Proposal Ring - Part 3

GRX9696

Hi diamond experts and sifus, after reading all the posts in here, I was poisoned and made a trip to Jannpaul to shortlist my diamond.

I was recommended Round Brilliant Super Ideal Cut, G, VS1
ASG 104080989016
HCA score of 0.7

Scope images as follows:
Can an expert kindly advice if this would be a good choice of diamond?

0zxaFKh.jpg

S7wVBTz.jpg

OdjEdrl.jpg

KKWFPiA.jpg

zszKRNu.jpg

LyXgR4r.jpg

Appreciate any kind advice or opinions. Thanks experts!

stbernard

Yup G does not fall within the colourless category (D, E, F), it's in the near-colourless category (G, H, I, J).

It depends. Aside from certain specific types of inclusions, knowing the type of inclusion itself generally doesn't say much about the clarity of the diamond. The lower carat weight diamonds usually do not have a clarity plot diagram on the GIA cert (and yours doesn't according to the GIA website check), so you need to examine the diamond using the H&A scope and the loupe to check where the inclusions are. Usually the inclusions will be more obvious when viewing the hearts, use that in combination with the loupe to find them. Also check using the idealscope and aset scope to make sure that the inclusions do not affect the light performance, but shouldn't be the case because JP's QC is very high.

If the feather is near the edge of the diamond, better to avoid IMO because there is a chance, however small, of chipping upon impact. Ask your JP salesperson to point out where the inclusions are, he should be able to identify them if he's worth his salt.

BTW, colour is graded from the side with the diamond facing downwards. If you see any milkiness or haziness when viewing the diamond top down, that is usually a sign of fluorescence. I don't think JP carries any Solasferas with fluorescence though, better take a closer look again. The colour difference will manifest in a slight tint (usually yellow) when viewed from the side.

During my weekend visit,
The salesperson unable to point out the Twinning Wisp and Feather using 20x scope, she mention it might be too small that only 100x scope just can see it but somehow she very sure that it is in the center of diamond.

it is super ideal (0.52C, D, VS2) damage $4250,
is this diamond worth to purchase?

This 3 scope is send by Jannpaul, in the ASET scope,
1) arrow at 12 oclock abit out from center
2) 8 oclock area i believe is same as below 3 oclock image taken using my handphone where the white/pink area located.

https://goo.gl/photos/YE3jkYBXYrtvMiAo7
https://goo.gl/photos/Ky7bTe8Am4Wrh7VG7
https://goo.gl/photos/B6tZF2Wx1hRFNqJa7

And below 3 photo i taken using my iphone,
abit concern on the ASET scope on 3 o'clock as there is abit white/pink color on most outer part, but salesperson mention this might be due to their jig lighting not strong enough.

https://goo.gl/photos/qgH7Pq9daSckrJpP6
https://goo.gl/photos/p18nS8ewHeMrKvTo8
https://goo.gl/photos/UracoWpbrT9Ux3mu5

stbernard

Aset_0_60_E_VS2_GIA_1172542376.jpg

Ideal_0_60_E_VS2_GIA_1172542376.jpg

It would probably look like a super ideal but according to the person who served me, it was relegated to ideal because of the following reason:
"There are some slight tilt on the arrow shaft and arrow head, particularly at the 3, 6 and 9 oclock position which is what making this diamond an Ideal Cut. However, other than that, everything is fine."

It only goes to show the strictness of JP's criteria in categorizing diamonds to Super Ideal. To me, the diamond is so small (0.6c) that unless one scrutinises the diamond closely, it will be hard to tell about the slight tilt.

If I'm not wrong, JP will explicitly tell u if the diamond is Super Ideal or Ideal cut when you are choosing your diamond on the spot.

did you compare it with an super ideal diamond when choosing?
i believe we unable to see the difference right

1000smiles

Hi diamond experts and sifus, after reading all the posts in here, I was poisoned and made a trip to Jannpaul to shortlist my diamond.

ASG 104080989016
HCA score of 0.7

Scope images as follows:

0zxaFKh.jpg

S7wVBTz.jpg

OdjEdrl.jpg

KKWFPiA.jpg

zszKRNu.jpg

LyXgR4r.jpg

You're not the only one that got poisoned here :s13:
Their super ideal cuts are very strict already so you don't need to worry about the cut. The other 3 Cs is individual preference already. I notice yours is AGS cert. Did you request for it?
Btw, congrats to your 1ct. Big hoot!

GRX9696

The cert was provided by Jannpaul, they normally are certified by GIA or AGS, so happens that this diamond was certified by AGS, hence the AGS cert.

