the cardboard box to propose...

BTW, I did go down to the tiffany boutique to take a look at what they had. Their selection criteria was obviously much less stringent - without looking at the certs for the dimensions to calculate HCA, I could already tell that there was very poor optical symmetry and a lot of light leakage. This was for a 20k plus SGD ring somemore...

If branding is important, the consensus I've gathered from talking to some of the private jewellers is that the closest branded diamond to a "super ideal" round brilliant in terms of light performance would be a Hearts on Fire diamond. Think Tian Po carries it in SG.

Crexzz

20% higher for branding and equivalent quality maybe I wouldn't mind.

But I would have to be a massive carrot head to pay twice the price for much lower quality diamonds :s22:

Anyway, I never understood why people want a tiffany ring. Wear on your finger already can tell it's tiffany meh? If I'm not wrong, the ring box itself isn't even the famous tiffany blue, only the cardboard box is and I don't think anyone uses the cardboard box to propose...

BTW, I did go down to the tiffany boutique to take a look at what they had. Their selection criteria was obviously much less stringent - without looking at the certs for the dimensions to calculate HCA, I could already tell that there was very poor optical symmetry and a lot of light leakage. This was for a 20k plus SGD ring somemore...

If branding is important, the consensus I've gathered from talking to some of the private jewellers is that the closest branded diamond to a "super ideal" round brilliant in terms of light performance would be a Hearts on Fire diamond. Think Tian Po carries it in SG.

Actually it's not 100%just on branding. Design of the settings n jewellery etc plays a big part. If you're talking abt solitaire, tiffany has patented their famous 6 prongs design said to bring out more sparkle of the stone.

Then again,interms of value, it's subjective.

mero_cwj

Actually it's not 100%just on branding. Design of the settings n jewellery etc plays a big part. If you're talking abt solitaire, tiffany has patented their famous 6 prongs design said to bring out more sparkle of the stone.

Then again,interms of value, it's subjective.

The Tiffany setting is no more than a 6 prong setting trademarked in the 1800s that is now readily available at any jeweller... I honestly did not see any setting when I stepped foot in Tiffany that took my breath away or which I haven't already seen a dozen times elsewhere. I can't say for sure whether the trademarked Tiffany setting really brings out more sparkle, but it didn't really help that the diamond itself lacked sparkle to begin with :s13:

charcoal3256

Hi all,

Will be shopping for engagement ring soon and have been reading up on here and a few other websites. Would like to check what is the different between Super Ideal cut and Ideal cut? Is there any criteria which determines the cut of the diamond?

Also have shortlisted Jann Paul and Canary for the shopping, seems like most folks in here go for Jann Paul, anyone has reviews on Canary? Many thanks in advances =)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.