Anyone can advice on the feather defects indicated on the AGS diagram or can comment on the scope images, e.g. symmetry, etc.

Thanks!

mero_cwj

ASG 104080989016
HCA score of 0.7

Scope images as follows:

0zxaFKh.jpg

S7wVBTz.jpg

OdjEdrl.jpg

KKWFPiA.jpg

zszKRNu.jpg

LyXgR4r.jpg

Nice one. If I were to nitpick, it'll be that the feathers are kinda near to the girdle, but that being said, they are very small feathers that would probably not affect structural integrity. Visually I doubt they would even come up under 10x or 20x loupe. There is some light leakage between the arrowheads, but also probably negligible in real world light performance.

If you don't mind sharing, how much is the price for this diamond? I was looking at diamonds in this similar range recently but nothing was available aside from the one I picked (1.10 G/VS2), so this one probably just came into stock recently or someone released their reservation. If I saw this I would have been tempted to change my reservation :s13:

Don't worry though, I confirmed my order already so mine is probably in HK being set now, I won't chope your nice find haha

mero_cwj

During my weekend visit,
The salesperson unable to point out the Twinning Wisp and Feather using 20x scope, she mention it might be too small that only 100x scope just can see it but somehow she very sure that it is in the center of diamond.

it is super ideal (0.52C, D, VS2) damage $4250,
is this diamond worth to purchase?

This 3 scope is send by Jannpaul, in the ASET scope,
1) arrow at 12 oclock abit out from center
2) 8 oclock area i believe is same as below 3 oclock image taken using my handphone where the white/pink area located.

https://goo.gl/photos/YE3jkYBXYrtvMiAo7
https://goo.gl/photos/Ky7bTe8Am4Wrh7VG7
https://goo.gl/photos/B6tZF2Wx1hRFNqJa7

And below 3 photo i taken using my iphone,
abit concern on the ASET scope on 3 o'clock as there is abit white/pink color on most outer part, but salesperson mention this might be due to their jig lighting not strong enough.

https://goo.gl/photos/qgH7Pq9daSckrJpP6
https://goo.gl/photos/p18nS8ewHeMrKvTo8
https://goo.gl/photos/UracoWpbrT9Ux3mu5

The asymmetry which you pointed out (in the center of the diamond) is quite normal. I've yet to see a diamond that has perfectly symmetrical inner tips for the arrows, it's usually off-center. JP's scope images should be a more accurate representation, sometimes the handheld idealight which they use has low battery etc and the backlighting might be dimmer. I don't see the same light leakage in the JP ASET scope image, but you might want to ask them to change another idealight for you to use next time to confirm that there is no light leakage at the 3 o'clock position.

It's incredibly difficult to spot any inclusions for VS1 and above using 10 or 20x loupe. Twinning wisps and feathers also tend to be white/colourless inclusions, so they are difficult to find even with a trained eye, unless they are very big.

Also, the hearts and arrows scope image taken with your iphone was probably taken at an angle, which is why there are big clefts in the arrows. I think it is very safe to say that JP would not accept this a super ideal if such clefts were present!

GRX9696

Nice one. If I were to nitpick, it'll be that the feathers are kinda near to the girdle, but that being said, they are very small feathers that would probably not affect structural integrity. Visually I doubt they would even come up under 10x or 20x loupe. There is some light leakage between the arrowheads, but also probably negligible in real world light performance.

If you don't mind sharing, how much is the price for this diamond? I was looking at diamonds in this similar range recently but nothing was available aside from the one I picked (1.10 G/VS2), so this one probably just came into stock recently or someone released their reservation. If I saw this I would have been tempted to change my reservation :s13:

Don't worry though, I confirmed my order already so mine is probably in HK being set now, I won't chope your nice find haha

Thanks Master for your comments and insights on the diamond and scope images! Especially your opinions on the defects and their corresponding estimated real world performance. Really much appreciated, and certainly helpful towards my decision making!:)

For the defects, e.g. feathers, clouds, crystals, needles, etc - Are they ranked in terms of severity or any particular defects that should be best avoided?

I noticed for the AGS cert, they indicated negligible fluorescence, is this equivalent to none (fluorescence) in the GIA cert? Any issues with a "negligible" rating on the AGS cert?

GIA cert seems far more common in Jannpaul, would AGS cert be less preferable in a diamond selection?

I have seen this diamond under normal lighting, and it looks pretty good with visibly distinct arrows as seen from my naked eyes. I also compared it with an F colour diamond, and they look pretty much the same in terms of colour.

I will check out the light leakage between the arrowheads on my next trip to Jannpaul.

No worries about sharing the price, I am more than happy to share, this diamond is priced about 16k, and recommended by Jannpaul after I told them my criteria. I can let you know first hand in case I am not getting this diamond, I made a reservation but have not decided, still considering now.

Can you share your price for your 1.1ct, G, VS2 diamond? What cut? Can share the cert and images for my learning?

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts! I am really grateful!:D

dnsfpl

He just gave me without requesting. i think u can give a try too.

maybe mine a bit rush, 2-3 weeks collect the wedding band and engagement ring

dont even have time to do laser engraving

mero_cwj

Thanks Master for your comments and insights on the diamond and scope images! Especially your opinions on the defects and their corresponding estimated real world performance. Really much appreciated, and certainly helpful towards my decision making!:)

For the defects, e.g. feathers, clouds, crystals, needles, etc - Are they ranked in terms of severity or any particular defects that should be best avoided?

I noticed for the AGS cert, they indicated negligible fluorescence, is this equivalent to none (fluorescence) in the GIA cert? Any issues with a "negligible" rating on the AGS cert?

GIA cert seems far more common in Jannpaul, would AGS cert be less preferable in a diamond selection?

I have seen this diamond under normal lighting, and it looks pretty good with visibly distinct arrows as seen from my naked eyes. I also compared it with an F colour diamond, and they look pretty much the same in terms of colour.

I will check out the light leakage between the arrowheads on my next trip to Jannpaul.

No worries about sharing the price, I am more than happy to share, this diamond is priced about 16k, and recommended by Jannpaul after I told them my criteria. I can let you know first hand in case I am not getting this diamond, I made a reservation but have not decided, still considering now.

Can you share your price for your 1.1ct, G, VS2 diamond? What cut? Can share the cert and images for my learning?

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts! I am really grateful!:D

Long way from being a master... I'm just a little more obsessed because I'm parting with my hard earned Yusof Ishaks...

Regarding the inclusions, I think the newer AGS and GIA certs will list the inclusions in order of severity. I.e. for a VS2 diamond with cloud, crystal, feather, the more severe one is cloud. If you mean between the types of inclusions, which type is more severe, then it all depends lah, because you can have tiny feathers like in the diamond you shortlisted, or massive clouds all over the table of the diamond until it looks like a pockmarked acne scarred face.

Regarding the AGS negligible fluorescence grading, it is their top grading for fluorescence, and is usually equivalent to the GIA no fluorescence grading, BUT I have read that some people found a tiny bit of fluorescence in their AGS negligible fluorescence diamonds. If you want to be safe, check under UV light.

For reference, I selected the 1.10 G VS2 already, it's the usual JP super ideal round brilliant cut. The price was quite a bit lower than yours though, 14.3k, but probably because it is smaller by 0.06 carat weight and VS2 instead of VS1. Around 16k sounds about right based on price per carat + 10% extra for the jump to VS1.

I posted the scope images here - http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/w...l-ring-part-3-a-5289054-94.html#post102435340

Should be collecting the completed ring sometime in October...

dnsfpl

if 8 weeks i came back from honeymoon lol

lucky they manage to rush, if not have to get from other shop liao

mero_cwj

Hahaha mine even longer... 11 weeks, hopefully it will not take so long, but I kiasu did everything early so I still have a buffer zone of about 3-4 weeks :s13:

dnsfpl

congrats on your new status!

thanks

Hahaha mine even longer... 11 weeks, hopefully it will not take so long, but I kiasu did everything early so I still have a buffer zone of about 3-4 weeks :s13:

actually im also kiasu type
bot diamond 6 years ago
did wedding photoshoot 3 years ago
honeymoon booked 6 months ago

we thought wedding band and setting engagement ring only take days ma
cos we are not gonna customize it, just take whats available off the shelves

end up also need at least 3 weeks
cos need to select loose diamonds, sizing
then workman from HK not SG

mero_cwj

thanks

actually im also kiasu type
bot diamond 6 years ago
did wedding photoshoot 3 years ago
honeymoon booked 6 months ago

we thought wedding band and setting engagement ring only take days ma
cos we are not gonna customize it, just take whats available off the shelves

end up also need at least 3 weeks
cos need to select loose diamonds, sizing
then workman from HK not SG

haha yours wins hands down lah, prepare diamond 6 years in advance :s13:

dnsfpl

feel like doing what then do lor

lucky we didnt buy 2 weeks before ROM

we thought is just pick whats available off the shelves

then resize and laser, should take days only :s13:

coolhead

feel like doing what then do lor

lucky we didnt buy 2 weeks before ROM

we thought is just pick whats available off the shelves

then resize and laser, should take days only :s13:
Ask u ah, diamond 6 years ago and now, which period is cheaper? Don't take into account inflation.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.